We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT WHAT WE EXPECTED”
Review of Le Thimotee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Thimotee
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Saint-Raphael
Certificate of Excellence
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“NOT WHAT WE EXPECTED”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Tend to agree with previous review. Pictures are very misleading and the facilities are poor - not even a kettle in the room. Furnishings are very tired, the whole place looks unkempt. Not at all what we were led to expect. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone and it doesn't provide value for money

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penelope111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    30
    7
    11
    3
See reviews for
11
48
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dollar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Stayed here with my wife a while ago now, so I presume it it still being run by the same gay couple. Upon our arrival, we were led into the reception area which was clearly part of their home which is what one would expect, but I found his demeanour rather off putting, and soon after took a disliking. This initial response was further solidifed when (I forget his name) he would often stand and just stare when we were in the pool. At first we thought it may have been due to our noise, which would have been absurd as we were just having fun, being on holiday and all! our friends also found him rather creepy. All in all we enjoyed our stay but tbh I was glad to get away, esp from him.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happychappy1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We found the hotel by using Tripadvisor, and it was a really great find. Valeri and Bruno were perfect host, and made us most welcome. Our room had a lovely view of St Raphael , although not all rooms have one, but it's a great location, although you needs car as its out of town. Breakfast was a little on the pricey side, but really good. slight problem was Wi Fi not that good, but over all it's a great place. we will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicsibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This hotel was recommended in our French travel guide so we decided to take the chance. We were pleasantly surprised by this Le Thimotee as it really felt more like a BnB than a two star hotel. It's a family run business so it has a very warm feeling to it. Our room was very clean, the bathroom were renovated recently, free wifi, and an amazing view! We decided to get the breakfast, which was a real French treat! Croissants, toasts, yogurt, orange juice, etc. Would absolutely go back!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBworldtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

We stayed for a full week in one of the studios of the hotel with the intention of using the place as a base for doing several trips in the region of Provence. We chose St-Raphael because it was on the sea and close to the various cities and locations we wanted to visit.

In total this was an average place, priced competitively for what it was offering. The studio was quite comfortable, with good cooking facilities (fridge/microwave/dishwasher). The bed was just ok. There were also two bunk beds that would be great for a family and it would make the price extremely good value. Its location although great for us for our purpose would be average for someone wanting to spend a lot of time in St-Raphael as it was a 30-35 mins fast walk away from the city centre. For older people this would mean needing to take the car. The hotel has a small pool which is nice to relax in. We had no breakfast so no info on this.

The only negative that we felt was the lack of service. This was not because the people were bad, on the contrary they were very polite and friendly. There was no cleaning service during the full one week, which we did not expect (probably we did not read the small print). We found the studio very clean but within a week we felt that it had become very dirty. With no cleaning service there was no resupply for other things like new bed sheets, new toiletries, new towels. When we asked for some new towels we had an extra small charge. In addition there was no room service (expected for a 2 star hotel).

Despite the above we would recommend the place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisChrysostalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

I think the place is a converted manor house, with some free standing accommodation alongside. We are offered a choice of either for the base rate (65 euro) but the room on the top floor was largest. The owner helped us upstairs with our bags and pointed out features of the view from the window.

Bathroom was recently renovated and there were the nice touches you don't normally get in 2-star hotels like new towels in a basket with shampoo and soap, and a mini-bar fridge. Plenty of cupboard space, I can't remember if there was a safe but the hotel would not be a target anyway.

The garden is a nice place to relax in the sun if you are spending more time here. Swimming pool looked nice but too cold to go in. There are probably a dozen rooms all up, but we never saw any guests coming or going (three cars in the car park, so you will find space!) The owners are a couple that live on-site, so they take a real interest in their guests but are not overbearing. I think the longer you stay there the more you would like the place.

The only drawback is the location, which others have noted. I am a good walker and it is 20 minutes from the port of St Raphael back to the hotel. There is a take away/delivery pizzeria just down from the hotel (near the pharmacy, you will see the sign) but otherwise no food options in immediate vicinity. Overall this was the best value hotel we stayed in throughout the provence and Cote d'Azur region.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drinky_canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2008

This hotel is almost perfect - we stayed here for 4 nights, and were made to feel like freinds of Jaen-Claude and Phillipe, not as paying guests. It was as though we had ever been there before, but were made to feel so welcome - but not in an obtrusive over-the-top sort of way.
The only things that I can find to say against the Hotel are no fault of the owners - these are all to do with the location - it is about 20 minutes walk - uphill - out of the town, further than it appears on the map, and the hotel is on a fairly busy road, which means that the garden gets quite noisy.
The garden is where you have breakfast, a very relaxing affair, in the front of this 19 century villa .
The room we had was air conditioned, but also has a real opening window overlooking the pool, which is a modest size, very clean, with a few sun-beds.
There are 15 (I think) rooms with a few self-catering apartments. There is no lift, which might be an issue for some people. There are no tea making facilities in the room, but there is a fridge / minibar stocked with reasonably priced cans of soft drinks / beer. This small hotel is very popular with all nationalities and Jean-Claude speaks excellent English.
Although there were children staying there, I am not sure that this would be suitable for all youngsters.

  • Liked — Freindliness
  • Disliked — Being at the top of a hill
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Millimole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Raphael hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#6 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#16 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel le Virevent
Hotel le Virevent
#32 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Lucia
Hotel Santa Lucia
#4 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Provencal
Hotel Provencal
#19 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le 21 Hotel
Le 21 Hotel
#11 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Thimotee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Thimotee

Property: Le Thimotee
Address: 375 boulevard Christian Lafon, 83700, Saint-Raphael, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Raphael
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Saint-Raphael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Thimotee 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Thimotee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Thimotee St Raphaël

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing