We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality Italian restaurant in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Roma

La Roma
Ranked #26 of 234 Restaurants in Saint-Raphael
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good quality Italian restaurant in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

It is around seven years since we last spent time in Frejus / St. Raphael and many of the restaurants we knew are no longer around.

Couple this with the obvious investment and development that is going on along the Frejus / St. Raphael promenade, and the number and variety of different places to eat in the areas, and choosing somewhere to eat felt pretty complicated.

We eventually settled on the Roma which appeared to be one of the largest and busiest restaurants in the area but, based on our experience, this should not put anyone off.

The tables are well-spaced, the service was prompt and friendly and the pizzas that we ordered - a Regina and a Calabrese - we're excellent.

The place had a nice buzz about it, lively without being raucous and the location, looking out over the old port and the beach, is lovely.

If you are looking for a sophisticated French menu then the Roma is not for you; however, if you are looking for good quality Italian food, served well in a friendly yet "buzzy" atmosphere and at very reasonable prices then it is highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SnaithviaCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    342
    127
    47
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth the queue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We once made the mistake of walking past here because it was full and had a dreadful meal further along the promenade. However, we queued for a table another night and there is a reason for the queue. Great pizzas, great atmosphere and good value.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hertfordshirebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
750 reviews
608 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

On this visit I was with my son. We were here for lunch on Sunday 23rd March 2014. Although out of the main season the restaurant was full but we only waited 5 minutes for a table. We both had Pizza, Capricciosa €12.90 and Calzone €12.50. Both Pizza were perfect and the hot sauce was hot. A 50cl Pichet of the house rosè was €6.20. The food, service and presentation were great.
A busy, noisy restaurant but with waiters who appear very happy in their work and are very good at it.
As the title says "Never Dissapoints" and the Roma does not.
We will return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gfplux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leura, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant for casual dining on front in St Raphael, good food, fast service, we went twice while there.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

When you walk the waterfront at St Raphael there are so many restaurants to choose from. From bistros to fast food places. We settled on La Roma, an Italian restaurant, with plenty of outside tables to enjoy people watching, and the views across the esplanade. Plenty of choice for us and my 9yr old boy. Service was good, food arrived promptly, and was very tasty, good value. We enjoyed it so much we ended up eating there twice during our stay in the area. It has great atmosphere, good food at a reasonable price. It was packed both nights, with people queuing to get in, whereas other restaurants were half empty. Not really a special occasion restaurant, and not french food, but would recommend all the same.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shebe43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awsome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Was absoloutley delicious the food... very impresed with the service also, the personal very friendley.. I will go back there thats sure.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catalin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Roma also viewed

Saint-Raphael, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Frejus, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Saint-Raphael, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Saint-Raphael, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Saint-Raphael, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Saint-Raphael, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing