We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to be updated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Bastide de Saint Tropez
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Saint-Tropez
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Needs to be updated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Unfortunately I think the hotel is a bit rundown and needs a makeover. This is definitely not a 5 star hotel. Upon check in we tried to get a small lunch around the pool - we were surprised to discover there were only 5 dishes to pick from and asked if we could simply get a meat and cheese platter... The chef himself comes out and refuses to do anything but wat he has listed on the menu. My friend went to the front desk to enquire if this was truly the only food service available and the chef followed her the whole way and rudely confronted her at the reception area. The one person who seemed nice and went out of his way was the bellman/driver - the blond gentleman...the reception desk was cool and aloof. The rooms were very small and the bedspread was showing ridiculous wear - thread bear in places. Pool is also not heated. Wifi was terrible and only worked if you were sitting right around the pool. Recommend staying elsewhere.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank CoalMine_Canary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    41
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
35
131
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The grounds here are gorgeous and the setup has a very cozy feel and the morning breakfast by the pool is awesome. It is a very romantic environment even though there were families with kids. Very dog friendly which is cool.

The room itself was small, crowded and reminiscent of a college dorm. I suppose that is typical in Saint Tropez and for the price it was definitely livable. It is Saint Tropez and hopefully you are not there to stay in your room!!

We decided to stay in on a Saturday night and needed food before midnight and what they brought us was horrendous. I guess the kitchen was closed and the security guard tried to make pasta. It was not acceptable and we ended up eating nuts from the mini bar.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DjOmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Everything you could ask for in St Tropez. Walking distance from town centre but tucked away in a quiet street away from the noise and chaos. Perfect friendly service from all staff, free shuttle to and from the town centre at night, 2 restaurants serving great food, picture perfect pool, plus we got a free upgrade from our traditional room to a Junior Suite with terrace and Jacuzzi. They always turned down our bed at night leaving some chocolates and more importantly, plenty of closet space for all the dresses I bought along.

Room Tip: If you like the chaos in high season good for you but we went 2nd week of September and you and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peaches_091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We love to visit Relais Chateaux restaurants and hotel whenever we have the opportunity. Most of them deserve to be part of R & C. We had the pleasure of having lunch at Bastide de St. Tropez. What a beautiful place. Great service! Our waiter, Frederic was extremely kind and made our brief lunch, an unforgettable one. The food was exquisite and perfect for a sunny and warm day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exploringeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
Level Contributor
214 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Despite a lot of negative reviews i found this hotel nice and comfortable.
The room was not super small (junior suite) but quite and charming. The bathroom is server by l'occitane amenities.
The breakfast is fair (Croissant like gum!!!) but the service (an Audi q7j always ready to escort you everywhere you want.
Service very kind and attentive.
Maybe not my favourite hotel in St. Trop but very positive stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgiornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

a wonderful jewel full of warmth and professionalism
the bistro offers tremendous value for money and terrific variety. the staff are always couteous and professional, especially with the children.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

We were upgraded to an apartment "Corail" which was magnificent.
Decoration in the whold hotel was simply excellent.
Staff were nice.
Nice pool.
A bit remote from downtown.

Room Tip: Apartment "Corail" is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spotngrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Tropez hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Cosy
Hotel Villa Cosy
#2 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Paris Saint-Tropez
Hotel de Paris Saint-Tropez
#5 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
#2 of 13 in Gassin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Chateau De La Messardiere
Chateau De La Messardiere
#3 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Residence de la Pinede
Hotel La Residence de la Pinede
#7 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Byblos Saint Tropez
Hotel Byblos Saint Tropez
#6 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastide de Saint Tropez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide de Saint Tropez

Property: La Bastide de Saint Tropez
Address: route des Carles | BP 54, 83990, Saint-Tropez, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Tropez
#9 Family Hotel in Saint-Tropez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Bastide de Saint Tropez 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Bastide de Saint Tropez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bastide De Saint Tropez Hotel St-Tropez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing