We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel Up The Hill with a charming Hostess”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Bastide de Valbonne
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Valbonne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2011

My wife and I are a mature couple widely traveled worldwide, not wealthy, but able to be discerning. The hotel is located just up the hill from the untouched XIV century village of Valbonne. The general area around Valbonne is forested, and very hilly creating a very pleasant pastoral setting for the hotel. Our twin room with small balcony, was very bright and airy, immaculate, but relatively small--but comfortable.The hotel offers a delicious, but typical french breakfast for those of us who prefer a modest breakfast this was it. The manage-owner was the prototype of an excellent hostess who makes every effort to make your visit just perfect. She was professional but friendly, suggested restaurants and book our table. Parking was perfect, the grounds very agreeable for a short stroll. One could walk to town via a short cut over the hills avoiding the dangerous main road. Valbonne is a gem of a small village isolated from the newer sections of town, easy to walk and filled with small shops. The new shopping area, with a huge, free parking area has several specialty food shops which makes it wonderfully convenient for baked goods, fruit and vegetables etc. The old town, by the way, will not tire you out. All in all, we would, with enthusiasm, visit this agreeable village with the charming Hotel up the hill.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fluefiskermarietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 233 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was a great hotel as my family were in Valbonne for my niece's wedding. The hotel had the French provincial charm we were looking for and was very beautiful. The rooms were clean, air conditioned, a good size and the beds were very comfortable. The 12 Euro breakfast was very good, the pool was great for cooling off. On site parking, friendly staff. I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: May want a room no facing road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rrmambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Comfortable spacious room, bathroom small. Reception staff somewhat off-hand. Expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadiaStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Sophia Antipolis is an area of many high tech businesses. Unfortunately, it lacks truly good hotels. There's several Accor properties in the area, and they are all adequate. I like La Bastide de Valbonne because it is somewhat off the beaten path. But be aware, it is not within walking distance to Valbonne, it is about 2 km by car (you really can't walk the road, it's not for pedestrians). The breakfast is average for the area hotels, and it has a nice pool. The lobby area can turn in to a friendly bar area in the evening, or it can be dreadfully dull.
Of all the hotels in the area, this is currently my favorite, but that doesn't say much, as they are all rather average or below average. Nevertheless, the staff is excellent, and for a few days, it's a nice stay and a good venue to tour this gorgeous area of France.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5GMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

This property is not actually located in Valbonne (a very nice town) but instead on a very busy road between Mougins, the autoroute, and Valbonne. It appears to cater more to business travelers due to the proximity of a large multinational corporate center. The rooms are simply average, the beds quite uncomfortable, and the AC simply anemic. The manager somehow wanted me to believe that they had turned off the AC and turned on the heat -- in the third week of September in southern Provence and the Cote d'Azur! The inner courtyard is truly gorgeous, with a very inviting pool. The breakfast is way over-priced and the front desk staff at check-in diffident. Perhaps it was the loud group of French businessmen drinking and talking quite loudly at a table just outside our room until nearly midnight and a night desk man who seemed oblivious that turned me off completely.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TRV_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Extremely charming hotel with around 30 rooms in Provence style. Breakfast is really good and everything is fresh. At daytime you can stay by the pool and relax as it is very quiet there.

The hotel has no restaurant but serves cold dishes (fresh made baguettes etc) during the day.

Negative was that French guests started reserving (by putting towels on it and then leaving) their chairs by the pool earlier every day. So sometimes all of them were reserved and nobody was staying there. Hotel should check this and remove towels!

Important: the rooms have quite thin walls and no noise isolation in the door frames (between door and frame) so you can hear basically everything that is happening in the hallway. This can be easily (and for very low money) improved by the hotel and I don't know why they are not doing that. However the hotel itself is in an amazing condition.

First hotel where I really liked to stay. Regarding the noise you should maybe take earplugs with you if are very sensitive to this as I am.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank das_ubersoldat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

We found the hotel staff to be exttremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean and beautifully furnished and decorated. The only slight gripe would be that there is no restaurant, but there is an abundance of restaurants in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judet2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valbonne
0 mi away
Seventeen Hotel
Seventeen Hotel
#6 of 10 in Valbonne
66 reviews
1 mi away
Les Armoiries
Les Armoiries
#7 of 10 in Valbonne
120 reviews
2.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Sophia Antipolis Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Chateau de la Begude
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lune de Mougins
Hotel Lune de Mougins
#2 of 14 in Mougins
463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Castel' Provence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastide de Valbonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide de Valbonne

Address: 107 Chemin Font de Cuberte | (or 1288 route de Cannes), 06560 Valbonne, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Valbonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valbonne
#5 Business Hotel in Valbonne
Price Range: $108 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Bastide de Valbonne 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your La Bastide de Valbonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bastide De Valbonne Hotel Valbonne
La Bastide De Hotel Valbonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing