We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, lovely setting”
Review of Le Bleu Lavande

Le Bleu Lavande
Reserve with
Le Bleu Lavande is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 96 Restaurants in Valbonne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Urbana, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely setting”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We've been eating with the Leclercs since they had their one-Michelin star restaurant Poêle d’Or in Cannes. We go for our anniversary every year in July, and were delighted when they opened in their new location outside of Valbonne. It's above a traffic circle and near a Best Western, so the first time, we weren't sure what to expect. Neither of those detracts in any way from the experience; you cannot see the traffic circle at all (though occasionally, if you listen, you can tell it's there by listening, though the frogs in the pond mostly cover out any other noise). It's tranquil, with a lovely garden and a lily pond. Mme Leclerc runs the front and he cooks. The food is always first rate and the service unobtrusive, attentive and well timed. I consider this a fantastic value and don't see real differences in the quality of the food from when they had the Michelin star at their other place. The menus have nice variation and the flavors are always beautifully nuanced and mixed. Even with a good crowd there, it's quiet and peaceful, especially on the terrace overlooking the garden. I didn't rate our meal there this year as one of the best we've ever had in a restaurant because we've had some really fine meals out of his kitchen over the years!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CGUrbanaIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    88
    35
    30
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valbonne
1 review
“Don't miss this 'gem' of restaurant”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you want high quality local cuisine, freshly cooked look no further than this restaurant, I have eaten in many of the local restaurants in and around Valbonne , the Bleu Lavande will be hard to beat.
The staff are very friendly, helpful when explaining the menu(have excellent English), the restaurant has an open kitchen where you can watch the chefs hard at work delivering wonderful dishes one after the other.
The garden is also a delight which is overlooked from terrace.
I will return again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We opted for the menu at 29 euros each. Our starter, grilled foie gras was very tasty though very filling for a starter (I would have liked mine without the potatoes) My husband had the coq au vin and it was huge...Way too much for one person. It was good but a little over cooked. I had the fish and my dish was tiny so luckily I was able to finish the coq! Desserts were good. I did find the wine list a little pricy but our white chablis was well worth the money.
The service was efficent and polite.
All in all it was a good experience, we had way too much to eat though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnBee2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Quality”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have eaten at the Restaurant Bleu Lavande about four times over the last four or five years and have always experienced a high quality of cuisine and cheerful service. At the beginning of May it was just warm enough to eat on the terrace overlooking a well-kept garden.

Menus were 39 and 52 euro, all four courses including cheese and dessert, however we elected to choose from the ‘carte’. To begin with : la poelée de Saint Jacques Nantua (25 euro), Foie gras de canard (23 euro), Tartelet d’homard (20 euro) ; followed by : Rognon de veau flambé à l’Armagnac (25 euro), Dorade royale (30 euro), le homard Breton (39 euro). We forwent cheese and for dessert had framboise corolle (10 euro) and two soufflé chaud au Grand Marnier (12 euro each). The portions were generous and enjoyed by all the diners, although I would have liked the mustard sauce with the kidneys to be a little stronger. The kidneys themselves were cooked to perfection, I was also particularly taken with the soufflé which was delicious.

We had glasses of champagne to whet our appetite (10 euro a flute) and had a bottle of Bandol rosé – Château de Pibarnon (45 euro) although there was a selection of wines at lower prices.

The service was smiling and helpful, and the surroundings and atmosphere pleasant. Highly recommended, but booking is advisable. Allow 60 to 100 euro per person.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonGavroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and great meal on a cold, grey spring day!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

A family meal for 4 adults reserved 2 days in advance for a Saturday lunchtime. A warm welcome upon arrival by Madame Leclerc With a calm ambience. With a open kitchen it was clear that the "back office" operates in a similar calm fashion.
The choice of menu 29euro- 59 euro with a la carte as well as formule midi provided an excellent choice for the family as not everyone wanted a 4 or 5 course meal. The food was fresh and tasty complemented by diffrent sauces or chutney without overpowering the main ingredient of the dish. The wine list was not large but balanced to the dishes on offer and not overpriced compared to other restaurants in the same location.
Overall a good experience and enjoyable family meal. Would recommend the Bleu Lavande for a special family occasion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjt001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bleu Lavande also viewed

Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Mougins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Mougins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Mougins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Mougins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Bleu Lavande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing