We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“It just keeps getting better!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa St Maxime

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa St Maxime
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis/St. Paul
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It just keeps getting better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Returning to the Villa 4 years after my last stay, I was just as delighted as my first time. The views were amazing, breakfast and cocktails fabulous, and Ann and John as welcoming and helpful as ever. Modern and spacious with the feel of home....a very nice home that is. I will definitely be back again- thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
155
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

12 of us rented the entire Villa and couldn't possibly have had a better experience. The owners are quite simply a delight and were at the ready in helping us plan our days, making breakfast at times that accommodated our various schedules and happy hour - well, it was 'happy evening' as it went on for hours and hours. Ultimately, it didn't feel like we were visiting - it felt like home.

Looking forward to another visit!

Room Tip: Each room is unique and all equipped with similar offerings. Extremely clean and quiet. (Note: The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 182Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had never visited this part of the world before so tripadvisor was our first port of call. Villa St maxime stood out above all the rest and rightly so. As soon as you arrive you know you have made the right choice. It is modern and spacious and the hosts greet you like friends. We stayed in the Maxime suite but any room with a view towards the sea would be as good. The suite was really too large for us and we didn't make full use of it's huge bath and the balcony overlooking the pool.
The hosts Ann and John are the best with free flowing champagne and anecdotes at no extra cost every evening and beware of the gin and tonics, there's no driving after one of John's. Breakfast is served in the sunny dining area or out on the terrace on warm mornings overlooking the magnificent pool.
If privacy is what you require it offers that too, but we found enjoyment in getting to know the other guests every evening.
The view to the east from our bathroom is the magnificent village of St Paul, just 5 minutes walk along well lit pavement, there Is just a short stretch from the front of the hotel where there is no path, but the road is wide and quite safe.
Eating in St Paul is excellent with many superb restaurants from Tapas to gourmet with the Cafe De La Place our lunch venue for the Plate du jour and watching the men play boule.
Bus rides are one Euro which makes up for the taxis which are not cheap, but are good quality, 50 Euros from the airport to the villa, 60 Euros back late in the evening, best to ask the driver how much before taking the taxi just to make sure, but they too were charming and helpful.
All in all a great experience, very relaxing if you want that, or great as a base for touring the area, even a great place to convalesce, or just laze around the pool and unwind. Like many we will return.

Room Tip: Any room that faces towards the Med overlooking the terrace and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BobDunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

After spending two nights in a beautiful Seaview room we are convinced that it cannot get much better than this! Much praise has already been given in earlier reviews, but still I need to tell our story.

Even though we kind of felt as a couple of youngsters we felt truly welcomed by John and Anne as well as the other guests. The concept with "happy hour" where John simply asks what you want in your glass and you get to know and chat with the few other guests is genious. You decide yourself how social you want to be ofcourse, some decided to take drinks to their room.

I will try to sum up a few pros and "minor cons":

(+) Complimentary DVD selection (200+ titles), drinks in the "happy hour" and an evening cart with bottled water, chocolate and various spirits
(+) Complimentary Champagne breakfast with eggs of choice (the omelet was fantastic), fresh croissants, yogurt, plus plus
(+) Breathtaking view from the room (Seaview or Suite) and the terrace
(+) Most of the time we had the large pool all to ourselves

(-) Our bed mattress was a bit hard
(-) Walking to St-Paul-de-Vance included crossing a busy road, it felt a bit hazardous at times. However John had already check up on reflective tape/strips just hours after we had mentioned this :)

Thank you John & Ann!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PIog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Everything you could wish for in a top class bijou hotel; excellent location, charming staff and good company.Try becoming a knight of the champagne sabre! Then you will see your host John at his best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela9245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We relied on Trip Advisor rave reviews in booking our stay here and our experience even surpassed the reviews. The decor is a sophisticated mix of classic and contemporary, the pool and the view are magnificent - and our hosts could not have been more welcoming. After I asked the location of an ATM, Ann volunteered and drove me to one in town. Outstanding!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marguerite S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Imagine visiting new freinds who have a beautiful, modern art filled Villa overlooking historic St Paul de Vence and finding 10 like minded new friends also staying there. Owners Anne and John are so warm in their greeting and hosting that after a long day flying in from LA, we at once felt at home. Villa St Maxime is as good as it gets. The hosted evening cocktails hour (which can run into several hours) on the terrace overlooking the pool below and the hilltop village just beyond is but one of the days events to look forward to. The morning breakfast (best egg dishes ever) is just one more treat. The short walk to St Paul de Vence reveales this most charming village full of great restaurants and shops. My wife and I hated to leave this wonderful place and our new found friends but knew that we would return to this paradise above Nice. Thank you Ann and John.

Room Tip: I think every room is great but the ones with a view to St Paul de Vence are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#2 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Paul
Hotel Le Saint Paul
#6 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#3 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Toile Blanche
Toile Blanche
#1 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Grande Bastide
Hotel La Grande Bastide
#9 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les Messugues
Les Messugues
#7 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa St Maxime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa St Maxime

Property: Villa St Maxime
Address: 390 avenue de la Colle, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#3 Family Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa St. Maxime was designed and built as an intimate, luxury Hotel - Villa d'Hotes. The Villa is a short walk from the village of St Paul and also the famous Maeght Foundation. The Villa is very much a modern work of art itself: it is constructed of albinic Provencal stone sculpted in bold sweeping lines. The Villa enjoys an airy modern feel, while retaining a comfortable and intimate ambience, with great views of the village and the sea. The suites and rooms have luxury appointments, ensuite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Villa St Maxime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa St Maxime Hotel St-Paul-De-Vence
Hotel St Maxime
St Maxime Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing