We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, clean and charming but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Grande Bastide
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I recently stayed at La Grande Bastide with my partner and our 11 year old son for 3 nights during a 12 night holiday to South of France. We had room 15, a superior room right at the top, with a lovely semi-wrap around balcony with views towards St Paul de Vence and Cannes to the west. You could also see the sea directly ahead in the far distance; the views were really nice. The room itself was an adequate size for 2, slightly tight with the extra bed that we needed for my son, although the hotel did advise us of this and recommended we take a different room with more space but no balcony. However, we felt that a balcony was more important than internal space so opted for this room instead. I am glad we did. It was very tastefully decorated in a typical French style with individual furniture, gorgeous heavily lined curtains (no bright sunlight waking you!) and little paintings and knick-knacks dotted around the place. The bed was extremely comfortable. There were robes and slippers in the wardrobe, plenty of soaps and toiletries in the bathroom, a mini bar (extortionate prices - 5 Euros for a Kit Kat!) and a reasonable sized flat screen TV with several cable channels such as NBC, etc. All in all, a fantastic room.

The pool, although fairly small, was adequate to accommodate the number of guests. I think there are around 15 rooms in this hotel and the pool area has about 10 loungers with really comfortable cushions, and a basket of fresh towels nearby. The pool are did sometimes get a little busy in the afternoon but there are additional loungers on the lawned area - not ideal as they didn't have cushions and are further from pool, but they were usually available if you needed them.

The jaccuzi area was also very nice. The guests seemed to use it considerately and in short bursts so others could to take a turn.

The staff were very helpful when we asked about maps of the local area. They were also very considerate and unobtrusive. I woke early on several occasions and sat on the balcony watching them prepare the breakfast tables; they were virtually tip-toeing around so as not to disturb the guests.

The lounge and terrace area was relaxed and homely. The lounge had several sofas, chairs, newspapers daily, books, free biscuits (that my son kept eating!) and various board games set up so a nice place to escape the sun/pool area for a while and relax. This is the area where they serve breakfast and lunch.

Breakfast was expensive, as several other reviwers have stated. 20 Euros each. Granted, it was very nice and the fruit and pastries were fresh and tasty, but we only had breakfast once out of principal because we did feel it was overpriced.

We had a nice baguette for luch one day - more reasonably priced at 9 Euros each, but still a little on the expensive side. A cup of coffee was 5 Euros - again, quite expensive!

Other reviewers have also mentioned the car parking, which can be an issue when the hotel is full to capacity. We had an estate car and struggled to manouvre into the tight parking spots on several occasions, although if you're a competent driver then it's not a deal breaker.

To conclude - a charming, well kept clean boutique hotel with immaculate lawns and pretty flowers and plants, unique and charming rooms, lovely views from the room and public terrace/lounge area but let down ever so slightly by the expensive food/drink and tricky parking. However, I would recommend and I would return.

Room Tip: Room 15 : Lovely wrap around balcony with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Missvalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 252 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

Getting here involves a steep turn off a steep road! We stayed for one night only, but would have been happy to stay longer - our room with a bed up a flight of stairs in a loft was lovely. (A little hard on my tall husband, because the ceiling sloped, but only one side.) No views from our room but plenty around the hotel. We discovered that the strong perfume smell in our bathroom that other people have mentioned was from one of those electronic aroma things, so we unplugged it. and opened the windows.

Breakfast was adequate but way overpriced. Go somewhere else.

They don't have a restaurant but suggested Llorca, very close by, where we had a delightful, if expensive dinner. And they very kindly drove us in their navette into St Paul and then came to pick us up later from the Galeries Maeght. (I woudln't even try to park in St Paul itself.) The owners are really lovely people.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninip262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Loved our room with loft & a balcony overlooking the valley and in the distance the Mediteranean and above us the castle and town of Saint Paul de Vence. Pool! Candles lighted at night around the property. Classy shops in Saint Paul de Vence & don't miss the Foundation Maeght. We did day trip to Nice (easy by car) ...note that this hotel is easy drive from Nice airport. This started our French adventure in affordable grand style. breakfast too expensive.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JASpeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Took sometime prior to holiday on choosing where to stay & definitely made the right choice!
A small hotel, which was perfect for us as looking to have a totally chilled hotel in a very convenient location - La Grande Bastide did not disappoint!
The hotel is very peaceful with a reasonable sized pool/sun bathing/jacuzzi area.
We stayed 11nights, which was longer than majority of guests, usually 3-5nts were the norm.
We had lunch approx 6 days, the days we were not out & about, lunch which was simple, but well made & very tasty. Due to usually eating dinner later in the evening we never had breakfast, which looked superb, but chose to wait for lunch.
The rooms are typically French, petite with French character decoration - ours room 17 had a small balcony looking over Saint Paul.
The hotel is 1mile from Saint Paul & the hotel offer a lift in the evening up until 7.50pm to the village - we walked back along the main road, which was never an issue - taxi is 20euro's so would recommend the short walk - heels are not recommended for the village anyway due to the cobbles, when walking round the village - beautiful village & a great choice of restaurants & a couple of bars.
I hired a bike, which the hotel organised on my behalf - I stuck to the local residential roads rather than the main road which us just outside the hotel - be prepared for steep hills!
The staff at the hotel was fantastic - could not do enough for us & was always very pleasant & eager to please & would highly recommend the La Grande Bastide - great location to discover the French countryside, villages & the seaside resorts on Cote de Azur.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ADELLE181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Three nights in a mezzanine suite. Staff kind and friendly, large and tasty lunches, pool cold but clean. Good value hotel with a charming 2CV to take you to St Paul de Vence in free shuttle service. A good choice for a a couple of days.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MELBOSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a nice hotel perfectly situated across the valley from the village of St Paul. It has a nice swimming pool and spa overlooking St Paul and a cute car to shuttle visitors the few kms to the village. Breakfast was a rip off at 20 euro a person and this was the first hotel in France to charge our 4 year old toddler for breakfast, so we didn't have it at the hotel. But otherwise this is a really nice place to stay, especially if you get a room with a view of the village which is magical when lit up at night.

Room Tip: Try hard to get a room with a view of St Paul
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 12cameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We spent 2 weeks in this nicely located hotel with fantastic view on St. Paul, an old village on top of the hill in front, and still view on the bay of Nice. Very friendly, personal service, speaking french, italan, english and german, very good breakfast on a balcony in the morning sun and view in the garden, the pool and the landscape around St. Paul. Our room with romantic architecture and outlook into the garden... There is no restaurant for dinner (which you do not need, because there are many in the area), but you can get lunch.
All in all with only 14 rooms not overcrowded, and - most important - you feel the professional, but relaxed and friendly atmoshere by the owner, his wife and the staff.
In view of the usually high prices in this area a very good price/quality ratio!

Room Tip: Rooms with view into the garden and on St. Paul!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Werner M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels
1.2 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
657 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#2 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
487 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Vague de Saint Paul
La Vague de Saint Paul
#4 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Paul
Hotel Le Saint Paul
#10 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Messugues
Les Messugues
#6 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
#8 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Grande Bastide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Grande Bastide

Address: 1350 avenue de la Colle, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#6 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#8 Family Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range: $147 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Grande Bastide 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Grande Bastide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Grande Bastide Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing