We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem worth twice the price”
Review of Hotel Les Palmiers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Les Palmiers
Ranked #45 of 73 Hotels in Saint-Tropez
melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A hidden gem worth twice the price”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Apart from a few Ibis hotels in France and a not-so-nice 2-star on a freeway somewhere south of Paris our family only ever stays at 5-star hotels. But we drove into St Tropez without a booking and after door-knocking a couple of alternatives we stumbled across this place. And I can't describe how happy I was to find it. It's not posh or plush. But it has got character and it's cute and fun and close to everything. The lady hotelier can be found sipping drinks on a table with her friend near the entrance every afternoon. Her husband - a man of few words until you force him to chat - seems to be in charge in the mornings. The rooms are small, but they have a bed and a tv, which I don;t even think we turned on. The rooms look out onto a sunny little garden courtyard, while others back onto a private little garden. We stayed 2 nights in two rooms and I didn't want to leave, but they didn't have any vacancies. The next night we stayed at the Hotel de Paris in Monte Carlo, but when it comes to atmosphere I would find it difficult to say which is more fun.. and that's saying a lot seeing as the Hotel de Paris is the one that sits opposite the casino and is home to visiting celebrities and an endless procession of the fanciest cars in Europe. Palmiers is soooooooo cheap. Look, it's not 5-star, it's not modern... it's cosy and cheap and in a great location. And I would honestly book it over the other nearby 5-stars if we return. My only complaint is this. We parked our 7-seater Ford Galaxy out the front under a tree filled with roosting birds. Needless to say, after 2 nights the car was a disgusting mess. I didn't realise how bad it was until we pulled up beside a couple of Ferraris and handed the keys to the valet at the Hotel de Paris. It would have been a bit embarrassing if our family still suffered from embarrassment - but we are now used to looking like the poorest people in the places we stay.
i would skip the hotel's breakfast and sit among the ugliest people you will ever see in those waterfront cafes with the seats all facing towards the superyachts. Have a look at the rubbery, distorted, orange faces on the people sitting in the front row of these seats in the afternoons.

Room Tip: i think u can buy a better breakfast elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbz_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    43
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
9
50
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed for two nights after moving from a far more expensive and noisy hotel on the harbour. Lovely quiet location overlooking the gardens. Excellent position. Staff friendly and room really comfortable, with an enormous bed. Everything was really clean with extra pillows, hairdryer and air con. Could have done with a decent english channel on the TV as BBC1 didn't work. Good value for money and very central. The garden bar / breakfast area adds to the charm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location.The owner is charming and the price is fair in what is an expensive place.The room I stayed in was functional but nor particularly nice.Overall I would prefer to spend a little more and be in a more comfortable hotel however in December the choice is scarse.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londoner093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2010

Stayed here for 3 days, was very clean, comfortable bed, good bathroom.
easy to get to and close by to a cash point, resturant, bakery. always somebody at reception. only had news chanels, air con worked and warmed up room. steps up to the room were steep! all rooms had unique decor!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights at Hotel Les Palmiers as part of a larger trip through the Cote d'Azur. We liked the attractive garden separating the hotel from the busy street and were pleased that breakfast was served in the garden. Our room was adequate but not overly fancy. Unlike other guests writing here, we did not feel the bathroom was too small. The breakfast was adequate with plenty of fresh breads and rolls along with orange juice (not fresh squeezed) and coffee. The staff were efficient and polite if not overly friendly. At night, our room area was quiet and peaceful and we were able to leave the courtyard door open for cool fresh air. The location, of course, is the key selling point for this hotel, right on the Place des Lices and only a couple of blocks from the port. While we were there, a small amusement park was in operation in the Place. Again, the ample garden provided refuge and needed separation from the crowds beyond. There is a small bar set up in the garden for happy hour but we did not partake. Our price for the room was very reasonable compared with a half dozen other places I checked out.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

This hotel is ok, but not great by any measure. Let's start with positives: location is great - smack in the center of St. Tropez - walking distance to everywhere, right next to all the necessary local stores - bakeries, cheese, ice cream, craperies, etc. So eating fresh french breakfasts is not a problem. The inner courtyard is very nice as well, but the place has no lift, so you have to lug all of your stuff up the stairs. The rooms are clean and nice, but bathrooms are just tiny, even by french standards, going to the bathroom is an exercise in contortionism. AC worked great, and beds seemed nice, until you lay down and there is this weird plastic tarp they put under the linens, it's very uncomfortable. Hotel also advertises available parking, but it's glorified street parking right in front of the hotel on the busiest street in town. It worked for us, but I would not leave anything in the car overnight. Hotel has nice original artwork. They do lend you beach towels, but you have to drive to the beach or walk to the old port and turn right - there is a small beach and a dipping spot. All in all - hotel is ok, but we were disappointed a bit with it and St. Tropez overall.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of lift, bed
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxyehho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Tropez hotels
0.1 mi away
Les Lauriers
Les Lauriers
#53 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
B Lodge Hotel
B Lodge Hotel
#21 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Y
Hotel Le Y
#49 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White 1921 Saint-Tropez
White 1921 Saint-Tropez
#31 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Mouillage
Hotel Le Mouillage
#24 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Playa
Hotel Playa
#63 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Palmiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Palmiers

Property: Hotel Les Palmiers
Address: 26 boulevard Vasserot, 83992, Saint-Tropez, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 73 Hotels in Saint-Tropez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Palmiers 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Les Palmiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing