We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Service at its best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau De La Messardiere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau De La Messardiere
Ranked #3 of 74 Hotels in Saint-Tropez
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

If you are after an amazing experience then this hotel is it. Perched on the hill above St Tropez, you can experience the buzz and atmosphere of the town and then return to the pure serenity of this wonderful hotel. The service was what you would expect at such a hotel, but it's the staff that go out of their way to make your stay as smooth and comfortable as possible.
It was our first visit, and hopefully will not be our last.

Room Tip: the rooms around the pool are great, but the prestige rooms offer larger space and great verandas wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty M, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Suzanne

Thank you so much to share your Messardière experience with the Trip advisor followers!
It is true that the staff is happy to help to serve and to delight you. The hotel is also a romantic place and it is important to be discreet.
So we will be waiting for your next visit with pleasure.
Sincerely
Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    53
    25
    6
    5
See reviews for
46
227
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

AMAZING!! The staff was amazing, our room was not ready (nor the one we paid for) we stayed one night in a bad room then they moved us to a great room for nights 2 and 3.

Staff was night, and the resort was stunning! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Get rooms by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gregg a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty M, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Greg

First thank you for such a pleasant feedback!
It is true that sometimes room may not be suitable to our guest so if we can do something as soon as we can we do it with pleasure. Our purpose is your confort and your happyness.So we are waiting to have the pleasure to welcome you again right now we know your favorites.
Sincerely
Béatrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

St Tropez is a great place to visit but we have found the best month is September when the weather is still warm and the crowds have left. We have visited on 8 occasions and have stayed at the same hotel each time.

Our hotel of choice on each occasion has been the Chateau de la Messardiere. Perched on a hillside overlooking the beautiful bay of St Tropez. You feel cocooned from the hustle and bustle of the town and yet you are only a five minute drive away from the town centre.

A warm welcome, tremendous service and excellent amenities means that this is the hotel of choice if you want to spoil yourself and enjoy some you time. The rooms are well appointed and we tend to stay in the poolside West Indies rooms which have wonderful views.

Food at the hotel is of an excellent standard, from breakfast, through lunch and if it takes your fancy a Michelin starred restaurant for dinner.

There is a regular shuttle bus to and from the town which is handy and if the beautiful poolside isn't your thing there is also a private beach with restaurant that you can try if sand is your thing.

The gardens surrounding the hotel are stunning and a great place to walk and stimulate your senses. An apiary that produces the hotel's honey is also on-site.

We are heading back again this September and each year it just seems to get better and better.

Treat yourself!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank FWG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty M, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Guest

It is a real pleasure for us to read your feedback about your stay. As you said Saint-Tropez is wonderful also in shoulder season with nice weather and easy going way of life!!!
Château de la Messardière offers tranquility and conviviality.
The West indies room near by the swimming pool are very pleasant with great terrasse and I can understand that you can love this category.
We are waiting to welcome you soon again. Take care of you
Sincerely
Béatrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed at the Messardiere for only one night as part of our 8 days tour through Provence and the French Riviera. The Hotel is set in a beautiful landscape and the building is really impressive and very well decorated . The deluxe room we had was really large and comfortable with a huge terrase facing the gardens and the sea. The restaurant is very nice, serving both breakfast and dinner. The service during dinner was impecacle, although portions were tiny "french style" and expensive. The breakfast though was quite poor in selection. Overall, we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gidigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty M, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Mr Gidigo

We are very happy to have delighted you during your stay and thank you for sharing your feedback. We are very proud to have such a beautiful comment from such a Trip advisor member (since 2009) !!!!!

The Hotel has been right now totaly refurbished and we try every year to give more confort to our guests. Le Château de la Messardière is a little treasure where you can find tranquility and beauty.
So we will be happy to welcome you again in our lovely world!
Sincerely
Béatrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
152 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

The French Riviera is not known for their good manners and politeness with tourist, but this place is different. I stay here 2-3 night every year and had always a good experience, the service is excellent so is the food. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the place is marvelous. The only "con" is that it's a bit outside the town, but the shuttle service is available at any time, also when you go partying till late. One of the best in St.Tropez!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_Globe_Trottel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty M, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Chris

I wanted first of all to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback concerning your stay. To know your feelings about your stay is important for us in our evolution.
Le Château de la Messardière is already in itself a delight and I am really pleased to see that our team was able to share our friendliness, our quality of service and our good mood.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again among us with the greatest pleasure.
Sincerely
Béatrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

I just returned from 5 amazing nights at the Messardiere with my 2 children and we had a wonderful time thanks to the attentive and knowledgeable staff at the Messardiere. They were kind to everyone at all times and were able to point us in the right direction for restaurants and activities. Nothing was a problem and it was as close to "American style service with a smile" as I have ever seen anywhere in Europe. I would definitely return and would recommend this beautiful estate with a swan pond, trails, heated pool, etc to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mariam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty M, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Mariam

We are so delight to know that you and your children had a great experience at Château de la Messardière!
Smilling, listening to our guests to make them enjoy their stay with a nice and professionnal service is our priority.
Then to make you appreciate, discover the way of life of the Château and of the south of France is an other one. It is an easy going way. So, we are very happy to have shared all this with you and your family.
We do hope to welcome you again with real pleasure. Take care of you
Sincerely
Béatrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights during our month long honeymoon. Seven months later we're still talking about it. Saint Tropez is a magical place and Chateau De La Messardiere was perfectly fitting. The views, the decor, the breakfast, the staff--it was all perfect. We were personally greeted and congratulated on our recent nuptials, and even upgraded as a nice surprise. There is a shuttle that will take you to and from town which is very nice to have. It allows a fun night at Le Qaui...you either know what I'm talking about or you will soon find out! Thank you, Chateau, for making our experience so memorable!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty M, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Jonny
Thank you so much for your nice feedback concerning your stay in 2013.

We were glad to help you for your credit card . We usually try to be helpfull for everybody because our priority is to take care of our guests even beyond the ambit of the hotel.

We are delighted to know that our staff managed to enchant you. For our pleasure, you are right now Messardière addicts and St Tropez addicts too!!!
Take care of you waiting to welcome you soon.
Sincerely
Béatrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Tropez hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Cosy
Hotel Villa Cosy
#1 of 74 in Saint-Tropez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Residence de la Pinede
Hotel La Residence de la Pinede
#4 of 74 in Saint-Tropez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel de Paris Saint-Tropez
Hotel de Paris Saint-Tropez
#7 of 74 in Saint-Tropez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
#1 of 13 in Gassin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Byblos Saint Tropez
Hotel Byblos Saint Tropez
#5 of 74 in Saint-Tropez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Belrose Hotel
Villa Belrose Hotel
#2 of 13 in Gassin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau De La Messardiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau De La Messardiere

Property: Chateau De La Messardiere
Address: 2 route de Tahiti, 83990, Saint-Tropez, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Tropez
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Tropez
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint-Tropez
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Tropez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau De La Messardiere 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau de la Messardiere offers magnificent panoramic views over the Bay of Saint-Tropez, vineyards of Ramatuelle & beaches of Pampelonne. Just 3 minutes from the Sea & Saint-Tropez town centre, this authentic 19th-century castle, bordered by 25-acre grounds, is an exceptional vacation choice. Spa of 465m2, featuring products by Valmont and Cinq Mondes, combined with a fitness room and pool, jacuzzi, steam baths.118 Rooms have balconies or terrace. The hotel's gourmet 'Les Trois Saisons' restaurant specializes in refined Southern-style cuisine. << La Terrasse>> restaurant serves a range of sunny dishes and light cuisine by the poolside. More Mediterranean delights lie just few minutes away, with Tropezina beach plus the stunning, unspoiled landscapes of the Bay of Saint-Tropez and sparkling Var coast. A show of exclusive designer boutiques and luxury yachts awaits you in Saint-Tropez, coupled with all the charm of this authentic village and its Provencal market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chateau De La Messardiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Messardiere Hotel St-Tropez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing