We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Located on a beautiful square, quirky accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Les Armoiries

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Les Armoiries
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Valbonne
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Located on a beautiful square, quirky accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights for a friend's wedding. I have visited Valbonne before, so knew the location of Les Armoiries could not be beaten. It is situated right on the beautiful medieval square, which is the undoubted heart of the village. As I was travelling with a friend, we booked a twin room. It was considerably smaller and darker than the double room which another wedding guest was allocated on the front of the building, but this meant it was cooler and considerably quieter. It felt more like a B&B than a Hotel, but with bags of character and clean enough. The owner was charming and helpful and really made our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front can be noisy on account of the restaurants below
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capability_Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    51
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
48
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

Les Armoiries was my favorite place to stay in the area for many years. But it grew tired and in bad need of repair. About 2+ years ago (Dec 2008) the place was sold, so I waited a while before returning. I must say it was a pleasant surprise. First, the good things. The place has been freshened up - new paint, beds, TVs, etc etc. The breakfast remains very nice, and the addition of a small breakfast room behind the front desk area makes it very quaint when only a few people are staying at the hotel. The original breakfast on the roof as well as breakfast on the square (weather permitting) make this a very charming choice. Also, free wifi :)
Down sides: Parking can be a chore. The nearest lots are about a city block away (Les Armoiries is located within the old city of Valbonne so there is almost no parking within the town). If you're a businesperson, then having enough electrical outlets in the right place is challenging. In my case I asked for an extension cord and the management was happy to comply.
Note: This is inside the old town of Valbonne. It can be a bit noisy but it does quiet down later in the evening. With all these caveats, I'm sure if you spend a night or two in this charming hotel and the surrounding area, you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5GMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketton, England
Level Contributor
291 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

Les Armoiries is bang in the middle of the old part of Valbonne, on the edge of the square that houses the weekly market. Housed in an old building, it is a compact hotel but not cramped. The ground floor reception, accessed via a permanently locked security door by ringing a bell, is backed by the downstairs breakfast room. The accommodation is spread among the upper floors that can be reached by stairs or a small lift. The owners and staff were very helpful and friendly; they all spoke perfect English. Our de-luxe room was on the small side but had a large bed that was very comfortable. Hanging and drawer space was limited, so we tended to live out of a suitcase for our 3 nights. The room backed onto a side street but there was little or no external noise to disturb our rest. However, the curtains were very thin and let in light from sunrise onwards. The en-suite consisted of a bath with shower over and a separate wc. Both of these rooms were very small and would be something of a challenge for anyone who has been at the cookies or had a growth spurt. Nevertheless, they were adequate. The continental breakfast, at €12 each, was a little expensive but it offered a good start to the day. Overall, we were very happy at this country hotel and would certainly stay there again. The only real difficulty was car parking. The hotel is in a traffic restricted area and does not have its own car park. Therefore, it is not easy/possible to park outside whilst unloading and cases have to be trundled through cobbled side streets from nearby free car parks. Not a problem for us, as a reasonably fit and able couple, but could be a problem for people with restricted mobility.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PierrelePilote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights and had a room up in the ceiling space on the 3rd floor. The hotel is in the centre of a beautiful historic car free village. There are many shops and restaurants just outside. The hotel itself is a gracious old building. However, this meant that the electricals were rather odd and it was difficult to work out how to put all the lamps on simultaneously. One of the beds in the room was under the low part of the ceiling and it was impossible to stand up without hitting one's head. So that bed had to be pushed closer to the other bed which then cramped up the room. Similarly the bathroom ceiling was so low over the bath that it was impossible to stand and have a shower. If you book a room I suggest asking NOT to have the 3rd floor. The furniture was comfortable and the bathroom was well appointed Also, the owner was very helpful and professional.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoAussieTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

Hotel Les Armoiries was an unexpected treasure, situated on the town square of medieval and picturesque Valbonne.
The rooms and bathrooms are large and comfortable, with double glazing against the summer heat and noise levels on the square at times.
Les Armoiries has the best position in Valbonne, coupled with friendly and helpful management.
As a comfortable 3*establishment, I can recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caromien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

This hotel was very good: simple but with an eye to essentials - lots of towels, clean every day, good cotton sheets, frequently changed, warm hearted people in charge, eager to help. Breakfasts were charged extra but were in fact most generous, I was repeatedly offered second helpings of anything on offer. The room on the third floor was small but quite charming - a lift goes to the second floor - efficient shower, comfortable bed with a charming patchwork quilt, balcony, fridge. I don't have a TV at home so am not good at making these machines work so couldn't get the advertised programmes. if i had been sufficiently interested I'm sure the friendly Swedish manager/owner? would have been most helpful.

As a single traveller, I did not find this hotel cheap but I would return to it with pleasure. its charm, its friendly helpful staff, its general agreeable qualities made me feel most welcome.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lochranzaEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TF13
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

The first impression of the "hotel" is very charming, the premises being located in the central square of the ancient bastide of Valbonne lending a distinctly romantic ambience to the place. However be advised that you'll need to arrive at the hotel before noon if you plan to leave your luggage at the door of the hotel with your car, otherwise you'll need to be able-bodied enough to drag your luggage from one of the satellite car parks around the charming bastide of Valbonne - the hotel does not have any possibility of parking in the immediate vicinity - the centre of the town is closed to traffic after noon. We booked a Superior room and we were very disappointed to find an unimpressively small room with worn furnishings, a tired carpet, ill-fitting curtains at the windows and peeling wall-paper. Perhaps these items are part of the patina adding to the charm of place, however, the prices charged don't reflect these conditions. The proprietors are friendly enough, however, the service is lackadaisical and haphazard - for example, the first night we were asked what time we wanted to have breakfast, on arriving at our pre-allocated time slot we then had to wait 30 minutes to be served breakfast. We just found it odd to be asked, quite insistently, to specify a time to take breakfast and then to have to wait. Also, in spite of pre-scheduling the guests breakfast appointments they still managed to run out of bread and croissant - however, this was remedied with a quick trip to the boulangerie. We thought the place more a B&B than an hotel when we returned after dinner 21.30 Hrs and had to ring a door bell to get back into the hotel, in fact, this turned out to be the normal procedure to gain access as the hotel desk was not always staffed. Les Armoiries has no lounge and no bar in evidence which makes this more an aspiring B&B than an hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank livetofly_2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valbonne
1.0 mi away
La Bastide de Valbonne
La Bastide de Valbonne
#2 of 9 in Valbonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.9 mi away
Golden Tulip Sophia Antipolis Hotel & Suites
1.1 mi away
Chateau de la Begude
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Castel Provence
3.2 mi away
Novotel Antibes Sophia Antipolis
2.0 mi away
Hotel Lune de Mougins
Hotel Lune de Mougins
#2 of 13 in Mougins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Armoiries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Armoiries

Property: Les Armoiries
Address: Place des Arcades, 06560 Valbonne, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Valbonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Valbonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Armoiries 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 3 star hotel situated in the heart of the famous mediaval village of Valbonne with only minutes drive to Sophia Antipolis. 11 Golf courses within 45 minutes 20 minutes to Nice Airport and Cannes center All rooms are idividually decorated and have new environment friendly air-condition,free wireless high speed internet,Flat screen television with international channels and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Les Armoiries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Armoiries Valbonne
Les Armoiries Hotel Valbonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing