We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent helpful hosts - super clean with perfect details”
Review of Hotel du Soleil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Soleil
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Saint-Raphael
Certificate of Excellence
Syosset, NY
Level Contributor
243 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent helpful hosts - super clean with perfect details”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is convieniently located an easy walk up from the port and all its restaurants (and self-laundromat!) It is brightly colored and in top shape, has very practically designed plentiful parking and security.

The breakfast room is charming though we had a nice custom breakfast right on the stone porch in the sunshine. In the room the details were so perfect - plenty of outlets for the gadget- obsessed (us), excellent and varied lighting, nice mats and towels in the bathroom, extremely clean shower and linens, several extra soft clean inviting blankets, quiet residential safe area. Very home-like feel, meant in the best way possible.

The hosts speak great English, though from Sweden (impressive to me, in France). This helped us with routing questions (the water route from St Raphael to Nice, bypassing Cannes festival traffic) and especially when I had an eye problem and needed a doctor. Our host carefully directed me to a faithful doctor right up the street (Host: in case you are wondering - we are home now and it all worked out OK).

I very much recommend this porpoerty, Also they has several bicycles which we meant to use, but didn't get the chance. I would be very happy staying here a week on another trip - it woudl work out very well.

Room Tip: It is a quiet location - I don't think location matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueSyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    54
    14
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
78
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arceau, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed in the hotel three nights with our teenage children. Finding the hotel was difficult, for the first time I wished I had a navigator! The rooms are quite small and the bathrooms are tiny. Beds are very comfortable and the bedding is nice. Owners are very helpful and bend backwards to meet your requests. Breakfast was a continental plus: no cooked dishes but boiled egg, youghurt, cheese etc. Having a car is almost a must, as the hotel is a fair distance off the centre and the beaches.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank migrantworker62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Ben and Lena offered us a warm welcome when we arrived in English, French or various Scandinavian languages. Were very resourceful and happy to provide information and recommendations on things to do, as well as assistance where required. I was very impressed. In addition, they offer a nice full breakfast on their shaded front terrace, and had available beach mats, chairs that we could borrow for the day and the location has ample parking which is convenient for road trips you may want to do, using their hotel as a hub.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tnk065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ningbo, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We booked 5 nights at this hotel and we are glad to found it.
The hotel is located closed to Saint-Raphaël city center, which is a beautifull city of The côte d'Azur. You can reach the city or the first beach by 15 minutes walk.
The owner, Ben and Lena provide free Bicycle (Holland style) and free beach umbrella, mat and towel. The service is excellent, given with the smile, the best I got in Hotel.
Moreover, the hotel is clean, bed comfortable. If you have a car, the parking is free, sometime to small but Ben arrange the space then close the gate during te night for safety.
Well I recommanded this hotel if you want to visit south of France !

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxou44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent four nights at Hotel du Soleil and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Ben and Lena are a lovely couple who treated us as though we were family. They were kind, helpful and generous with their time. The hotel is small and quiet, but it offered us everything we needed. Even though our room was very small, it was well appointed and was very clean and comfortable.We enjoyed the 15 minute walk to the harbour where there were many restaurants to choose from. All in all, a wonderful place to begin our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahA8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We spent two nights in this wonderful, small, family run hotel in St Raphael on a recent trip to the Cote d'Azur. We arrived by train and walked to the hotel, approximately 20 mins from the station mostly uphill but fairly straightforward to find with a handy map printed out from Google. The pedestrian streets didn't really lend themselves to us dragging our suitcases along them though, with lots of obstacles (namely dog poo!) and a lack of pavements to negotitate, but that's France I suppose!

We were met at the hotel at about 8pm by Ben, who was quickly happy to speak to us in English as being Scandanavian his french isn't that great (although I'm sure it's better than ours!). He informed us we'd been allocated to one of the studios in a separate building, behind the main hotel. The main hotel was full at the time with scientists attending a conference in the town. He was apologetic as the studios are normally given to guests staying for longer than a few nights as they are basically a small holiday chalet with kitchen area, sofa and outdoor patio with table and chairs. The bedroom is on a mezzanine upstairs, up a fairly steep wooden staircase not suitable for young children. The accommodation was fairly basic but all our needs were catered for, apart from the lack of toilet roll as Ben explained people staying in the studio usually provide their own! As we were in affect guests of the main hotel, they were happy to oblige and provide us with extra toilet roll. Ben advised us where we could go for dinner that evening and drew the route for us to follow on a map of the town.

We took breakfast at the main hotel in the morning (not the done thing for guests in the studios from what I could gather, but it was not a problem for Lena). Guests are provided with a brekfast tray complete with croissant and bread, butter, jam, cheese spread, nutella, yogurt, fruit pot and orange juice, with coffee alongside. Although there was no choice, the selection provided was more than adequate. Wifi is available in the main hotel but this disn't work out in the studios.

For our second evening at the hotel we took advantage of the kitchen facilites and utensils and decided to have a basic meal outside in our patio area. This made a welcome change to the formality of dining out all the time. We made use of the Casino supermarket just across the road from the hotel and the excellent boulangerie called Moulin de Paiou. This was so popular with locals when we collected some bread in the evening and it was lovely to have a freshly baked baguette.

When we came to leave we asked Ben to arrange a taxi for us to take us to the station but instead he insisted on dropping us there himself. He said he often does this if he is at home as they know that the station is quite a walk for their guests who don't come by car. He also seemed put out that we hadn't rung to be collected from the station when we had arrived in St Raphael two days previously!! When he dropped us at the station it was almost as if we were friends rather than hotel guests. Personal service like this and people going the extra mile really makes you remember a place and is so refreshing after some of the soul-less places that we have stayed in cities before.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This was the second time we stayed at hotel Du Soleil, but the first time while Lena and Ben are the owners. Even before we got there they were very helpful in answering our queries via email. Hospitality and service are two keywords. From the moment we arrived they went out of their way to make us feel at home and to look after us.
We had a room with a little balcony and a newly renovated bathroom on the first floor. Nice comfortable beds which are actually long enough for tall people ;-).
Breakfast of course has a French influence, but all the European needs are catered for. Be it meat, cheese, boiled egg or sweet spread.
The hotel is situated in a quiet residential area, a 20 minute walk (uphill) from the boulevard. Here are a lot of restaurants and bars. There are also beaches and beach clubs where you can rent comfy chairs and umbrellas. If you don't want a fancy beach club to lay on the beach, it's only a 10-15 minute walk to the beach.
If you want a family run, cozy, comfortable hotel in the South of France this one is definitely one to go for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norwichgirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Raphael hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel La Marina
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Lucia
Hotel Santa Lucia
#4 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
180 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Villa Mauresque
La Villa Mauresque
#1 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
San Pedro
San Pedro
#7 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
319 reviews
2.1 mi away
Garrigae le Domaine de L'Esterel
Garrigae le Domaine de L'Esterel
#3 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le 21 Hotel
Le 21 Hotel
#14 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Soleil

Property: Hotel du Soleil
Address: 47 boulevard Domaine du Soleil, 83700, Saint-Raphael, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Raphael
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Saint-Raphael
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Raphael
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Raphael
#4 Family Hotel in Saint-Raphael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Soleil 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel du Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Soleil Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing