We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hotel Brise de Mer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Brise de Mer
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Saint-Raphael
Reviewed August 20, 2007

I stayed here with a friend at the beginning of August and was disappointed.

Rooms are in desperate need of a renovation,
Views of the sea are all interferred with by trees and buildings,
No Fridge in the rooms, even thou website says fully equipped
Plastic furniture on the balconys
Pool area is all run down, not like the photos at all

On the second night we wanted to chill a bottle of champange to drink on the balcony and we were told there was no ice.

The cleaner took our picnic cutlery and it could not be re found

At check in we were told there would be breakfast served on level 1, wasnt told it was for a charge of 11euro, we thought as they hadnet mentioned a charge it was part of the booking.
The second morning we couldnt even get a croissant or coffee but at check out was still charged.

There are much better hotels in the region for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Buffy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 376 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2006

We stayed at Brise de Mer for 2 nights at the end of Decemer 2006. The hotel is very close to the yacht marina (200 metres), but a bit far away from the centre and promenade of St. Raphael (app. 15 minutes walk).

The room was quite big and decorated in a very Scandinavian style. The room was clean and the bathroom was excellent. The balcony was rather small and a bit disappointing. We could see the sea from the balcony but mostly we saw the walls of the building next door; the building is built in a way that no rooms seem to have a perfect sea view. We did not want to sit in the balcony as it was not so nice.

The central heating system did not work the second night, and after calling to the reception at 10.30 p.m. they immediately brought a separate electrical heater to our room to keep us warm, which worked very well and showed good service.

The hotel has a covered swimming pool and a gym. The gym is quite big, but my very experienced husband told that the equipment was not that good, but seemed to be "fragile" and not for real work-out for strong men.

We did not eat at the hotel so we cannot comment on the food.

The signs to the hotel on the main street are only in French so be sure to understand what "1er droite" means! ;)

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finnish_female
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2006

Porto is a pleasant little resort, with lots of hotels and restaurants and a harbour and beach.

This hotel is good value for a small ensuite room with a balcony and superb view. Most of the rooms probably have a sea view of some sort, although we looked southwards across the river and bathing beach to the mountains beyond.

Breakfast was the only real disappointment, being one cup of coffee and a limited amount of bread for 7 euros. Frustratingly they insist on serving it on the front terrace overlooking the street rather than on the dining balcony with sea views. Also frustratingly they insisted on serving it outside in unsettled weather and then shifting all the tables around to get everyone under the canopies!

We did not try their evening menu because there are so many other restaurants nearby.

There is no private parking. In May, we managed to park right outside but there would be more competition for space in high season.

Stayed: June 2006
1  Thank RDH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2006

Nice hotel , quiet , staff excellent , food better value to be had elsewhere , could not distinguish any difference between normal room and preferential room , 10 mins walk from centre of town , 5 mins from new marina with shops and restaurants .
A nice place if you just want somewhere quiet with no pressures or noise .
Would return again .

Thank quirkyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
North Yorkshire, England
328
Reviewed August 10, 2005

Travelling around the Cote D'Azure in July/August can be a nightmare, so we were hoping for a quiet few days in St Raphael - which was exactly what we got. The room was large, quiet and modern with a nice bathroom and balcony.The pool area was pleasant with plenty of space. The breakfasts were substantial, but the sole member of staff on duty was certainly kept busy by some more demanding German guests! We definetly got the location right. St Raphael itself is lovely, a nice marina and beach and some good bars and restaurants, especially if you go slightly back from the seafront. The mistake we made was to keep walking. You end up in the ajoining town of Frejus. It was awful. Just like Magaluf or Benidorm! Very busy, tacky and loud. We did not walk back that way again. We managed to park for free on a quiet road right outside the hotel, so would not recommend the 12 euro per day hotel car park. Otherwise, a great choice all round.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: dernier etages et vue mer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serge I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: vue sur mer et port au 4eme étage + Frigo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marcel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Raphael hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel La Marina
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#9 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Beau Sejour
Hotel Le Beau Sejour
#11 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Najeti Hotel Valescure
Najeti Hotel Valescure
#12 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#19 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Lucia
Hotel Santa Lucia
#6 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brise de Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brise de Mer

Address: 45 avenue du Touring Club, 83700, Saint-Raphael, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Raphael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Raphael
Price Range: $98 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brise de Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Brise de Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brise De Mer Hotel
Brise De Mer St Raphaël

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing