We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We recommend strongly...!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Grande Bastide
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We spent 2 weeks in this nicely located hotel with fantastic view on St. Paul, an old village on top of the hill in front, and still view on the bay of Nice. Very friendly, personal service, speaking french, italan, english and german, very good breakfast on a balcony in the morning sun and view in the garden, the pool and the landscape around St. Paul. Our room with romantic architecture and outlook into the garden... There is no restaurant for dinner (which you do not need, because there are many in the area), but you can get lunch.
All in all with only 14 rooms not overcrowded, and - most important - you feel the professional, but relaxed and friendly atmoshere by the owner, his wife and the staff.
In view of the usually high prices in this area a very good price/quality ratio!

Room Tip: Rooms with view into the garden and on St. Paul!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Werner M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 247 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

The nice young man took me to my room, showed me how the key works, showed me the bath, closet, safe, and mini-bar. And then he drew the curtain open to show me my small balcony and the VIEW of St Paul de Vence the hilltop town! If you book in here--and I strongly suggest that you do--be sure to ask for one of the rooms with this view.

The room was lovely, modern, clean. The bathroom was newly-done and sumptuous. The staff were gracious, kind, and helpful. They have a lovely little Citroen in which they will take you over to St Paul de Vence, if you like. The breakfast buffet was extensive and tasty. The wi-fi was just what I needed. The pool and terrace are gorgeous. I am running out of adjectives!

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of St Paul de Vence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Almost_the_oldest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very nice hotel closed to Saint Paul de Vence that offers great price/quality ratio. We found ourselves almost at home, as there are just 14 rooms; personnel very welcoming, caring during our stay.
Room suite we took was very confortable, (the medium sized TV screen is a little minus), nicely decorated and cleaned every day. Parking is secure.
Breakfast seems pricey, but the quality of products is awesome (fresh fruits, juice (not 'powder juice', ...). There is also a brand new the jacuzzi in the garden, the view on the village will not move you out of it!
Definitely some place we'd like to go back again.
Francesco

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The sweet smell we were met by at the doorstep is a real description of the hotel itself. It is a gorgeous, sweet little place, and we would love to come back to the luscious breakfasts and relaxing gardens.
The room could fill a whole chapter with its French decorations and fantastic views of picturesque St Paul du Vence.
The staff were always very polite and professional, and seemed genuinely interested in helping.
Although the hotel itself is a wonderful place to stay, one must consider the distance to attractions and cities like St Paul du Vence and Nice. The best thing would be to rent a car and travel around in the area, there is so much to see within a few hours!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theVIPfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

As most reviews mentioned this boutique hotel is well located facing St Paul and we felt lucky to stay there. Small cozy room but comfortable with good size marble bathroom and jet tub, safe, small patio with table and chairs plus lounge chairs on the grassy area. Only bad news is that the main road is thirty feet below the hotel, if the owner could do something about that I know they would. We are happy to recommend your place.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Pascal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay this hotel
Good service, great views, staff very friendly and nice. To stay there you need a car to get around. Close to the beautiful St. Paul de Vence where there is so much history, great restaurants and shopping. One of my favorite places on my holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MazzK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My sister and I went on a week's tour through the South of France. We happened upon this hotel in quaint Saint Paul de Vence. It was excellent! The staff was lovely, the rooms were very comfortable and well decorated. We had a balcony overlooking the medieval city. The pool was great and the breakfast (although a bit expensive at 20 Euro) was very nice on the terrasse. I highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank SPurvis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels
1.2 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#2 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
474 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Paul
Hotel Le Saint Paul
#10 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Vague de Saint Paul
La Vague de Saint Paul
#4 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
#9 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Messugues
Les Messugues
#6 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Grande Bastide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Grande Bastide

Address: 1350 avenue de la Colle, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#6 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#8 Family Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range: $161 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Grande Bastide 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel La Grande Bastide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Grande Bastide Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing