We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very sweet positive energy hotel”
Review of Hotel La Mandarine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Mandarine
Ranked #47 of 73 Hotels in Saint-Tropez
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“very sweet positive energy hotel”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

my wife and I loved the hotel, ıt ıs unique, original and sweet. people working are really friendly and we liked the breakfast you had everything you can ask for but ın a nice presentation. they accept dogs which also makes this hotel special cause u see them around so sweet. we found much more than we expected so that was a lovely surprise. rooms are new and very clean. lovely pool.

Room Tip: room wıth a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eekmekci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    21
    9
    7
    5
See reviews for
13
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed at La Mandarine for a long week-end last month and had a great time in St Tropez. The hotel itsef is located 15mn walk from the center at the beginning of Route de Tahiti, and looks like a small provencal village surrounded by a nice garden. Very charming. It also has a great swimming pool.
However the hotel is advertised as five stars and you will be clearly disappointed if you expect this (the room prices should give you a hint that it is not. Don't forget this is St Tropez). The location and surrounding is four stars, but the inside of the hotel three stars at best. The rooms are small, and look tired, the bathrooms are twenty years old, the corridors leading to the rooms are narrow and there were several times sheets/linnen laying around. The hotel would need a total refurbishment to even be a four stars.
So if you are looking for a great three stars in St Tropez, this is the place! If four stars, why not if Le Pre de la Mer or Le Benkirai are fully booked. If you are looking for a five stars, stay away!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex_Charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed here for a short visit in July. Room was small but adequate. Nice linen and bathroom amenities. Pool was great with excellent chef at poolside

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank liamgriegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Tiny bedrooms , good service yet a quaint and delightfully setting. Rooms need to be improved. The pool area is excellent , great food and rope service. Breakfast was in a decent surrounding but nothing special. Good location and a 15 minute walk to the town. The passages wre narrow on route to the rooms and used linen and towels were left lying around. With a little more effort by the polite staff this could be a wonderfull place. Certainly no 5 star.

Room Tip: There are a few suites which are exceptionally expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kieran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This hotel is a gem. Quaint, cozy and charming, I had the most wonderful stay during the Rolex Regatta. Its a five minute walk to town but that only adds to its appeal as it is always very peaceful and quiet. The food was wonderful...a creative blend of European and novelle cuisine and the staff was absolutely exceptional...friendly and upbeat. Emilio (voted best serve in Europe on the British Hospitality website), Michael and Giovanni tend to your every dining need and all the lovely ladies at the front desk are courteous and concerned that your stay be a memorable one. The bellmen Roma and Kevin are alert and always available should you need a lift into town or back. The pool area is exquisite and wonderfully appointed. My room was comfortable and decorated in a charming French provincial style that made me appreciative to be where I was. I don't know how anyone could say anything derogatory or negative about this charming place. I look forward to returning again in September or next year again.

Room Tip: Room 16 overlloks a beautiful garden and the Mediterranean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarrisTVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We went from a four star hotel in Paris to this dump. OMG. The pictures are NOT like the hotel. Breakfast was expensive and TERRIBLE. Very few choices for an August stay, but this was disgusting. Nothing worked -- the electricity, the internet. Room was dirty. Not very french -- a lot of Russian staff and guests. Stay away.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Toujourstraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint-Tropez hotels

New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2008

I stayed there with a friend in July 06. The reason we booked this place was because the price was reasonable comparing to other hotels in the area. The hotel itself looks like a french provincial summer house. Its in a quiet area and has a cozy feel to it, a big pool, but nothing fantastic. the rooms are a bit run down, especially the bathrooms. The food was good (only open certain hours) ...its nice to eat by the pool during the day.
Everything was far away from the hotel, the town is 15min taxi ride the beach about 30min (depending on which one) . the problem is that they cost ALOT. it costs about 30 euros just to get to the beach. but that may be anywhere you stay in St.Tropez.
What we hated is the service. I never usually pay attention to minor things, but I never really appreciated how important service is in a hotel until staying here. The front desk was rude and not helpful at all. They would ignore you and if you asked them to call a cab or make a reservation for you or ask advice on where it go, they would talk back very rude and annoyed. Calling the cab would take >30-40min to arrive. We ended up finding out phone numbers and calling directly...taxi would arrive in 5 min. The worst incident was a situation when a guy staying at the hotel started "stalking"me" in the evening after a club. I told the guy I wasn't interesed. As I was walking away I heard the hotel clerk giving him my room number and personal information! 10 minutes later the guy was knocking at my door! it was a frightening experience. luckily we were leaving early that morning. The hotel clerk denied everything ofcourse.
I would definately never stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — quiet, provincial style
  • Disliked — the service
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Katya125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Tropez hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dune
Hotel Dune
#51 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
127 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Domaine De L'Astragale
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Y
Hotel Le Y
#54 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Le Mas de Chastelas
Le Mas de Chastelas
#5 of 13 in Gassin
98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Benkirai Hotel
Benkirai Hotel
#12 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Yaca
Le Yaca
#25 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Mandarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Mandarine

Property: Hotel La Mandarine
Address: Chemin de la Belle Isnarde, 83990, Saint-Tropez, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 73 Hotels in Saint-Tropez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel La Mandarine 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 minutes from the famous Place des Lices and the private beaches of the bay of Pampelonne, the charming and intimate Mandarine hotel is your home in Provence. Swimming pool, restaurant,Esthée Derme Spa, free shuttle service. enjoy a relaxing time at La Mandarine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Mandarine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing