We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in provincial France”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in provincial France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We loved spending 4 nights at Le Mas de Pierre. Our intention was to come to the south of France to relax and unwind. This is a great hotel to do a little R&R! We were instantly impressed when shown our room. The large covered and very private balcony was overlooking the pool and French provincial countryside. The bedroom and bathroom were very large and nicely appointed.

The grounds of the hotel and the facilities for guests are great. The garden is well manicured and contains fruit trees, vegetables, herbs, roses, lavender and all sorts of lovely plants. There are some really great sculptures dotted throughout. There are also doves in a large cage which fly freely around the garden during the day. It's lovely to see them basking in the sun! The heated pool is fab and the best part is the spa/sauna/steam/hamam facilities that are of no extra cost. Go to the fitness center and head downstairs to find the sauna, steam room and hamam for maximum relaxation and maximum luxury!

The food at the restuarant, La Table de Pierre was definitely fine dining. The best and most consistently impressive food I tasted in France. The meals were expensive, but deservingly so.

We had 2 downsides to share about our stay here.
The first was that our 'king-sized' bed was just 2 single mattresses pushed together. We were informed that all the king beds in the hotel are like this after we asked about it at reception. I don't really think that's very 5 star. Other 5 star hotels in France have king sized mattresses and I was expecting the same at Le Mas de Pierre.

The other annoyance was that there is only ONE restaurant at this hotel. We were led to believe that there is a fine dining restaurant, and a bistro. The website and recorded answering machine message both indicated a second eatery, but when we arrived we asked about the bistro only to be told it no longer exists. That means you are forced to eat at the the expensive fine dining restaurant, as the nearest restaurants in the town of St-Paul de Vence are a 25 minute walk uphill. We ordered room service on 2 nights so as not to spend too much money in the restaurant, and also the menu at the restaurant is quite small and could become repetitive if you eat there every night of your stay.

That being said the room service menu was very good, and the food delivered to the room was very nice. We also ordered room service for breakfast every morning, as it costs the same amount as having it in the dining room. Having a large balcony overlooking the French countryside as a dining room suited us much better! The breakfast delivered was delicious and comes highly recommended from us!

Overall I would recommend this hotel to others who are seeking a quiet place to relax in the French countryside and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooglepuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    138
    36
    21
    7
See reviews for
91
330
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were 11 persons there; it was a kind of incentive trip. I travel a lot and stayed at different hotels of 4-5*. I thought that I could not be surprised with hotels any more - I stayed at very nice hotels of high class... But when I arrived to Le Mas de Pierre Hotel - I thought that I am in paradise.... Not typical hotel.... territory is quite big, very green, mostly all rooms have their own garden with a table and chairs....Very quiet, amazing air.... service is excellent.... rooms are very clean and very special....Breakfast was also perfect... we were leaving very early and everybody got a bag with breakfast...You feel care in a very small detail....Just want to THANK the management and everybody who creates the general special atmosphere!

Room Tip: I stayed at room 604 - everything was perfect - inside and ourside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Although not within walking distance of St Paul de Vence this is a lovely hotel and well worth a stay. Staff very helpful and arranged a great mercedes hire car at short notice after our hire car broke down. The Pool is relaxing and food exceptional. A return visit is definitely on the cards.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

On a short break in mid September , we stayed in this lovely hotel, have to say great views, beautiful rooms, staff excellent, very good service. However I was disappointed with the food as we understood it was a Michelin star restaurant, we had lunch which was lovely and had pre booked dinner. We went out for a trip around and got lost ! arrived back at 9.15 pm to find the gates Locked, and we were late for dinner! it was like it was an effort for the staff to serve us as they seemed anxious to close and get out. Same staff as lunch time & was obvious that they expected everyone to finish dinner early! We were only in SOF for 2 days so each dinner was booked in a "special" place which this was not!
Hotel beautiful, pool area very nice but the spa is just basic, small so don't expect a full on spa experience. they did not inform us of the shuttle service to Saint Paul de Vence as we most certainly would have used it unless they gave us a bedtime of 8pm!!

Room Tip: our room was beautiful looked over the pool and countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marypdunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReponseDirection, Directeur général at Le Mas de Pierre Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Mary D,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and tell us about your experience at our hotel.

We are glad that you liked LE MAS DE PIERRE and that you had the opportunity to enjoy the views from our rooms. On the other hand, we are sorry that your experience with the restaurant wasn’t as good. We will make sure to transfer your message to our F&B manager, in order to improve our service.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again at LE MAS DE PIERRE.

Best regards
Christian Baumgarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

My Mum and I were en route to Switzerland via Nice and stayed here for a week in early July. We first considered staying in St Paul de Vence itself but it ensued that staying at the wonderful Le Mas de Pierre was absolutely the right decision. There has been a hotel on this site for approx 200 years in the form of a bastide run by the Famille Pierre. There are family photographs in the hallways - one of the many original and unpretentious touches of this property.
Each of the bastides offers an outlook onto the surrounding hills to give sense of space. The pool area is lovely with an understated and respectful atmosphere from the collection of guests who were from all over Europe. The Table de Pierre - eating on the terrace overlooking the gardens is amazingly good and the icing on the cake is the garden setting and potagerie. It's all supported by attentive but not intrusive service. We found it to be excellent value on an internet prepaid rate. All the promises made by the Hotel were fulfilled by its multilingual staff.
It's easy to feel you are looking at a Cezanne painting as the sunsets on Les Mar hills. Small touches such as the citron water near reception, the on demand shuttle to take you to St Paul, Vence and Cagnes sur Mer together with the very well-serviced rooms make this a highly recommended destination.

Room Tip: Choose a room on an upper floor away from the pool if you seek tranquility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReponseDirection, Directeur général at Le Mas de Pierre Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear MA J,

We wish to thank you for writing us such a beautiful review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you appreciated all its charming details, from the art, potagerie and our gardens, to our service. Since choosing LE MAS DE PIERRE was an absolutely right decision, we hope that very soon you will repeat that decision.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards
Christian Baumgarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel with great views of the surrounding hills. The grounds are stunning and the pool area is incredibly relaxing with cabannas and a seperate hot tub. The rooms are traditional and exude quality. The interior decor is very impressive with some great pieces on the walls and in the hallways. Food is great and the service is second to none as well. Nice is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReponseDirection, Directeur général at Le Mas de Pierre Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Michael T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at LE MAS DE PIERRE.

We appreciate very much all your compliments and we hope that we will have the possibility to welcome you again at our property.

Best regards
Christian Baumgarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. We did not spend a considerable amount of time on property but the time we did spend was nice and relaxing.

PROPERTY OVERALL: The Mas de Pierre property is nicely set on a hilltop in the Saint Paul de Vence area overlooking the valley below. It is comprised of several stone buildings surrounding a garden and pool. The property is very well maintained and has a beautiful terrace where meals are served. Overall staff was excellent. A free shuttle service is offered to the nearby town of Saint Paul de Vence and, if given the choice, a ride in the open air 1950s fiat is a worthwhile experience. There is parking on site and given the narrow roads and relative lack of parking, it's not a bad idea to leave the car parked. While we didn't use the pool, it looked to be well maintained and had plenty of cabanas available for guests.

ROOM: Our room (room 100), while small, was tastefully decorated with antiques (or good replicas). The room had a private outdoor terrace and a very comfortable bed. The washroom while tight was more than adequate and was also adorned with lovely furnishings. Our package included a bottle of Champagne and a plate of pastries on arrival. Both were very nice.

RESTAURANT: we had breakfast daily and dinner one night at the hotel. Breakfast was a buffet and eggs and omelettes were available to order. The buffet was adequate with fresh breads, croissants, fruit, salmon and yogurt. The dining room setting was phenomenal. Truly relaxing. Service was very good.

Dinner was served on the same terrace and was also lovely (save the smoking that takes pace outside). Food was fresh and nicely presented. While not the best meal of the trip, it was nonetheless very good and of a standard that would be expected of a hotel of this caliber. Overall, we were very happy with the restaurant.

SPA AND GYM: My wife and I both had massages at the spa. The spa, while small, was relaxing and well maintained. The massages (which were included in our package) were excellent. The gym, however, was the one notable shortcoming of the property. It was small and not well maintained (paint chipping, very limited equipment). There was no water bottle in the gym itself and on one of two days, there were no towels. As well, on the second day of our trip, the air conditioning was not working which is very noticeable when its 34C outside.

Overall,our stay at this hotel was very nice. It is a hotel very well suited to its location. The surrounding environs are calming and serene. While we did see some children at the resort, it is much better united for couples and people trying to enjoy some relaxation and quiet. Perfect for a long weekend getaway.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WhereItsWarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReponseDirection, Directeur général at Le Mas de Pierre Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear WhereItsWarm,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at LE MAS DE PIERRE and to write such a detailed and overall positive review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the restaurant and the room. As for the small inconveniences that you experienced concerning the gym, we will do our best to not repeat them in the future.

One more time we would like to thank you for your detailed description of our hotel. I’m sure that anyone who reads it will find all information he needs and will wish to spend their long weekend gateway right here with us.

Hope to welcome you again in our property.

Kind regards
Christian Baumgarten
direction@lemasdepierre.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St-Paul-de-Vence
1.1 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#1 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.4 mi away
Toile Blanche
Toile Blanche
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Paul
Hotel Le Saint Paul
#6 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Hotel Royal-Riviera
#2 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
12.3 mi away
Chateau de la Chevre d'Or
8.7 mi away
Le Mas Candille
Le Mas Candille
#1 of 13 in Mougins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas de Pierre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas de Pierre Hotel

Property: Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Address: Route des Serres, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#2 Family Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#3 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Mas de Pierre Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Mas de Pierre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Mas De Pierre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing