We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Grande Bastide
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We only knew we were staying here just before we left after a booking cock-up by "histoires de las Bastide" (qv) nearby. It's more expensive than we are used to but you can see why. The hotel overlooks St Paul de Vence and has fabulous views over it and down to the sea. Thee is a tiny L-shaped pool which is more than a dunk than a swim - in fact everything seems squeezed into the smallest possible space. But it's beautifully appointed and run. The loungers are welcoming and the public areas charming with fruit bowls, biscuits, towels as if you were guests in an upmarket and posh house. There is free wi-fi everywhere - about five different circuits . I imagine you could even use it in the outdoor jacuzzi with another great view. Not that we did.
Quibbles (apart from the price) being that there is a road just under the hotel so it's not very quiet plus there is NO storage space in the bedroom we had. You could not have properly unpacked more than a couple of night's worth as there was nowhere to put anything. I get rather cross about this. Everything else lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saranLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 252 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2011

Overall Comments: It’s hard to fault this lovely hotel in a great location with great staff.

Room: Absolutely great. A huge room over two floors with views to St Paul. Decorated in clean Provincial style with modern and clean furniture and two Juliet balconies.

Location: Well located just outside St Paul, The hotel has a shuttle service in a very cool old Citroen to take you the two minute drive to St Paul and bring you back if you wish. It is a 15 minute downhill walk back after dinner.

Facilities: Very small hotel, with a nice pool, a juccuzzi overlooking St Paul and a small restaurant. Free wifi throughout the hotel.

Food: Both breakfast and lunch were good.

Service: Outstanding. Michaela the manager was incredibly helpful and attentive…some of Europe’s more prestigious establishments could learn a lot from her attitude.

Parking: On site car park behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FoodJunkie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three nights after reading about it on line. It did not disappoint at all a very courteous and helpful Michaela on reception welcomed us and explained in excellent English all we needed to know. The hotel is clean and the facilities are good. The hotel will give you a courtesy lift to the local village of St Paul de Vence and will reccommend where to eat in some excellent restaurants. We will return definitely.

Room Tip: Great view of St Paul de Vence from room 3 a superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PMH91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We loved this hotel. It is a wonderful place.We'll be back!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Erica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Our family stayed in the Grande Bastide early July. We had a warm welcome and were impressed by the amazing view of Saint Paul from the terrasse. Small and intimate, but well equipped wirh all the infrastructure one needs, it is the perfect gateway to visit Saint Paul and rhe French Riviera Very attentiv owners who helped us to make the best out of our stay. To be highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuri1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Great hotel, very clean, very friendly staff, Really nice breakfast every morning. Rooms were
stopless and pretty good size. Very nice bathroom with standup shower, bathtube and jacuzzi. Free wireless was a definate plus.
P. Hahn

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gusti122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Great hotel; very clean; very friendly staff. Really nice breakfast every morning. Rooms were stopless and pritty good size. Very nice bathroom with standup shower bathtube and jacuzzi. Free wireless was a definit plus. I highly recommend.
Philippe Hahn

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gustavo12242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#2 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
487 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
657 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Vague de Saint Paul
La Vague de Saint Paul
#4 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
#8 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Messugues
Les Messugues
#6 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
168 reviews
1.2 mi away
Toile Blanche
Toile Blanche
#1 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Grande Bastide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Grande Bastide

Address: 1350 avenue de la Colle, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#6 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#8 Family Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range: $163 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Grande Bastide 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Grande Bastide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Grande Bastide Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing