We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely property, lovely hosts!”
Review of Villa La Begude

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa La Begude
Ranked #7 of 29 Saint-Tropez B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely property, lovely hosts!”
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We booked this based only on the reviews from trip advisor and I'm delighted we did. Daniela and Harald make it easy for you to treat the place like your own and with only 5 rooms it feels like it is. They are great hosts, Harald even ran us into town on the first night when we were still getting our bearings. After that we walked in each night and it is a leisurely 15-20 minute walk.
The property is lovely and has been decorated and furnished with real taste. The pool area excedes all expectations and is a great place to relax.
Breakfast is served when you like it, outside in lovely surroundings.

The restaurant on the beach at Plage de salins is a brilliant place for a long lazy lunch. You can sit at a table actually on the beach with the sea coming almost up to your feet and the food is really very good.

All in all way better quality than you get in the centre of town, much quieter but easy to get in and out when you feel like a lively evening. We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMancTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
39
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We've spend the first week of our honeymoon in Villa la Begude and this was the best week in St. Tropez and the best place to be.
Both owners will do their best to make your stay as comfortable as possible!
The room was cleaned every day and had our breakfast by the pool. You can relax by the pool or go to the center of the village (5 min. by car).
The second week we've spend in a luxury hotel but we've missed villa La Begude!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tropez_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bremen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Actually I didn´t want to write a comment about this lovely place - because it should be a secret treasure! But, do goods and speak about it and for shure the hosts of this place do the very best of all!

If you want a very relaxed and beautyful stay in this quite over dosed St. Tropez, just book a suite at the Villa La Begude and your holiday can start.

The suites are so delightful equipped, the breakfast is delicious, you are almosi in town but you have the sweet silence for your sleep, the pool is great and the ambience of all makes you feel like heaven on earth.

Just taste it.
Thx to Dani and Harry.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtriptraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2010

My Aunt and I have recently returned to London after a delightful 4 night stay at Villa La Begude in St Tropez.
We were welcomed by Daniela, Harald and little David with fresh mint tea on the lawn by the pool. Throughout our stay, Daniela and Harald couldn't have been more accommodating and attended to whatever we required.

We stayed in Room 4 on the 1st floor which is the largest room in the Villa. It is very large by European standards and has an open plan bathroom with shower but no bath. The room looks out onto the swimming pool and has its own private balcony. Being close to midsummer, the days are very long and the room very bright however, there are shutters to block out the light in the early morning. The room also has air-conditioning which is a must in summer.

On a previous trip to St Tropez I spent all my time on the beach. This time, however, I couldn't pull myself away from the lovely gardens and pool at La Begude. To get to Pampelomme beach is about a 10 minute drive, through town and then back out again. To get into town is very easy and there are numerous car parks on the edge of town in order to avoid getting stuck in the narrow streets and traffic. We also walked in on a number of occasions - it is a leisurely 20 minute walk to Place De Lices.

Without a doubt the most enjoyable aspect of La Begude is the villa and the gardens. Msost importantly it is away from the noise and hecticness of town. St Tropez is absolutely wonderful, great nightlife and restaurants and the Port is gorgeous at sunset. However, if you value your sleep and prefer a quieter pace I would recommend staying out of town and coming in for the evenings instead.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Always_wandering_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

St Tropez is a fabulous city, probably no matter where you stay. Downtown location is for the hot spot and night life. If you stay at Villa La Begude, you definitely need a car. This is more like a bed and breakfast. with not as much privacy as you get in a hotel. Very family oriented. The owners are German and speak fluent French and English, too. Danielle and Harold will go out of there way to accommodate you. The rooms are very clean, although small. Very nicely decorated. You can walk to the beach from the Villa. The beach is fantastic. However, they use mulch at the beach, which is different than in America. If you go in low season, things get quiet and restaurants close for the season. You must go to a private beach club in Pampelone. Also, Harold will help you stay within your budget with great tips on how to save money in St. Tropez.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDDetroit_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaLaBegude, Proprietaire at Villa La Begude, responded to this review, January 9, 2010
Dear Clients,

althought the review was not bad, I still think that clients could get some wrong impressions from our place and St. Tropez while reading this review.
Therefore, I would like to provide some feedback on this review:

First of all, pease take into consideration, that the review was made by an older American couple who - for the first time - left the USA.

Need of a car: A car is recommended but not absolutely required. The distance from our place to the center of Saint Tropez is 1 mile /1,6 km, 20 km walking distance. For trips to the Pampelonne beach, I would always recommend hiring a scooter during high season.

Rooms: our rooms are between 20 and 35 sqm depending on the category the client is booking. Our client booked the smallest category.

Canoubier Beach: during season period, the beaches will be cleaned from the mulch

Pampelone Beach: The Pampelone Beach does have private beach clubs but of course you also can stay at the public beaches (representing more than 70% of the entire 5 km beach) anytime during the year

kind regards, Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Do you want to spent wonderful holidays in St. Tropez. Do you search for a nice, friendly, cosy, natural, clean, inspiring place to stay? Here it is: Villa la Begude.

We spent 12 days in this really nice bed and breakfast Villa-Hotel.
The Rooms (we had No 2) are all lovely furnished in a modern design and have a modern and big bathroom with a wonderful shower. The air condition is super silent. The cleaning lady makes a very good job, the rooms are always really clean. The Hotel is a wonderful Villa with a nice pool and garden. Breakfast ist served on the terrasse, you get whatever you want, everything is fresh and very tasty.
Daniela and Harald are really very pleasant and friendly hosts, always trying to fulfill your wishes.
The location is perfect, 3-5 min with the car to the middle of the town of St. Tropez and near the beach of Pamplonne.
You will not miss anything in this little gem in a fantastc landscape.
We will surely be back as soon as possible.
(Visit their Homepage an you will see a lot of fantastic fotos!)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeruZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2009

A wonderful palce to stay in St Tropez. The Rooms were very clean and beautifully done. The Villa has a wonderful atmosphere and the owners very friendly and helpful.
It is a little out of the town and a good 20min walk which is not hard but could put some less able off the up side is that the Villa is quiet and peaceful.
Breakfast was good and available when you wanted it not at set times. I would recommed a stay here and will go back to Villa de Begude when we return to St Torpez.
Good value for a stay in St Tropez where there is alot of 'hype over substance'.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dexterdoright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Tropez hotels
2.0 mi away
La Bastide de Saint Tropez
La Bastide de Saint Tropez
#9 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Cosy
Hotel Villa Cosy
#2 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Romarine
Hotel La Romarine
#12 of 25 in Ramatuelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chateau De La Messardiere
Chateau De La Messardiere
#3 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel  La Garbine
Hotel La Garbine
#8 of 25 in Ramatuelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
#2 of 13 in Gassin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Begude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Begude

Property: Villa La Begude
Address: Route des Salins, 83990, Saint-Tropez, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Tropez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious B&B Hotel in Saint Tropez, Top Location (very close to center of Saint Tropez 1,6 km, and to the beaches 150m). With heated Swimming Pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa La Begude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Begude Hotel St-Tropez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing