We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”
Review of La Menara

La Menara
Ranked #9 of 253 Restaurants in Saint-Raphael
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $35
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Menara is a Moroccan restaurant, open for lunch Thursday , Friday , Saturday and Sunday . In the evening we welcome you from Tuesday to Saturday from 19:30 . We serve couscous and tagines prepared in the purest Moroccan tradition. We can prepare your take-out order , half day in advance. Reservation highly recommended.
London, Canada
2 reviews
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We attended this restaurant based on Trip advisor and it lived up to its review! The food was tasty and filling. I had the couscous with lamb which was very tender with a sauce that was tasty, although I expected a bit more spice (my first Moroccan meal). My wife ordered the tangine with chicken which was very soft with great spices. In both cases there was a lot of food! We also had the mint tea, very good. However, it was the personal service that really made the experience. The owner was attentive and very friendly. I would highly recommend this for not only great Moroccan food but for the great service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    39
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mighty Moroccan”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This little gem of a restaurant is tucked away close to the church near the harbour. We looked it up on trip advisor and am so glad we did.Both of us shared a couple of bottles of Moroccan wine (distinctive!), and an amazing tagine of Lamb and prunes with the best couscous we have ever tried. Everyone needs to experience a meal like this at least once in your life!!
Book yourself a table.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eddiegoldstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“best couscous in town”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have just sampled another excellent meal. best to reserve on a Saturday night and if you an plan little ahead, it is worth ordering grillades in advance.
Always cooked perfectly and served with a smile.
We annotate wait to go back.
thank you

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UKguest_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cheerful Enjoyment & Cous-cous Too!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Tucked near the Catholic Church in the old part of St. Raphael is La Menara. It's where locals go for superior North African cuisine. (When we went, there was a priest in the party at the next table -- they know good food.) We all ordered cous-cous (so I can't say what the other food tastes like), and it came family style. We also ordered the side portions (1 euro each) of raisins with grilled onions, which is a must. We took a big chance in ordering the Moroccan red wine (Moslem alcohol!?!) after the owner's husband assured us it was the same mix of cabernet sauvignon and merlot as in Bordeaux wines. It was not quite Bordeaux, but it was decent and went well with cous-cous. The desserts, though tasty, were quite small.
Notwithstanding, the ambiance was perfect, and even with alcohol, tea, and dessert, it was less than 25 euros/person for the four of us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DC-Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareoult, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best couscous around...”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have been there twice in the past six months, with an old friend who adores couscous: he is a "pied noir", ie his family lived in Algeria where he acquired his taste for couscous. The owner is in fact the cook herself, her husband is a former professor (of philosophy) now retired, and does the welcoming and service with a smile.
According to my friend's expert advice, her couscous is the best he has had for a long time, and I cannot but agree with him. Even the harissa (hot sauce) is homemade and delicious... We had a mix of lamb, brochettes (ordered the day before), meat balls and chicken, and we barely managed to finish it all ! None of us were hungry after that, and the dinner in the evening was a very light one indeed...
With one bottle of an excellent marocan rose wine, some biscuits and coffe, the weal costed a round 100 € for the three of us, which I find was very reasonable.
Must return and test the tajines next time !

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hamakman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Menara also viewed

Saint-Raphael, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Saint-Raphael, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Saint-Raphael, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Saint-Raphael, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Frejus, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Saint-Raphael, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Menara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing