We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful b&b”
Review of Le Mas des Cigales

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Mas des Cigales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed six days in last part of October. The setting is beautiful with views down to the coast. The room, "Agapanthe" was clean and comfortable and had a fine grand lit: excellent sleep quality! Bathroom fine with bathtub (a regular shower would be better, though).
The garden and the pool area, too, like a dream! The breakfast was rich and fine quality - with perfectly boiled eggs (4,5 minutes!). Last but not least the hosts, Veronique and Stefaan are very welcoming and helpfull and do everything to make you feel at home with a fine sense of being personal but not private. A wholehearted recommendation!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Folke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 184 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stayed at Le Mas Des Cigales for one night and was welcomed by Stefan and his wife who made us feel extremely welcome. The property is stunning with an outdoor breakfast area which has wonderful views reaching out to the sea. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic and is how breakfasts should be!

A little pricey at €115 for a night, but this really is a gem in Tourettes. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeffGeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We had a fantastic stay at le mas des cigales, the owners know what hospitality is! There was a mistake with our booking which was not caused by the current owners and they just solved it for us by making sure we had a location to spend our two nights without noticing any difference in staying in the regular rooms. We felt very welcome and enjoyed the friendlyness, the location, the breakfast, the pool, the swimming pool. Great location to explore the area (grasse, vence, tourrettes sur loup, etc.). An absolute positive advice to stay over here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladolcevitaNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We've loved staying here. It's a beautiful house with tennis court, pool and petanque available. Owners are really friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Spotlessly clean room, comfortable bed, lovely outside seating area with a pool and views down to the sea, nice breakfast, welcoming owners. The town centre is about a 20 minute walk down quiet back-streets and there are some nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southcoastchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

What a find! This B&B is wonderful! It took hours of internet searching to find something that ticked all of our boxes, and this B&B fulfilled all our criteria. Tourrette sur loup is a pretty picturesque village perched on the hill side. The village is quaint, charming and historical. I fell in love with it and this whole area of the south of france.

At Le Mas des Cigales, we stayed in the lavender room. There was an ensuite bathroom, and mini bar in the room. It was such a pretty room and very comfortable. Breakfast was in abundance (boiled eggs, bread, cheese, yoghurts, juice, tea, coffee etc) and service was remarkable and always with a cheery smile.

There was a lovely swimming pool, as well as tennis courts and beautiful garden. I think there was also a sauna but we didn't use this. The views from the B&B are lovely. I would whole heartedly recommend this place and would definitely visit here again should we be in the area.

In Tourrettes sur Loup itself, there is a post office, restaurants, market in the square (I can't remember which days), butchers, bakers, grocers etc. The B&B wasn't too easy to find so do print off directions/maps to help you out. The B&B is located about 1/2 mile from the centre of Tourrettes Sur Loup.

My husband and I like to be immersed in culture when we go on holiday and this was definitely a place we enjoyed and we were constantly agog by the beautiful scenery of the whole area, it is so beautiful. Driving conditions are for the brave/experienced as it is mountainous driving with narrow windy roads. The nearest town to Tourrettes is Vence where we stocked up on our supplies (food, water etc) at a cheaper price than in Tourrette itself. Nearby is the gorge du loup which is so lovely (mountains, ravines, waterfalls), and we also went on a drive to Lac de St Croix, along the Gorge de Verdon (Europe's grand canyon) which was breathtaking. Once you get to the Lac de St Croix have your swimming gear ready for the beautiful turqoise fresh water lake as you can go for a swim, take a canoe or pedalo into the mouth of the grand canyon. It is a long drive to get there from Tourretes but the views are amazing and the pretty villages you drive by are so beautiful. I was constantly clicking with my camera and awwed every moment. We used the B&B as a base to explore from, and visited all over: Monaco, Menton, Nice, Antibes, St Tropez, Cannes, etc and had an amazing holiday overall. We also went inland and visited the most wonderful and picturesque villages. We took a traveller's guide book with us which pointed us to the nice places to visit which ended up being particularly well thumbed and dog eared by the end of the holiday.

This place is on my list of places to return and visit (particularly the restaurant in Tourrettes that had the most delicious crepes!).

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wlh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We spent one long weekend while travelling in the region as the result of a Lonely Planet recommendation. We wanted to stay there to avoid the hustle and bustle of the beach while being able to check out the area. We were very happy with the hotel and thought it offered a great price-quality in an expensive region.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
3  Thank bleulezard1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tourrettes-sur-Loup
2.7 mi away
Auberge des Gorges du Loup
Auberge des Gorges du Loup
#1 of 3 in Tourrettes-sur-Loup
100 reviews
1.6 mi away
Les Belles Terrasses
Les Belles Terrasses
#2 of 3 in Tourrettes-sur-Loup
99 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Vague de Saint Paul
La Vague de Saint Paul
#4 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Maison d'Hotes Bleu Azur
Maison d'Hotes Bleu Azur
#1 of 14 in Tourrettes-sur-Loup
227 reviews
0.9 mi away
Auberge De Tourrettes
Auberge De Tourrettes
#4 of 14 in Tourrettes-sur-Loup
22 reviews
1.0 mi away
Histoires de Bastide
Histoires de Bastide
#3 of 14 in Tourrettes-sur-Loup
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas des Cigales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas des Cigales

Address: 1673 Route des Quenieres, 06140 Tourrettes-sur-Loup, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes Maritimes > Tourrettes-sur-Loup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tourrettes-sur-Loup
Price Range: $105 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Provencal mas with 5 rooms is located in an old olive grove with a garden full of lavender and Rosemary. South-facing "Le Mas des Cigales" bathes the whole day in the sun and from the terrace around the pool you enjoy a wonderful view over the Mediterranean Sea. Le Mas des Cigales is located just outside the authentic village of Tourrettes-sur-Loup. Each room is equipped with safe, flat screen TV, air conditioning and bed linen with light quilts. The pool is South/South-west-oriented and is therefore the whole day in the Sun. It is accessible to everyone because it has a border around on 1.3 M deep, also in the deeper part of it. Our tennis court helps you to maintain your condition (rackets and balls are kindly offered), or if you are looking for an earlier quiet activity, you can enjoy a game "jeu de boules". And above all, let us not forget our sauna in which you can fully relax. For internet users, we offer free WIFI. There is a parking on the closed area. Breakfast is served from the first warm days in the outdoor kitchen or in the patio at the colder temperatures. One or two times per week we will spoil you with a delicious table d ' hotes (without obligation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Mas des Cigales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing