We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing boutique hotel in Saint Paul de Vence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Grande Bastide
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing boutique hotel in Saint Paul de Vence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our week stay in Hotel La Grande Bastide. Rita and Heinz and their staff were so welcoming, very helpful, friendly and spoilt us! The rooms are very pretty, individually decorated and very comfortable. The continental breakfast buffet with fresh fruits and a large selection of fresh products is served on the terrace with an amazing view to St. Paul de Vence.
The free shuttle to St. Paul is great service for guests. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    57
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
39
138
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscou
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I recommend this hotel without hesitation to all those who appreciate luxury staying in a cozy place, individual approach in service and panoramic views. Very friendly owners and staff.A bonus: free 2CV to Saint Paul de Vence.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuliaRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We are very sad to leave La Grande Bastide this morning !
We stayed for just over a week and can only report on how highly we would recommend this hotel. It is set in exquisite grounds with an open view towards to the old village of St. Paul and
the sea.
Our room was beautifully decorated with all modern facilities. We specially enjoyed the small terrace where drunk nearly every evening a glass of wine and just enjoyed the splendid views.
The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The staff without fail are helpful and friendly.
The old town of St. Paul is a 15 minute stroll away with a good choice restaurants.
Also the hotel runs a free a shuttle service (old 2CV) between 8am and 8pm to the old town and the Foundation Maeght museum.
Can't wait to return.
Urs M.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Urs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

To start some nice remarks: very attentive service and a beautiful location with a nice view from the room on the village of St. Paul de Vence! Very nice to have the possibility to use the transport of a "deux chevaux" of the hotel to the neighborhood, such as the restaurants, etc..

...bad experiences...: due to the high temperatures at that time, and the climatisation always in service, a lot of humidity was available into the room. As a result of a non aerated room: the towells were smelling not well, the television device not working(oxidized batteries!), the hair drier in flame(short circuit!) and the main light of the room also in short circuit!. Further, rust water standing into the shower location near the schwimming pool..

Sorry, but those are the facts, as they are! We hope that, by writing on paper those expereriences, we will put the the owner a wake.

To stay at the level of a 4 stars hotel, bad experiences as such, can not be allowed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
171 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We spent five very comfortable days at La Grand Bastide in July. The room accommodations were fine -- an upper loft for the two adults, and a convertible daybed in the main room for our daughter. Bathroom was large and well furnished.
The breakfast buffet was excellent, with the room and terrace giving a wonderful view of St Paul about 2 kilometers up the hill. (We prefer that breakfast not be charged separately, as a matter of style in a "boutique" environment, but this is a matter of policy and choice.) The rooms also have small individual terraces or gardens where breakfast can also be taken.
The hotel does not have a restaurant, but there is a good choice of cold dishes at lunch -- salads and the like. And there are an abundance of restaurants near-by including two in walking distance.
The hotel has a beautifully restored Citroen 2 CV used as a shuttle -- always available and simply "good fun." It is recommended over driving -- parking in the Vence/St Paul area is beastly, and the hotel's own small parking lot is sloped, cramped and difficult.
The pool and its terrace are well-sized and equipped. The other guests were mainly there for shorter stays -- several including families -- a very international clientele passing through the region.
Well-advised, for those not wishing to stay on the beach in the Cote D'Azure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel La Grande Bastide very much and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is interested in nice hotels. It is well-situated, comfortable and with excellent staff! We were most impressed with the friendliness of the staff and their willingness to book events and restaurants for us and to help in any way. Breakfast is served on the terrace with wonderful view to St. Paul de Vence. We will definitely stay again and recommend to friends. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosaline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed for three delightful days and nights in June. LGB is situated right off the main road to St Paul de Vence. From the minute we entered, we encountered incredibly attentive service in a beautiful location. Our bags were taken and the proprietor showed us through the tastefully decorated salon, open air terrace, through to our rooms which included our own outdoor table and chairs. The view of the old town of St Paul de Vence from our deck was beautiful. Our room, although not huge, was quiet, and charmingly decorated. The bed was extremely comfortable. We enjoyed the bathroom and its amenities-- large tub with jacuzzi, towel warmer, delicious smelling bath products, cozy terry cloth robe and slippers.

The pool was beautifully situated and surrounded by large comfortable lounge chairs. It was a great place to have a drink, a dip, and just relax after a day of touring around.

Breakfast on the outdoor terrace was a delightful way to start the day, even if a bit expensive.

Every employee we encountered went out of his or her way to make our stay enjoyable-- especially Sylvia. She brought us complementary welcoming drinks by the pool. She made our breakfast in the morning, brought us afternoon tea and coffee during our stay. Took good care of us with a, smile. I hope she reads this!

The proprietors Heinz and his wife, as well as everyone at the front desk made sure we experienced the best of the area answering all our questions and recommending sites and restaurants. Some people walked into town, but we opted to drive. The staff told us exactly where to find the best parking.

Highly recommended. Worth the euros.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#1 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#2 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
1.2 mi away
Toile Blanche
Toile Blanche
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
#10 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Vague de Saint Paul
La Vague de Saint Paul
#4 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Paul
Hotel Le Saint Paul
#6 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Grande Bastide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Grande Bastide

Property: Hotel La Grande Bastide
Address: 1350 avenue de la Colle, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#6 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#8 Family Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Grande Bastide 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Grande Bastide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Grande Bastide Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing