We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Old Hotel in Excellent Location”
Review of Les Armoiries

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Les Armoiries
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Valbonne
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We have stayed at the very old romantic hotel overlooking the village square of Valbonne. If you’re thinking of a romantic quiet weekend break, you’ve just found the ideal location. The rooms are not big, but every single one is unique: from turn of the century chic with heavy wooden furniture to light rooms with lime green bed lights and flower print curtains.

The Swedish (!) couple that run the hotel are very friendly and provide excellent service. They even made midnight sandwiches for us when we arrived from our delayed flight.

Check out our review here:

http://www.fishandfeathers.nl/france/bonne-nuit-in-hotel-armorie/

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maarten_vis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 121 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2012

Can't fault the location of this hotel, Valbonne is beautiful.
Situated in the centre of the village directly on the square.
Stayed in the hotel for 4 nights with my wife visiting relatives during the christmas period. The first 2 nights were grim to say the least.
A very small room with poor quality bed/mattress and basic toilet/shower room.

After complaining we were given bigger room that had a reasonable bed.
We were told there is an on-going room refurbishment programme... ??

I wouldn't stay there again.. for me the most important thing in a hotel is comfortable beds and both rooms lacked this basic requirement.
We both had back ache after staying at this hotel due to the poor quality beds

The hotel could do with a good clean.. but then you could say that this place has a Rustic charm. It certainly does!!!
It felt like some clumsy DIY enthusiast had created the bathrooms..

I expected more for my money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomTrundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Les Armoiries has the most wonderful location in the centre of Valbonne, near Nice. It's bang in the centre of the village which makes it great for getting around -- but does also make it pretty noisy. We were there in November so the worst of the noise from the square outside had died down by 10pm, I can imagine it's pretty noisy in the summer when the square is packed with diners at the local restaurants until pretty late on. The decor is fairly old fashioned as was the bathroom, but everything worked fine and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. A good choice for a night or two.

Room Tip: If you're concerned about noise, ask for a room at the back, which are smaller I think but quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We attended a friend's wedding and stayed 4 nights. The holel was built around 1625 and is charming and unique and sets on the village square. Richard, the owner, was helpful with suggestions and we made daily trips outside the village. The rooms are small but very clean with very good pillows. The best feature of the hotel is Agnes, the manager. She is beautiful, charming and her coffee is perfection. Try to get a sample of her own Rum Punch.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curt662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights for a friend's wedding. I have visited Valbonne before, so knew the location of Les Armoiries could not be beaten. It is situated right on the beautiful medieval square, which is the undoubted heart of the village. As I was travelling with a friend, we booked a twin room. It was considerably smaller and darker than the double room which another wedding guest was allocated on the front of the building, but this meant it was cooler and considerably quieter. It felt more like a B&B than a Hotel, but with bags of character and clean enough. The owner was charming and helpful and really made our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front can be noisy on account of the restaurants below
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capability_Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Les Armoiries was my favorite place to stay in the area for many years. But it grew tired and in bad need of repair. About 2+ years ago (Dec 2008) the place was sold, so I waited a while before returning. I must say it was a pleasant surprise. First, the good things. The place has been freshened up - new paint, beds, TVs, etc etc. The breakfast remains very nice, and the addition of a small breakfast room behind the front desk area makes it very quaint when only a few people are staying at the hotel. The original breakfast on the roof as well as breakfast on the square (weather permitting) make this a very charming choice. Also, free wifi :)
Down sides: Parking can be a chore. The nearest lots are about a city block away (Les Armoiries is located within the old city of Valbonne so there is almost no parking within the town). If you're a businesperson, then having enough electrical outlets in the right place is challenging. In my case I asked for an extension cord and the management was happy to comply.
Note: This is inside the old town of Valbonne. It can be a bit noisy but it does quiet down later in the evening. With all these caveats, I'm sure if you spend a night or two in this charming hotel and the surrounding area, you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 5GMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Les Armoiries is bang in the middle of the old part of Valbonne, on the edge of the square that houses the weekly market. Housed in an old building, it is a compact hotel but not cramped. The ground floor reception, accessed via a permanently locked security door by ringing a bell, is backed by the downstairs breakfast room. The accommodation is spread among the upper floors that can be reached by stairs or a small lift. The owners and staff were very helpful and friendly; they all spoke perfect English. Our de-luxe room was on the small side but had a large bed that was very comfortable. Hanging and drawer space was limited, so we tended to live out of a suitcase for our 3 nights. The room backed onto a side street but there was little or no external noise to disturb our rest. However, the curtains were very thin and let in light from sunrise onwards. The en-suite consisted of a bath with shower over and a separate wc. Both of these rooms were very small and would be something of a challenge for anyone who has been at the cookies or had a growth spurt. Nevertheless, they were adequate. The continental breakfast, at €12 each, was a little expensive but it offered a good start to the day. Overall, we were very happy at this country hotel and would certainly stay there again. The only real difficulty was car parking. The hotel is in a traffic restricted area and does not have its own car park. Therefore, it is not easy/possible to park outside whilst unloading and cases have to be trundled through cobbled side streets from nearby free car parks. Not a problem for us, as a reasonably fit and able couple, but could be a problem for people with restricted mobility.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PierrelePilote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valbonne
1 mi away
La Bastide de Valbonne
La Bastide de Valbonne
#2 of 10 in Valbonne
234 reviews
1 mi away
Seventeen Hotel
Seventeen Hotel
#6 of 10 in Valbonne
66 reviews
1.9 mi away
Golden Tulip Sophia Antipolis Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel de Mougins
Hotel de Mougins
#4 of 14 in Mougins
302 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ibis Antibes Sophia Antipolis
3.2 mi away
Novotel Antibes Sophia Antipolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Armoiries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Armoiries

Address: Place des Arcades, 06560 Valbonne, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Valbonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Valbonne
Price Range: $100 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Armoiries 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 3 star hotel situated in the heart of the famous mediaval village of Valbonne with only minutes drive to Sophia Antipolis. 11 Golf courses within 45 minutes 20 minutes to Nice Airport and Cannes center All rooms are idividually decorated and have new environment friendly air-condition,free wireless high speed internet,Flat screen television with international channels and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Les Armoiries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Armoiries Valbonne
Les Armoiries Hotel Valbonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing