We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Continental(Saint-Raphael)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Le Beau Sejour(Saint-Raphael)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Nouvel Hotel(Saint-Raphael)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Le 21 Hotel(Saint-Raphael)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel de France(Saint-Raphael)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Provencal(Saint-Raphael)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel de Flore(Saint-Raphael)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveler rating
46
82
28
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
82
28
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationsea frontlemon festivalopposite the beachhand held showersteak tartaredouble aspectover christmasenjoyable stayst tropeznice bathroomcomfortable bedscroissantsdiamondtgvrailfrance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 173 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We love it here, at this hotel and in Saint Raphael but that's because it is not as touristy as surrounding St Tropez and Cannes. And also because we got engaged here on the carousel just on the beach in front of the hotel, so its special for us. The hotel provides everything you need and is very well located. The city view rooms are quite cosy (small) and clean. The sea view rooms are more spacious, perfect for a couple with lots of luggage and definitely worth the extra 20 euros. The staff are very accommodating and friendly. Part of the hotel is being slightly refurbished from what we see. The new paint colour certainly gives a more modern feel but still keeps its semi art deco/traditional french decor. The only negatives are the carpets, the absence of shower head in the right spot (very hard to have a shower or wash hair with one hand holding nozzle) and no English channels on tv. Overall, it's a great hotel and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Pay 20eur extra to get the seaview room-Its bigger
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

The Excelsior is a charming old-fashioned hotel, in a charming old-fashioned resort. The reception is cramped, the corridors rather grim... but book a Premium room with direct view over the sea and you will have a wonderful sense of this gentle, relaxed resort.

Staff are friendly and helpful and breakfast on the terrace is simple but sufficient.

Our room had a double aspect with loads of light, (compensating for the gloomy 70's bathroom), and was amazingly quiet (could even sleep with the windows open!).

This is certainly not a luxurious hotel, but it is a very amiable place to stay in a very enagaging town.

PS Make sure that you visit the 12th century church and museum. Fascinating, and very little visited by tourists.

Room Tip: Request full sea-view when booking
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorinthianLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We (two couples, each w a teenager) arrived after a long drive and took two triple rooms (that we booked in advance).
The rooms were very clean and comfortable (including matresses) and we were happy to use L'Occitane products in the bathroom.
The location was superb. Right across the atreet from the beach.
Breakfast was bery generous and the table was overlooking the lovely beach.
As mentioned in previous reviews- it isn't great to wake up by thenearby church bells that start up at 7:30am.
There's no parking available at the hotel but a few minutes walk away is the Bonaparte Parking Garage.
We only stayed for one night, but it was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yifat_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

The hotel it's self isn't bad but not for this money. Room are small with rusted handrails behind the window and what left us more shocked were the plastic cups which we had to use to drink champagne on the first night of our stay. As well as they charge extra 5euro for the room service , expensive laundry etc...

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valentyna12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

The mattresses in this hotel are shot and the management knows it. Each morning you see the maids walking around with boards from room to room, trying to ameliorate guests who complain. The boards are of no use -- the mattresses are simply unusable. So while the hotel had a recent "renovation", they didn't seem to be willing to invest in sleepable mattresses. We checked out of our scheduled 4 night stay after 1 night, although mgt. originally wanted to charge us for the full reseervation (utlimately they did not). I would not recommend this hotel until they get new mattresses.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ExpTraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews