We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potential but definitely not there yet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Vague de Saint Paul
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna Region, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Potential but definitely not there yet”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We spent five nights at this hotel in July and it was a rather disappointing experience. The location and the tennis courts are nice but there are so many things that need improvement. first, the staff really doesn't have an idea what is going on. We wanted to do some laundry, which I expected not to be a big deal at a 4 star hotel but it actually was. One of our receptionist said we should bring our laundry to the reception and she will find us a plastic bag to put it in, she didn't know how much it would be, to then call us the next day to tell us they actually don't do laundry and that the washing mashine was broken anyway.
The cleaning lady also kften give us more toilet paper or shower gel so we often had to go to the reception and ask for new one.
The staff at the restaurant was also rather glueless, they never cleared the plates, it was often hard to find a clean table for breakfast and it seemed that they were just wondering around. We also felt that the breakfast was definitely not worth 18 Euros and got boring after a few days. We had dinner once at the restaurant but the quality of the food was disappointing.
There is different music at the pool bar and at the restaurant, so when you stay at the pool you can her both, which is not ideal.
There also seemed to be a wasp nest on the stairs to the pool and we had to walkreally fast not to get bothered by them. I was surprised that the staff wouldn't take care of it.

I think this hotel has great potential but really needs to train its staff and improve the quality of the food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    162
    52
    9
    4
See reviews for
66
313
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed for two nights; we were recommended the hotel by people who live in Vence.
Clean rooms and very comfortable beds and a great view and pool.
Breakfast was a little disappointing - I do think the hotel could do better in this regard and also make the buffet more accessible. However, overall this was an enjoyable stay and the staff were amazingly helpful.
We would certainly stay again!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 400epl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salta, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Why? Because it is next to saint Paul de vence, an incredible place. Don't miss it. It' ll take you back in time and bring you back with all the artists studios.
The hotel opened a few month ago renewed. It has a modern deco, wich I love. The rooms are spacious, bright and very comfortable. With lots of space to put everything in the room and also in the bathroom. Great bed. We had a balcony, what was very nice too.
There is a little gym, a spa and a beautiful swimming pool. They close at 8. The bar was excellent!!. Julien made superb cocktails. I recommend the one with kiwi and cucumber, 10 points+!!!
The only thing we didn't like was the restaurant. We expected more, even more given the quality of the french cuisine...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MysteryGuest75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

An excellent modern furnished hotel. The most comfortable beds I have ever experienced. Large balkony (first floor room, we got a free upgrade). Extremely friendly and helpfull staff (my compliments!). Nice pool.
A perfect location for day trips to Nice, Cannes, St paul de vence, villefranche sur mer, eze, monaco, etc.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rednaxv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

the hotel opened in march this year and used to be a trainingcenter of a software company, friendly staff, small but nice rooms, great garden and pool, very quiet but 5 min from St. Paul de Vence, I do recommend the hotel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manu443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We (six people) dined twice in La Vague, the week of the 10th to the 14th June. We would have gone back there more often if we had had the time. The food was absolutely fabulous!! I would highly recommend it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Brigette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laconia, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Brand new hotel so rooms are spacious. Staff goes out of the way to be helpful. Since it's so new they are still working out some glitches but as a result we we were upgraded. If you want a break from staying in medieval hotels, this is the place. If you want a relaxing place to rejuvenate and listen to the birds, this is the place. Beautiful grounds and pool. Decor ultra modern but a fun change of pace.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toujoursenroute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St-Paul-de-Vence
2.1 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
617 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#2 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
#9 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Grande Bastide
Hotel La Grande Bastide
#7 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
245 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Paul
Hotel Le Saint Paul
#10 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vague de Saint Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vague de Saint Paul

Property: La Vague de Saint Paul
Address: Chemin des Salettes, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Vague de Saint Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Vague de Saint Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing