We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Villa Mauresque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Villa Mauresque
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Saint-Raphael
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Just stayed for one night at this gem of a hotel.
The staff are most welcoming and dinner at night was one of the best meals ever, in an idyllic setting.
Right on the sea front with hotels own boats available and easy reach of the ferry to St. Tropez (summer months only, otherwise ferry is from st.maxine-40mins away. Both ports have easy parking at a cheap price.
The room was very well equipped and very comfortable, the only niggle was no 'turn down' service at night, apparently this is provided in the summer months only-otherwise our stay was perfect.
There is a tiny gym,sauna,and jacuzzi, together with two pools and superb gardens.
We have booked again for June!

Room Tip: The basic rooms are really good enough. The price jump to the superior rooms is a lot,but they are f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronald1350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    53
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
42
211
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The setting is as great as the property. We stayed in the area several times to visit friends, and strangely in this portion of the coast there are not so many seaside first class properties, at least maintened to high standards (last year we stayed in a now closed former palace - cannot find the name right now - that was actually crumbling, with service going down the hill as well..).
To be true, it does not compare to Ramsay's cuisine at Claridge's or Ducasse's at Plaza,but the dining experience was great in our opinion. I have just read a comment on the lack of variety but you could taste the effort to cook quality fresh food, so it should I believe meet the expectations of many guests. All in all, with the combination of some grandeur (high ceilings,at least in our room) and coziness (and a peaceful garden) this adress while expensive much more than others in the area, but not more than palaces of the southern coast, can be booked with confidence if you have to stay in this part of southern France.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simbar988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

A few days here is worth a few weeks elsewhere. We stayed in the Renoir room with magnificent high ceilings , your own hot tub by the sea after passing through just beautiful gardens. The best bit however is how well its run by its unceasingly helpful lady manager for whom every request is met by a kind smile and prompt courteous action. The staff are working happily as a very effective team and the guests all seem genuinely impressed. We have all stayed at other similar spectacular places but its the people that make the difference. This is different and well worth the visit. We had two rooms for three nights , loved it and will definitely be back. Well done Villa Mauresque

Room Tip: Renoir - just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank General S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cannes
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We visited Mauresque a few years back when it did not have a full restaurant and said at the time that was a great shame. Now it has one and the place is complete. We now have a house locally, so on this occasion we did not stay but went to celebrate my wife's birthday. I have read all the recent reviews and would like to say: Yes, it is very expensive and yes I have little time for places that charge top room rates and then add on items such as car parking (though you dont pay as a dinner guest). Incidentally, the parking area is small and a potential nightmare trying to get in and out. But, I defy anyone to find anywhere along this whole stretch of coast (and I now know it well) that offers a more enchanting setting for a special occasion. The staff were extremely pleasant, if at times a little confused (As I sat down, I got a glass of wine, though not my wife, which I had not ordered ) but the food was top quality (as it has to be at these prices). We had a full, orange moon, beautifully lit gardens and even the children having dinner on the terrace overlooking the sea were impeccably behaved! I suspect most of the guests were well-used to staying in such luxury and would not wince at the prices. For us, it was a very expensive night out but I have to say worth every single euro! Congratulations Villa Mauresque!

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank journeymancannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

While I can only agree with those reviewers who praised the setting of this hotel, the service was sadly nowhere near what I would expect for a hotel in this price range-over €350 a night. The basic problem is that there is no-one in a management role so the staff, while perfectly pleasant, are not really being directed in the basics of their role. So, bearing in mind the price, I do not think we should have had to wait ten minutes just to get coffee at breakfast, a boiled egg should not take 15 minutes to appear, I expect to be offered a drink while around the pool or in the garden and I expect to be able to communicate with the staff without difficulty. Despite my speaking both French and English, there were a number of occasions where the staff did not pick up what I was saying. Also, I did not expect the power to go off three times during our stay. Having stayed in the area many times, this is clearly a problem at the hotel rather than a network problem but it just should not be happening at a luxury hotel.

The other irritation was the lack of room service (except between 1400 and 1800) so if you do not want a formal sit down lunch, you have to go out of the hotel even for a basic snack. In addition, the evening menu did not seem to change at all during the week so while the chef may have a "Michelin background", the lack of variety was surprising.

I raised most of these comments with the staff before we left and to be fair to them, they acknowledged that service was not ideal and mentioned that they had been having problems at the management level. They offered a reimbursement of over 10% of the price of our stay which I felt was a very reasonable gesture.

It is all such a shame as the setting is fabulous and with a little more care and attention, they could have a first class hotel. Until the service is sorted out however, we would not recommend staying there.

Room Tip: Be aware that Shakespeare is immediately by the pool and the dining area so you will be right next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Waterlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa-Mauresque, Propriétaire at La Villa Mauresque, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Waterlawyer,

Thank you for your review, all your comments are most appreciated and we thank you for your compliments regarding the fabulous location and pleasant staff.
Your stay with us coincided with the short period during which the manager had to return urgently to his home town in Italy because of a very sad family event.
Under normal circumstances the hotel provides all day room-service and you should, of course, have been offered drinks while around the pool or in the garden.
The restaurant menu changes in accordance we the lovely fresh ingredients (vegetables, fruit, fish) that we so luckily have locally available. We shall ensure that there is more variety from one day to the next.
The hotel is also fortunate to have 5 restaurants in walking distance if you are to fancy a complete change of menu.
Staff at La Villa Mauresque are multilingual, French and English are not always the mother tongue but all staff speak French and English as a minimum but also German, Italian and Spanish.

I sincerely hope to welcome you back at the Villa Mauresque, I can reassure you that you would be able to enjoy the scenery as well as the service.

The owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massenbachhausen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

DIVINE ... I think it describes the wonderful scenery that I found to pass the green gates. It seems that we come to paradise with a romantic garden bathed by waters, calm and blue as the sky. Simply wonderful. Entering the villa it looked more like a castle ... classical decoration, ancient structure but renewed appearance and in the room half bottle of champagne, a basket of fruit and a loving sprig of flowers. The room was not very big but had a large private terrace containing a jacuzzi with wonderful view at the blue sky and sea. We felt cozy and we were still dazzled. When we went for dinner we found they have a spectacular restaurant, full of variety and taste almost unique ... We notice also that the caring staff were very attentive. After a wonderful day, we find the bed ready to sleep, and honey to sweeten the dreams ... I recommend to anyone who wants to live an unforgettable holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 954fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have just spent two nights at this amazing place. The welcome from Joanne the moment we arrived set the tone for our stay. The views are stunning...difficult to tear your eyes away from the view. We stayed in the Shakespeare junior suite (it was a special occasion) which was just lovely. The highlights have to be the views, the garden with lots of comfortable beds and seating and the friendly staff who made us feel so welcome. Yes, it is expensive but very special. We had dinner looking out over the sea...food was top class...pricey, but you have to eat there at least once. For a less formal meal there are a few restaurants within walking distance down the coast as you go left from the back of the hotel. We ate in a nice pizza restaurant first on left with tables placed on the sand and again a lovely view. The only criticism is reserved for the attitude of some of the other guests in the hotel who seemed to find it difficult to be friendly or even smile in such a beautiful place!! Overall, can't wait to go back sometime.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Raphael
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel La Marina
13.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Cosy
Hotel Villa Cosy
#1 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
8.3 mi away
Tiara Miramar Beach Hotel Et Spa
Tiara Miramar Beach Hotel Et Spa
#1 of 6 in Theoule sur Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Le Domaine de l’Esterel
Le Domaine de l’Esterel
#5 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.8 mi away
San Pedro
San Pedro
#8 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
19.6 mi away
Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Mauresque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Mauresque

Property: La Villa Mauresque
Address: 1792 route de la Corniche, 83700, Saint-Raphael, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Raphael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Raphael
#1 Family Hotel in Saint-Raphael
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Raphael
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Raphael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Villa Mauresque 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your La Villa Mauresque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Mauresque Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing