We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still as beautiful as it was 50 years ago on my first visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of St. Tropez Harbor

St. Tropez Harbor
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.20*
and up
Panoramic Audio-Guided Tour to Saint Tropez from Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
West Barnstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
153 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Still as beautiful as it was 50 years ago on my first visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Going to the harbor always brings back memories, I worked on a yacht home ported here some 50 years ago. The harbor, village and people are all still as beautiful as they were on my visit exposure to St. Tropez, and yes, Bridgette Bardot still resides here in the same house. This was my 5th trip back since working there as a kid, and have seen changes and all from what I can see is positive. Many impressive, yachts and interesting people as you stroll around the harbor and village.

The back streets are quaint and at each turn there is always something of interest. If your in the South of France, take the journey for it's only about a 80 minute delightful dirve from Nice, France.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    279
    152
    52
    16
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just Beautiful! Stunning, gorgeous and wonderful. cant wait to return in the summer time. We found a very pretty little beach which was just heaven, idyllic, and with just a handful of people on it in August!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank VeraD21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Weekend a Saint-Tropez”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Beautiful sunsets, beautiful colours. So many very large yachts often block the view of the houses along the old port.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PamelaAnn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Overcrowded with tourists.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

St. Tropez harbor was bustling with tourists! There were people everywhere, and it felt very overcrowded. It was also really hot, making it somewhat uncomfortable.

My wife and I, had about a 7 hour window in St. Tropez, as we were visiting the city as part of a day trip. Or shuttle ferry dropped us off at the harbor around 10am, and was to pick us up at around 5pm, leaving us the whole day to explore St. Tropez. Little did we know, there was not much to see.

We started by walking around the harbor, and then walked towards the downtown core. We visited the stores that lined the harbor, but there was really not much to see. Just the usual souvenir stores, tacky tourist restaurants, and outdoor markets. We were surprised that there were no beaches! Instead, hundreds and hundreds of tourists filled the streets, all just walking around. There were a few nice quiet areas behind the buildings, which led to the water; however it wasn't really ideal for setting up towels and lounging. Although it was nice, we really had our fill of the downtown and harbor area after about 1-2 hours. Furthermore, by about 12pm, stores started closing for the afternoon, leaving us with little to do.

Since we had a lot of time left, we decided to rent a car from the Avis rent-car, at the harbor, and take a drive around St. Tropez. It was great because we were able to drive to some of the beaches away from the harbor, that were much quieter. Driving around the area was also great as the traffic was quiet and there were few roads to get lost on.

All in all, although the harbor is a nice place to see, especially with all the yachts, my wife and I highly recommend renting a car. There is so much more to see than just the harbor, and it is absolutely worth it.

Happy travels!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank wrx_rally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“too many sightseeing daytripers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

although I love St Tropez, this Harbour area is in fact my least favourite part, it's still nice, but teeming with daytrippers trying to catch a view of who is on the large Yachts, and generally a bit tacky with poor restaurants-apart from 2, and cheap style plastic fronted shops, a shame because the basic harbour situation could be very nice

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kryptonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Tropez Harbor also viewed

Ramatuelle, Saint-Tropez
Saint-Tropez, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Saint-Tropez, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to St. Tropez Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing