We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Must Stay Here if anywhere nearby” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa St Maxime

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa St Maxime
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Must Stay Here if anywhere nearby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have stayed in 5 star hotels that were no where near as good as the Villa. Had the Villa suite that was truly magnificent decorated beautifully by Ann who has great taste.
John and Ann are great hosts with champagne breakfast if you want (my wife and I don't like champagne) on the terrace with the most wonderful views. Evening aperitifs in lounge or terrace are part of the deal and help guests get to know one another.
If there is a downside to the villa it's the steep drive from the road to the main gate. If you arrive by bus with a big case, be aware but you will be glad you made the effort when you get there. We will return here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Any one. Speak to Ann to find the theme in each room and make your choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigJock7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
147
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a trip to the South of France to celebrate my husband's birthday. Staying at Villa St. Maxime was the highlight of our trip. Ann and John are the perfect hosts, they are professional, helpful , friendly and welcoming. On the day of my husband's birthday they left roses and a lovely bottle of Rose for us to enjoy. They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and well taken care of, including the wonderful drinks on the gorgeous terrace each night with the other guests and Ann and John. The breakfast each morning again on the terrace is delicious with views of St. Paul de Vence that are incredible.
We stayed in the St. Maxime Suite which is spacious and beautifully appointed. Actually the entire property is gorgeous and beautifully decorated and landscaped.
We can not wait to return for our next celebration to Villa St. Maxime.

Room Tip: The St. Maxime Suite is gorgeous with beautiful views and is so spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at Villa St Maxim. John is a wonderful host. Villa has the best location for exploring the area and in the evening to be able to walk 5 minutes to the magical Saint-Paul Vence was a trite. John recommended restaurants to us and made a booking on or behalf. Our room was wonderful, very clean, bright and comfortable with amazing views of the sea and valley. Villa is beautifully furnished and original sculptures are on display both in the house and in the very well maintained garden. It seems that owners have thought about every possible need they guests might have. We were offered free wine, we enjoyed chatting with John and when we returned in the evening, after a meal, there was mineral water available next to the house entrance so we could take it with us to the room. I cannot imagine wanting to stay elsewhere when visiting Saint-Paul de Vence again.

Room Tip: We stayed at No 2 and it was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EvaDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is our 4th time in St Paul de Vence and we finally were able to get a room at Villa St Maxime...and we will never stay anywhere else again!!! Ann and John are the most welcoming accommodating hosts and make you feel welcome immediately. As a matter of fact, Ann was helping me long before we even arrived by making dinner reservations and helping me with logistics. Our room was wonderful...had a little ante room with a mini fridge and our bed was super comfortable. Bonus was the little patio that led right to the backyard and pool area. We loved the views of the nearby town - it is so close you can walk to it in 5 minutes time. The breakfasts are amazing - eggs to order, bottomless mimosas and pastries...also, every day in the afternoon, guests gather for happy hour and the wine flows freely (and for free!). Another added bonus is Free parking !!! Don't hesitate...book it now!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are different
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Fleurdelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights on our honeymoon, before traveling to other regions. The villa was lovely, clean, quiet and comfortable. We stayed in the SeaView Suite. It was well appointed, with a comfortable bed, a place to make coffee, and a lovely terrace with a magnificent view. As honeymooners, we were a little bit in our own world, and found the location to be a wonderful base for our daily trips to other beautiful towns and villages, such as Eze and Tourettes Sur Loup. We spent a wonderful day in Nice taking a cooking class which included a trip to the market. Ann and John were very helpful, and Ann went out of her way to make dinner reservations at a couple of very nice places in the area. She even put beautiful fresh flowers in our room to celebrate our honeymoon. My husband and I are foodies, and we were in the right place to indulge. It was wonderful because despite all of the rich food and wonderful bread and pastries of the region, I managed to lose a couple of pounds by the end of the trip because of all the walking we did. Of course, It is without question that we would recommend this lovely villa to anyone who wants to relax, unwind, and forget about work for awhile.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were clean, and well maintained. We felt complete respepect for our privacy and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKBalogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I visited VSM one weekend in October 2012. We arrived very late on the Friday night and Ann was most accommodating with our lateness. Our first night was spent in a bedroom downstairs, which was well appointed but did not have a view. We moved to one of the upstairs bedrooms for the next 2 nights; the view of the see and the village was amazing. The room had also a big balcony with table and chairs. A very generous breakfast was served on the terrace in the morning. The village is only a 10 min walk away (thought 5 min are alongside a busy road) and has many excellent restaurants; we ate in the village every night after the (free) copious aperitif at the villa (it was great for be joined by Ann and John during that aperitif). We were busy touring during the day, which is a bit of a shame in a sense as we did not get to try the pool, which must be 18-20 m long. Wish we had stayed a couple more days!
The only slight issue we had was the lack of channels on the TV.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a see view (the one in the middle, No 6 I believe, is great)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarinemUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis/St. Paul
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Returning to the Villa 4 years after my last stay, I was just as delighted as my first time. The views were amazing, breakfast and cocktails fabulous, and Ann and John as welcoming and helpful as ever. Modern and spacious with the feel of home....a very nice home that is. I will definitely be back again- thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#1 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#3 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 stars 487 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Vague de Saint Paul
La Vague de Saint Paul
#4 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Paul
Hotel Le Saint Paul
#6 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Grande Bastide
Hotel La Grande Bastide
#8 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
#10 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa St Maxime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa St Maxime

Property: Villa St Maxime
Address: 390 Route de la Colle, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#3 Family Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa St. Maxime was designed and built as an intimate, luxury Hotel - Villa d'Hotes. The Villa is a short walk from the village of St Paul and also the famous Maeght Foundation. The Villa is very much a modern work of art itself: it is constructed of albinic Provencal stone sculpted in bold sweeping lines. The Villa enjoys an airy modern feel, while retaining a comfortable and intimate ambience, with great views of the village and the sea. The suites and rooms have luxury appointments, ensuite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Villa St Maxime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa St Maxime Hotel St-Paul-De-Vence
Hotel St Maxime
St Maxime Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing