We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 star service, 1 star hotel. Horrid.”
Review of Hotel La Mandarine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Mandarine
Ranked #35 of 73 Hotels in Saint-Tropez
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We went from a four star hotel in Paris to this dump. OMG. The pictures are NOT like the hotel. Breakfast was expensive and TERRIBLE. Very few choices for an August stay, but this was disgusting. Nothing worked -- the electricity, the internet. Room was dirty. Not very french -- a lot of Russian staff and guests. Stay away.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Toujourstraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 73 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2008

I stayed there with a friend in July 06. The reason we booked this place was because the price was reasonable comparing to other hotels in the area. The hotel itself looks like a french provincial summer house. Its in a quiet area and has a cozy feel to it, a big pool, but nothing fantastic. the rooms are a bit run down, especially the bathrooms. The food was good (only open certain hours) ...its nice to eat by the pool during the day.
Everything was far away from the hotel, the town is 15min taxi ride the beach about 30min (depending on which one) . the problem is that they cost ALOT. it costs about 30 euros just to get to the beach. but that may be anywhere you stay in St.Tropez.
What we hated is the service. I never usually pay attention to minor things, but I never really appreciated how important service is in a hotel until staying here. The front desk was rude and not helpful at all. They would ignore you and if you asked them to call a cab or make a reservation for you or ask advice on where it go, they would talk back very rude and annoyed. Calling the cab would take >30-40min to arrive. We ended up finding out phone numbers and calling directly...taxi would arrive in 5 min. The worst incident was a situation when a guy staying at the hotel started "stalking"me" in the evening after a club. I told the guy I wasn't interesed. As I was walking away I heard the hotel clerk giving him my room number and personal information! 10 minutes later the guy was knocking at my door! it was a frightening experience. luckily we were leaving early that morning. The hotel clerk denied everything ofcourse.
I would definately never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Katya125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, CA
39
Reviewed August 29, 2004

I just came back from a vacation in St. Tropez. This is a beautiful hotel, it's like staying a French villa, it's close enough and far away enough from the action of the port at the same time. It's in the hills of St. Tropez, the air was clean fresh and fragrant. If you wanted to go to the shops, clubs, restaurants, you were just 10 minutes away.The staff couldn't have been any nicer. The rooms were plain, but clean.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas, Texas
19
Reviewed January 23, 2004

I first visited St. Trop in the fall of 1991 and was told to stay at La Mandarine by an Italian friend. I feel in love with the village and the area. I have returned each year for my holiday since. I have stayed at many of the 4 star and the only 4star lux hotel in the area over the many trip there. Many may feel the rating system flawed, but I believe this hotel offers a service unlike the others. Set in a vineyard just a 10 minute walk from the Place de Lice, and the port, yet secluded enough not to hear a scooter or Ferrari at 4 or 5 in the a.m. when 'Cave' the fashionable disco starts to wind down. Frank the manager has been helpful and accomodating to this American for as long as memory serves me. I think anyone wanting value for your money and service with a smile, without the all the B.S. In a quiet surrounding stay here. On second thought, I rather you go somewhere else so I can continue to get my same room each summer. JC

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Scotland
426
Reviewed September 1, 2003

We recently stayed at the La Mandarine in St Tropez. When we first arrived our room was very disappointing and we asked to be moved. I would not have said it was 4 star. The furniture was very shabby but our new room was much better and slightly bigger. The food in the hotel was superb and the staff very friendly. The Bora Bora beach was quiet and relaxing and food was great at the restaurant. The only thing I forgot was 2 different bikini's for each day. This is a must to keep up with the rest of the sunbathers. It's all so materialistic.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Stamford, CT
16
Reviewed March 7, 2003

I got a great deal at $217 per night last August. I was slightly embarassed at my rental Renault station wagon along side al the Mercedes. Porches and the like at this 4 star hotel. It's about 1/4 from town, which wasn't a bad walk. The only down side is the charge for using their Bora Bora beach and for parking when you get there.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joachim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction H, Direction at Hotel La Mandarine, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Tropez
1.2 mi away
Le Domaine De L'Astragale
1.5 mi away
La Ferme d'Augustin
La Ferme d'Augustin
#2 of 26 in Ramatuelle
279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mas Bellevue
Hotel Mas Bellevue
#32 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Hotel Le Terminus
Hotel Le Terminus
#15 of 38 in Le Lavandou
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Cosy
Hotel Villa Cosy
#1 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
White 1921 Saint-Tropez
White 1921 Saint-Tropez
#33 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Mandarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Mandarine

Address: Chemin de la Belle Isnarde, 83990, Saint-Tropez, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 73 Hotels in Saint-Tropez
Price Range: $367 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel La Mandarine 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 minutes from the famous Place des Lices and the private beaches of the bay of Pampelonne, the charming and intimate Mandarine hotel is your home in Provence. Swimming pool, restaurant,Esthée Derme Spa, free shuttle service. enjoy a relaxing time at La Mandarine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Mandarine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing