We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, Peaceful, Extra Attention to Detail”
Review of Villa St Maxime

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa St Maxime
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely, Peaceful, Extra Attention to Detail”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

John and Ann have created a wonderful, calm and elegant retreat in an sleek, modern setting. Lots of extra touches to make your stay more comfortable, including: normal-sized shampoo and shower gel, an "American-style" shower head, inset magnifying mirrors at two heights in the bathroom, a spacious shelf to hold toiletries, a walk-in closet, bedside tray to hold keys, etc.

Complimentary wine in the evening, served in the living room or on the terrace, an immaculate pool area, complimentary, self-serve water, chocolates and digestifs at night, and breakfast to order in the morning are all welcome amenities, too.

The hotel itself feels like a spacious, private home, complete with an eclectic, clever art collection, as well as tons of books and charming bibelots.

In-town restaurant and attraction recommendations are readily available, and everything is within an easy walk.

We wanted a respite from a week of crazy feasting, so opted to pick up a pizza for dinner to drink with a bottle of wine we had with us. John thoughtfully and cheerfully provided plates, napkins, silverware, a pizza cutter and even candles, all of which we used on our peaceful private terrace.

Would definitely stay here again, and recommend it with great enthusiasm.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
162
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our third trip and it just gets better. First of all despite the property being simply stunning, the owners are terrific. Ann and John greet you warmly, join you each evening with the guests while everyone enjoys cocktails. It is during this evening together that everyone gets to know one another yet you never feel you are losing your privacy. The rooms are large and comfortable with great bathrooms. The swimming pool is beyond divine. Anyone who loves to swim will never want to leave. Breakfasts on the terrace are served at various tables, champagne s always offered, eggs, lovely breads etc. Did I forget the views, unbelievable! One can walk into town, it is truly a place of beauty, rest and luxury. I would never miss this stop on our trip. Magnificent!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trigger1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We just returned from our late May 2013 trip to France. Everywhere in France the weather was unusually rainy and chilly - thus one should assume we had a less than enjoyable time. Not so! We stayed at Villa St. Maxime in St. Paul de Vence. Ann and John are wonderful owner/hosts and the property is charming - rain or shine! Villa St. Maxime is a small bed and breakfast attracting an eclectic friendly group of guests who gather each evening for cocktails and chat about the days events. The property is very clean and all rooms are a good value especially for the Cote d'Azure. Views from the terrace are beautiful and weather permitting breakfast and cocktails are served on the terrace. Be sure to watch and then participate in the ceremony "Chevalier du Champagne Sabre" opening a champagne bottle with a sabre - great fun and if successful you'll come home with a certificate!

Room Tip: Room with sea view are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have stayed in 5 star hotels that were no where near as good as the Villa. Had the Villa suite that was truly magnificent decorated beautifully by Ann who has great taste.
John and Ann are great hosts with champagne breakfast if you want (my wife and I don't like champagne) on the terrace with the most wonderful views. Evening aperitifs in lounge or terrace are part of the deal and help guests get to know one another.
If there is a downside to the villa it's the steep drive from the road to the main gate. If you arrive by bus with a big case, be aware but you will be glad you made the effort when you get there. We will return here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Any one. Speak to Ann to find the theme in each room and make your choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigJock7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a trip to the South of France to celebrate my husband's birthday. Staying at Villa St. Maxime was the highlight of our trip. Ann and John are the perfect hosts, they are professional, helpful , friendly and welcoming. On the day of my husband's birthday they left roses and a lovely bottle of Rose for us to enjoy. They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and well taken care of, including the wonderful drinks on the gorgeous terrace each night with the other guests and Ann and John. The breakfast each morning again on the terrace is delicious with views of St. Paul de Vence that are incredible.
We stayed in the St. Maxime Suite which is spacious and beautifully appointed. Actually the entire property is gorgeous and beautifully decorated and landscaped.
We can not wait to return for our next celebration to Villa St. Maxime.

Room Tip: The St. Maxime Suite is gorgeous with beautiful views and is so spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at Villa St Maxim. John is a wonderful host. Villa has the best location for exploring the area and in the evening to be able to walk 5 minutes to the magical Saint-Paul Vence was a trite. John recommended restaurants to us and made a booking on or behalf. Our room was wonderful, very clean, bright and comfortable with amazing views of the sea and valley. Villa is beautifully furnished and original sculptures are on display both in the house and in the very well maintained garden. It seems that owners have thought about every possible need they guests might have. We were offered free wine, we enjoyed chatting with John and when we returned in the evening, after a meal, there was mineral water available next to the house entrance so we could take it with us to the room. I cannot imagine wanting to stay elsewhere when visiting Saint-Paul de Vence again.

Room Tip: We stayed at No 2 and it was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EvaDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is our 4th time in St Paul de Vence and we finally were able to get a room at Villa St Maxime...and we will never stay anywhere else again!!! Ann and John are the most welcoming accommodating hosts and make you feel welcome immediately. As a matter of fact, Ann was helping me long before we even arrived by making dinner reservations and helping me with logistics. Our room was wonderful...had a little ante room with a mini fridge and our bed was super comfortable. Bonus was the little patio that led right to the backyard and pool area. We loved the views of the nearby town - it is so close you can walk to it in 5 minutes time. The breakfasts are amazing - eggs to order, bottomless mimosas and pastries...also, every day in the afternoon, guests gather for happy hour and the wine flows freely (and for free!). Another added bonus is Free parking !!! Don't hesitate...book it now!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are different
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Fleurdelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels
1.1 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#2 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
448 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Vague de Saint Paul
La Vague de Saint Paul
#4 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Grande Bastide
Hotel La Grande Bastide
#7 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Paul
Hotel Le Saint Paul
#10 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
#9 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa St Maxime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa St Maxime

Property: Villa St Maxime
Address: 390 avenue de la Colle, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#3 Family Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa St. Maxime was designed and built as an intimate, luxury Hotel - Villa d'Hotes. The Villa is a short walk from the village of St Paul and also the famous Maeght Foundation, it is in fact the closest hotel in St Paul to the village, with the convenience of not being within the walls for easy access and parking. The Villa is very much a modern work of art itself: it is constructed of albinic Provencal stone sculpted in bold sweeping lines. The Villa enjoys an airy modern feel, while retaining a comfortable and intimate ambience, with great views of the village and the sea. The suites and rooms have luxury appointments, ensuite facilities. A Champagne breakfast, including freshly cooked eggs, and evening aperitifs are included in the room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa St Maxime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa St Maxime Hotel St-Paul-De-Vence
Hotel St Maxime
St Maxime Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing