We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau De La Messardiere
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Saint-Tropez
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not good enough”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We called the chateaux de la messardiere on the 8/06/13 to see if they had any rooms left not very expensive or fancy and we were informed from the reception that they had some rooms for us. At the very same night on that day we arrived at the hotel to book some rooms for a couple of days, we were impressed by the hotel and the welcoming of the doormen. But all that changed as we arrived at the reception desk and we talked with a woman that seemed to be the manager. As they informed us that day they had simple single rooms for us, that lady said they had only suites of 700euro per night!!! We said that we have been told there were still rooms for half the price, that lady insisted that they hadn’t and that they had only this…? and tried very hard to sell it which really bothered us! After that we left without buying any room…just someone has to take into consideration that the lady that is working at night is very rude and annoying and push the costumers away.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pedro s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
messardiere, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear sir

It is a pity that without having stayed in Château de la Messardière you had such a bad experience
The person in charged of the night shift told us that you wanted rooms connected, not far away. So our first category is the "small room" at 360 Euros, in another building, which are not connected.
So, she proposed you the "west indies room" near by the swimming pool at the rate of 720 euros (not suite).You asked to pay 360 Euros for the West indies rooms. It is not used to make such an important upgrade (4 categories)!!! We are sorry that you had the feeling people were rude because they did not give you the price you wanted. In spite of this, we hope you had a wonderful stay in Saint-Tropez.
Best regards
Béatrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    53
    26
    5
    4
See reviews for
47
231
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our grown daughter was living in Brussels for the year of 2012, so in April, my husband and I used that as an excuse to take off on a dream vacation with her. One stop along the way was 2 nights at Chateau DeLaMessadiere. We had our GPS or might never have found it, but what an amazing adventure awaited us. From the first moment of arrival through our entire stay, we were treated to such special service. Our daughter's birthday was the week before, and the concierge very kindly and surprisingly honored her with a chilled bottle of champagne waiting for her in our Jr. suite upon returning from our dinner in St. Tropez. We used the shuttle which was such a convenience. We loved our view, our lovely patio, and our great spacious room. Our daughter was able to lie by the pool and had the benefit of using her computer and phone to indulge in work! The pool---just lovely--with ornate shower and ladders. Lunch by the pool.
Just a beautiful get away from the touristy bustle and a place to relax. The spa/wellness center were perfect. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts there also. Hope one day we can do it again, but if not, our trip was one we still a year later are talking about.

Room Tip: We loved our Jr. Suite because it had a small private patio, large room, and ample seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goismiddlename
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
messardiere, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you so much to have taken time to make such nice comments. Everybody will appreciate because it is a source of enthusiasm and motivation.
The Messardière Team is always discreet, at your disposal to please you and to take care of you.
We are happy that your family spent lovely moments with us and we are waiting to welcome you again with pleasure.
Sincerely,
Béatrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

This amazing hotel has a commanding position at the top of a hill with sea views in several directions. More like a very grand private residence than a hotel, it is a stunning example of beautiful Italianate architecture. We visited the restaurant and sat at a table overlooking the bay and were treated to a wonderful meal with very attentive service. The fish dishes were intricate and very well designed, cooked and presented. The desert was excellent too. This is a special occasion and memorable restaurant that leaves you wanting to return. Save up first though! It is worth it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
messardiere, Responsable relations publiques at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Sir,
We appreciate your beautiful comments about your Messardière experience. We are very pleased that you had been able to feel the real atmosphere and spirit of this place.
To a beautiful decor join a warm, elegant service and a fine and generous cuisine.
The Messardière Teams thank you because beyond a satisfaction for us it is also a real encouragement.
We hope to welcome you in the future to delight you once again.
Best Regards
Béatrice
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were originally booked at another property in St. Tropez and received a call that the hotel was closing for the owner's wedding. We were re-booked at Chateau De La Messardiere and feel extremely fortunate for this turn of events. From the moment you arrivem the valet whisks your car away you feel as though you have stepped into another universe where everyone exists just to make your stay an oasis of calm. The rooms are beautiful with modern conveniences like automatic window shades, lighting and integrated technology. The pool area is magnificent, with sweeping views of the Bay of Pampelonne. But what sets the Le Messardiere apart was their attention to service. From the valet, to the front desk staff, to the concierge, everyone was helpful and warm. The 24 hour shuttle service to town and the beach is a thoughtful and convenient service. This hotel is not necessarily for the St. Tropez party set, but is an elegant and refined choice for those with discerning travel tastes.

Room Tip: Some standard rooms overlook the parking area. Upgrade to a junior suite for panoramic views of Pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrichcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
197 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

The swimming pool is not at 28 degrees, below 25 is more realistic (first week of September). The suite with view on the bay of St Tropez is not bad but the bed and matrass is not worth paying for. Coffee or tea making facilities are simply not there. Waking up with the sound of a high pressure cleaning machine is even less pleasant. Breakfast is a joke for some ham, cheese and bread. A
Scrabled eggs, or simply eggs are extra....Service, personnel is on the required level though, but nothing but normal. If I compare eg with the Club de Cavaliere Relais & Chateau, The Messardière needs updating...quickly because the 5 stars and the "palace" rating is not merited. If you are used to Four Seasons, Peninsulla even Sofitel and Pullman than you are in for a disappointment ...at the same price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kuni07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

With its view over the beaches of Pampelonne, the location is exceptional. The hotel park is lavish, the driveway to the reception is vast and the hotel is allowed to call itself "Palace" as of June 2012. Even though it was built in the 19th century it looks very recent and unfortunately the last interior designer hasn't been a genious. I have only visited the restaurant so I cannot make any comments abouit the rooms but the entry hall is more average than luxurious and the gourmet restaurant is sort of modern kitch in brownish and purple colours. The terrace on the other hand is gigantic!

But we came for dinner and there were a lot of surprises apart of the interior design. It was fully booked even though it was not really high season anymore and the menu prices are very moderate considering this to be a Leading Hotel of the World and the chef had a Michelin star in his previous engagement. So we went for the seven course menu which was a good choice. It had everything from goose liver to lobster to pigeon. The plates are not overloaded, the presentation is clean, the quality of the products is impeccable and the tempo was appropriate. The cheese selection is average but of good quality. The service is decent but needs some polishing. It is not helping if one says "no fish" when ordering and then fish is served as a pre-starter. The wine list is nicely balanced and the local wines are not too pricy. If you choose classics from Burgundy or Bordeaux you will have to double your budget.

This restaurant deserves a star and it will get it soon. So you better hurry and visit before that happens and prices will soar! Just take some blindfolds so your exquisite food experience won't be distracted by the interior.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STWVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our last hotel we stayed in France near the famous and brilliant village of St. Tropez.
A pearl set in a lush garden surrounded by hills that hide discrete villas and sea in the distance that shines with indescribable colors.
The restaurant was a great find every night, food varied and fresh, excellent service with the restaurant manager useful in explaining, delicious morning breakfast, sumptuous bar an environment full of charm and professionalism.
A special mention to the wellness centre with beautiful staff pamper you from start to finish
For sea lovers, a luxury destination not to be missed on the French Riviera.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregs1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Tropez hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Cosy
Hotel Villa Cosy
#2 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Residence de la Pinede
Hotel La Residence de la Pinede
#6 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel de Paris Saint-Tropez
Hotel de Paris Saint-Tropez
#7 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
#2 of 13 in Gassin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Byblos Saint Tropez
Hotel Byblos Saint Tropez
#4 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Bastide de Saint Tropez
La Bastide de Saint Tropez
#9 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau De La Messardiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau De La Messardiere

Property: Chateau De La Messardiere
Address: 2 route de Tahiti, 83990, Saint-Tropez, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Tropez
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint-Tropez
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Tropez
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Tropez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau De La Messardiere 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau de la Messardiere offers magnificent panoramic views over the Bay of Saint-Tropez, vineyards of Ramatuelle & beaches of Pampelonne. Just 3 minutes from the Sea & Saint-Tropez town centre, this authentic 19th-century castle, bordered by 25-acre grounds, is an exceptional vacation choice. Spa of 465m2, featuring products by Valmont and Cinq Mondes, combined with a fitness room and pool, jacuzzi, steam baths.118 Rooms have balconies or terrace. The hotel's gourmet 'Les Trois Saisons' restaurant specializes in refined Southern-style cuisine. << La Terrasse>> restaurant serves a range of sunny dishes and light cuisine by the poolside. More Mediterranean delights lie just few minutes away, with Tropezina beach plus the stunning, unspoiled landscapes of the Bay of Saint-Tropez and sparkling Var coast. A show of exclusive designer boutiques and luxury yachts awaits you in Saint-Tropez, coupled with all the charm of this authentic village and its Provencal market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chateau De La Messardiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Messardiere Hotel St-Tropez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing