We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Improved service, food is ok” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Grand-Mere

Chez Grand-Mere
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Improved service, food is ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

After reading several revues about this place, many of them complaining of the service, we took a chance yesterday. A party of four, seated on the patio/terrace, we soon understood the place is popular, glad we made a reservation! The service was swift and good. Drinks and bread came fast, also some escargot's, on the house! We went for the suggested menus, priced at 26 and 33€, three ok courses, good value for the money!
All in all we were happy with our stay, and the service was not an issue!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steinar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    57
    21
    21
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mawnan Smith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a mixed bag of food!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Ambience good, staff friendly, very busy so not surprised that service was very slow, and anyway we were not in a hurry. But, the entrecote steaks that three of us ordered off the a la carte menu were truly terrible. Mostly gristle and blobs of fat, cold and on stone cold plates; sent them back and returned a couple of minutes later in the same condition. Staff didn't seem to care, no acknowledgement this was a serious lapse of customer service and quality food. The rest of our party ordered from the 'dishes of the day' menu, and their main course was good. So disappointing we didn't bother to stay for coffee. An adjacent table also sent their steaks back, so something was clearly amiss in the kitchen that day. We won't return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food quality mixed and slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We ate as a group of six on 24 May. Four had eaten here before and it came highly recommended. As with an earlier report the service was very slow even though we booked our table for soon after opening time - two hours to be served the main course. The restaurant was full with a good atmosphere - perhaps too full to allow good service. All the starters were excellent but the mian courses were a mixture. The two Magret de Canard were very good, the Brochette d'Agneau OK but cold, and the three Entrecote Steaks were awful - very poor quality meat and all were served cold. They were returned to the kitchen twice which helped with the temperature but not with the quality of the steak. Most of it was left as inedible. None of the meals were served with the potatoes or vegetables stated on the menu - it was fries or nothing. They ran out of the house red wine and and also ran out of the advertised desert on the top price menu. We expressed our dissatisfaction to the waitress, the Maitre d' and (I assume) the owner but there was no apology.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PippyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food but the slowest service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Chez Grand-Mere was strongly recommended to us. And we can see why - the food is good. But it took two hours to get our main course, and the meal overall took three hours. Too frustrating to be repeated.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Consistant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We visit this restaurant every few months and have for many years now. The owners continue to provide excellent quality, especially considering the price. We love the almond chicken with couscous, but the grilled meats are also nice, cooked over the fire. This time I had a beef filet and it was nicely charred on the outside, very tender and tasty.

This is not an elegant restaurant - simple, comfortable style. As others have said - an institution.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stmaxime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Grand-Mere also viewed

Tourrettes-sur-Loup, Alpes Maritimes
Tourrettes-sur-Loup, Alpes Maritimes
 
Tourrettes-sur-Loup, Alpes Maritimes
Tourrettes-sur-Loup, Alpes Maritimes
 

Been to Chez Grand-Mere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing