We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It just keeps getting better!”

Bistrot Gourmand Clovis
Reserve with
Bistrot Gourmand Clovis is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It just keeps getting better!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had yet another fantastic meal at Clovis. We went for the menu gourmand because everything on the menu looked so good. All the staff were as friendly as ever, and the food was superb. Without doubt, this is the best restaurant in the area by far. Keep up the good work. We'll be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Turnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    56
    21
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“This Chef is going places!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

In our three weeks of fine dining in France, this was one of our best meals. The restaurant was recently awarded one Michelin star. Unless the chef moves locations, it is hard to see that it can get another because the restaurant is a tiny hole in the wall on a side street without the staff or amenities associated with Michelin stars. The one star was awarded because of the incredible inventiveness of the food. It appears that he chooses several key ingrediants and then builds his dishes around them with an started and main plate featuring each. For a set price you choose one of each. The cooking was brilliant and the food absolutely delicious. It is such a small place, that the chef comes and talks to you to explain the dishes. We thoroughly enjoyed the entire meal. The place as to be experienced before he is snatched up to a much larger, less personal place. The price is also the most reasonable we saw for a Michelin starred restaurant. Due to the size, reservations are a must - we were in Vence for three nights and the restaurant only had a table on one of the three nigths that we were able to grab.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cankenjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't ever change!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Tourettes sur Loup is a largely unspoilt medieval fortified village, not overrun with tourists and consequently, there is not a huge choice of restaurants. Le Clovis, hidden in a narrow, cobbled street is not only the best locally, but one of the best restaurants I've eaten in recently. There is a small terrace, we were lucky enough to be able to sit outside, which was delightful. The house cocktail aside ( a bit too much violet for my taste!) everything was spectacular. We all started with a glass of champagne, julien, the chef proprietor, kindly agreed to match wine to each of our courses. The menu is basically a choice of 3 starters and 3 mains, cheese and dessert. But, it's cleverly designed around 3 ingredients. On the night we visited, those were; melon, st Pierre and beef. I chose the beef starter and the st Pierre main. It was a struggle to choose as I greedily wanted evertyhing on the menu. Every dish was inventive, fresh and faultless. I didn't want the meal to end! Julien has really earned his Michelin star, he cares about the provenance of his food, the authenticity of his cooking and the satisfaction of his guests. His attention to detail is incredible, from the presentation of his food to the temperature of the wine and the time he takes to talk to every single guest. A charming chef with a charming restaurant in a charming town. Don't ever change!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lysa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nice
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Small restaurant in the charming village of Tourrettes sur Loup. Well deserved Michelin Star! I've had the chance to eat there several times and each times it was a real discovery of fantastic taste. The owners and young and dynamic. I would go back as soon as possible and invite you to go and see it for yourself with friends. Best recommendations.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yannfievet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb, inventive & friendly”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Love this place. Superb, friendly service without an ounce of obsequiousness. Delicious, inventive menu. Incredibly fresh taste to everything. Everyone wanted everyone else to try their food. And the brilliant value Cote de Provence red was a bit of a revelation for a wine grown in such a sunny climate - very full bodied and a first for us to drink a wine from the Var with a Syrah blend.

From the amuse bouche to the dessert this meal was a joy, and very good value too. We will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VicKensy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Gourmand Clovis also viewed

Tourrettes-sur-Loup, Alpes Maritimes
Tourrettes-sur-Loup, Alpes Maritimes
 
Tourrettes-sur-Loup, Alpes Maritimes
Tourrettes-sur-Loup, Alpes Maritimes
 

Been to Bistrot Gourmand Clovis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing