We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough but a bit pricey”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Saint-Raphael
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We booked after a recommendation, true enough the rooms were very comfortable and the views amazing, we had booked a prestige with sea view. For the price though not to have breakfast included is very poor, air con didn't work, and we were woken up both morning very early 7am by a crane right outside our window working on hotel, and following morning by road sweeper. St Raphael it's self is lovely, maybe we'll try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notsofussyeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excel83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dears,
Many thanks for sending your opinion about your stay at the Excelsior.
Please accept all our apologies about works we absolutly had to do on the roof, because of air conditionned technical problem; i am really sorry your slept has been disturbed.
Anyway, the average temperature of may doesn't allow operating cooling system.
I sincerely hope you will come back in Saint Raphaël and at the Excelsior; we will do our best to get your satisfaction and to leave you a pleasant memory.
Looking forward to welcoming you again !
Carinne
Booking Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 170 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

With no reservations, we took the chance to register mid-week. The very helpful receptionist, Zuny, welcomed us and was helpful throughout our stay when we had questions. The room was adequate and well-located. However, the restaurant staff ignored us. The breakfast was included, but the single server was haughty. We also entered for dinner where the maître 'd also ignored us while fawning over other patrons.

Room Tip: Saw neither a pool nor fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beverlylebanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excel83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dears,
Many thanks for taking the time to write your opinion about your stay at the Excelsior.
We are really sorry about your last bad impression and we will do our best to regulize this situation with our staff.
Please, accept all our apologies.
We are looking forward to seing you again !
Best regards
Carinne
Booking Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We took a room with sea view. The room was ok for a three star,but no hanging shower. You have to hold the shower head which was kind of a bummer. We didnt take breakfast,but the room was still pricey. The male evening/afternoon staff were very friendly and helpful.. we were happy, but maybe could have gotten a better hotel in cannes for the price. Nxt time looking for a hotel with a pool! Great location super close to the beach and only 2 min walk from the train station.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excel83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Madam,
Many thanks for coming at the Excelsior hotel and for taking time to send a comment about your stay.
We are always trying to do our best to see you satisfied and we will keep on doing it.
Looking forward to your next stay !
Best regards
Carinne
Booking Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed at the Excelsior for 4 nights in early May. The hotel details state that bedrooms are air conditioned and had this not been the case we would not have booked here. However despite temperatures in the mid to high 20s throughout our stay we were informed by Reception that the aircon would not be available until late May/June. It was suggested that we should "open the window". This had little cooling effect and outside noise from traffic and homegoing revellers, not to mention distant "Ibiza" style music, made it impossible to sleep until well into the early hours; only to be woken at 5.30 am by refuse collectors. Tolerance of the heat was not helped by the shower being only of the over bath, hand-held variety with no shower curtain. The resultant discomfort spoilt the holiday and as a result we will never return to this hotel and cannot recommend it. As mentioned in other reviews breakfast is particularly poor value for money being very expensive and with very little choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excel83700, Directeur général at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Dear Sir,
In early Spring and late Fall, the daily temperature in our region can vary significantly due to the changeable Mediterranean climate. Therefore at times it is difficult to predict when to operate our central air-conditioning system.

Regrettably you had an unfortunate experience during your stay but we would like to comment that one of the issues you raised about the noise of the traffic and homeward-bound revellers is not our direct responsibility but due to our central location on the beach front in the heart of Saint Raphael and close to a number of late night opening venues.

We appreciate you mentioning several other minor points which we are in the process of rectifying.

We sincerely hope that you will not retain a poor impression of our town or our hotel, especially as we strive to constantly offer our guests the highest levels of customer service.

If your future travel plans include a return visit to Saint Raphael, please let us know in advance. We promise to do our utmost to ensure that your stay will be a very enjoyable and comfortable one.
David Courjon
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We had lunch on the Excelsior terrace last November and suddenly it hit us. We live in Fayence and we have been going to the Excelsior for twelve years but I haven't written a review. Why? Age, laziness, are factors but probably it is because we have become so accustomed to great meals and wonderful service that routine, happy routine, set in. We eat inside during inclement weather and outside on the terrace when ever we can. Lunches are our favorite because we combine either shopping or doctor's visit with lunch. Our meals become the highlight of our day. They have an excellent menu with FRESH ingredients. During lunch they offer a daily menu and you can pick-and-choose or there are a variety of set menus. House wines, unlike so many clip joints on the coast, are excellent in value, quality and quantity. Service is a cult. You are met with smiles and courtesy. We are particularly fond of their fish dishes. Quite often they are steamed, the sauces are light, and a small medley of fresh seasonal vegetables complete the plate. During the winter I succumb to their steak tartare which is seasoned to my exacting standards. It may be cold outside but in the restaurant looking out over the Med, a nice glass of Cotes de Provence red and a large tartare, life is very good indeed. How many times have we eaten at the Excelsior? Somewhere between 30 - 40 times and we are going back next week for lunch. Whitebeard83

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Whitebeard83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Firstly, the location really is superb, right on the sea front with a gorgeous sun terrace where you can watch the world go by. The building in itself is charming and the rooms fairly recently furnished to a good standard. Ours had a great sea view. Breakfast simply done, but what can beat freshly baked croissant in the morning whilst gazing out at the Med on a sunny morning!

These days, coming to this part of the world is not cheap for us Brits , but this place represents reasonable value.

The staff were attentative and friendly, the food excellent. Go for the daily specials, fish especially, superb. Although the rest of the menu looked great, did not have time to try everything but judging by the popularity of the place among locals, it must be good. The only problem I found was the table service when you are thirsty after a hot day out in the sun, the majority of the time it was great but at peak times you can expect to wait a little. Mind you probably did me no harm!

Anyway I will have to return some time to try more.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyswale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Sea view - at an angle and not much then

Aircon - useless - room very hot - complaining (politely) got me no where.

Hotel very tired - rooms Very small - no tea or coffee making facilities

Looks grand from outside but barely a three star,

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank nzlbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Raphael hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel La Marina
0.2 mi away
Unique Hotel & Residence
Unique Hotel & Residence
#3 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#7 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
San Pedro
San Pedro
#16 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
338 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Villa Mauresque
La Villa Mauresque
#1 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Beau Sejour
Hotel Le Beau Sejour
#8 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: Promenade Rene Coty | Promenade René Coty, 83700, Saint-Raphael, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Raphael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Raphael
Price Range: $119 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saint Raphael is a lively and charming town situated between Cannes and Saint Tropez, on the Mediterranean coastline, with a nice sandy beach, port lined with pretty cafes and restaurants and a bustling center with shops and bars. The family run Hotel Excelsior enjoys an excellent situation on the sea front promenade, beside the Casino and a stone-throw from the sandy beach. It is an ideal base from which to explore Provence by car or by the excellent train system which runs through Saint Raphael. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel St Raphaël

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing