We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, quiet and walking distance to beach”
Review of Villa La Begude

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa La Begude
Ranked #6 of 29 Saint-Tropez B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 26, 2009

St Tropez is a fabulous city, probably no matter where you stay. Downtown location is for the hot spot and night life. If you stay at Villa La Begude, you definitely need a car. This is more like a bed and breakfast. with not as much privacy as you get in a hotel. Very family oriented. The owners are German and speak fluent French and English, too. Danielle and Harold will go out of there way to accommodate you. The rooms are very clean, although small. Very nicely decorated. You can walk to the beach from the Villa. The beach is fantastic. However, they use mulch at the beach, which is different than in America. If you go in low season, things get quiet and restaurants close for the season. You must go to a private beach club in Pampelone. Also, Harold will help you stay within your budget with great tips on how to save money in St. Tropez.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigDDetroit_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaLaBegude, Proprietaire at Villa La Begude, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2010

Dear Clients,

althought the review was not bad, I still think that clients could get some wrong impressions from our place and St. Tropez while reading this review.
Therefore, I would like to provide some feedback on this review:

First of all, pease take into consideration, that the review was made by an older American couple who - for the first time - left the USA.

Need of a car: A car is recommended but not absolutely required. The distance from our place to the center of Saint Tropez is 1 mile /1,6 km, 20 km walking distance. For trips to the Pampelonne beach, I would always recommend hiring a scooter during high season.

Rooms: our rooms are between 20 and 35 sqm depending on the category the client is booking. Our client booked the smallest category.

Canoubier Beach: during season period, the beaches will be cleaned from the mulch

Pampelone Beach: The Pampelone Beach does have private beach clubs but of course you also can stay at the public beaches (representing more than 70% of the entire 5 km beach) anytime during the year

kind regards, Daniela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 60 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2009

Do you want to spent wonderful holidays in St. Tropez. Do you search for a nice, friendly, cosy, natural, clean, inspiring place to stay? Here it is: Villa la Begude.

We spent 12 days in this really nice bed and breakfast Villa-Hotel.
The Rooms (we had No 2) are all lovely furnished in a modern design and have a modern and big bathroom with a wonderful shower. The air condition is super silent. The cleaning lady makes a very good job, the rooms are always really clean. The Hotel is a wonderful Villa with a nice pool and garden. Breakfast ist served on the terrasse, you get whatever you want, everything is fresh and very tasty.
Daniela and Harald are really very pleasant and friendly hosts, always trying to fulfill your wishes.
The location is perfect, 3-5 min with the car to the middle of the town of St. Tropez and near the beach of Pamplonne.
You will not miss anything in this little gem in a fantastc landscape.
We will surely be back as soon as possible.
(Visit their Homepage an you will see a lot of fantastic fotos!)

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeruZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

A wonderful palce to stay in St Tropez. The Rooms were very clean and beautifully done. The Villa has a wonderful atmosphere and the owners very friendly and helpful.
It is a little out of the town and a good 20min walk which is not hard but could put some less able off the up side is that the Villa is quiet and peaceful.
Breakfast was good and available when you wanted it not at set times. I would recommed a stay here and will go back to Villa de Begude when we return to St Torpez.
Good value for a stay in St Tropez where there is alot of 'hype over substance'.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dexterdoright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

We have been many times in Saint Tropez, always at different hotels. But at Villa La Begude we definetely had the most relaxing holiday ever. The location is wonderful and quiet, the rooms are very charming and clean, and breakfast is delicious.
Daniela and Harald, the hosts, are pretty nice and commited to make your stay an unforgetable one. Doesn`t matter what you need they are always happy to help. As typical B&B you don`t have dinner or lunch, but the heart of Saint Tropez with many nice restaurants is just a 15 minutes walk away.
We already booked the room for next year, which we never did so far.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinAl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2008

Our trip to the French Riviera started off with 2 days in St Tropez. We landed at Toulon airport, and caught a bus to St Tropez. From there, we were lost, but Daniela, one of our hosts, quickly came to pick us up and drive us to the property. It is a very charming place, approx 15-20 minute walk (which we realised soon that we needed a car to get around the popular European village). We had Room 6, which was very homely - it was very clean, spacious, had good storage and gave us a comfortable bed each night. Because the villa is not in the town centre, it is very peaceful! Perfect for families, elderly, or couples travelling to St Tropez.

Daniela and Harold are fantastic hosts, putting together breakfast each morning and making sure we felt at home. We could not have asked for more from them! They really did make the stay very pleasant!

This villa is still new, at 2-3 years old, but the owners still are trying to make improvements and enhance the beauty and charm of the villa! Looking forward to visiting in another couple of years to see the changes! And see their family grow!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

St Tropez is a charming town and therefore a popular tourist destination. Villa La Begude is a peaceful oasis which because of its excellent location you can enjoy what St Tropez and the surrounds have to offer, then retreat to this comfortable B&B for quiet relaxation. Our hosts Daniela and Harold were very welcoming and always helpful. We felt very comfortable at Villa La Begude and enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TimOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2008

We actually didn't plan to go to St. Tropez when in Europe, but decided to switch our plans around. We called Daniela, the woman who manages Villa la Begude, and there happened to be an availability. We were more than pleased with the Villa. Daniela and her husband were more than welcoming and rooms were immaculate, modern, and airy. It was only a short (5 minute) car ride into town, which we never found to be a hassle. We liked staying there so much, we extended our stay two nights! I would highly recommend staying here to anyone who appreciates genuine hospitality and a beautiful, relaxing environment.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ar927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Tropez hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Cosy
Hotel Villa Cosy
#1 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
254 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel de Paris Saint-Tropez
Hotel de Paris Saint-Tropez
#3 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
410 reviews
3.1 mi away
Domaine les Mesanges
Domaine les Mesanges
#1 of 6 in Gassin
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bastide Sainte Anne
Bastide Sainte Anne
#2 of 29 in Saint-Tropez
43 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Vagabonde
La Vagabonde
#4 of 29 in Saint-Tropez
27 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
#1 of 13 in Gassin
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Begude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Begude

Address: Route des Salins, 83990, Saint-Tropez, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Tropez
Price Range: $206 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious B&B Hotel in Saint Tropez, Top Location (very close to center of Saint Tropez 1,6 km, and to the beaches 150m). With heated Swimming Pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa La Begude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Begude Hotel St-Tropez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing