We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There was more art in the bookshop” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fondation Maeght

Fondation Maeght
Book In Advance
More Info
$686.11*
and up
Private Day Trip to St Paul de Vence and Vence including the Maeght Foundation...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“There was more art in the bookshop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This place has a beautiful setting but when we went in late June 2013 half of it was closed.
The art we saw was pretty average. There is free parking on site so do not park at the bottom of the hill. Our visit took 20 minutes with half of that in the bookshop.
Not worth the effort of going.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichardandLaraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    256
    131
    76
    32
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Private modern art gallery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Quick drive inland from Nice the gallery has out door sculpture garden with Joan Miro sculptures dotted around. Regular exhibitions currently Gloria Friedman, was ok, but a large Chagall is the centre piece. Relaxed stroll in an hour, 15 euro entry, small cafe F has coffee and cake. The village of St Paul Vence was well worth a visit after with many mini galleries and surprisingly well priced stuff such as a silk Van Gogh scarf for 20 euros and a cemetery with best position in the world where Chagall is buried.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 123degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretty pretty poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

At 15 euros per person this is dreadful value . Musee D'orsay costs 9 euros & is 100 times better value
We went 29 may 2013 & there was an exhibition by Gloria Friedman which was so so and hardly anything else
Can't compare to the Peggy Guggenheim in Venice or even the art museum in Bergen Norway which is not famous but in my view better My advise is save your Monet & go to the art galleries in St Paul de Vence which are free & better

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank irvy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Must-see combo of art and architecture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Prices but definitely worth it, great pieces by Miro, Giacometti, Leger, calder and others placed in a wonderful building designed by one of le Corbusier's disciples. leveraging the landscape for maximum drama, the white buildings beneath the dark green pines and the proverbial blue skies create a visual effect that is simply stunning. Changing exhibitions are of course a bit of a hit and miss depending on personal preferences, but the shop is very nice and well sorted, too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BusyBerliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A return visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We first came here 5 years ago, passing through the area, but this year we were staying in St Paul and this was a must visit modern art museum on our doorstep. Being out of season parking was easy at the site, but expect an energetic 5/10min walk if you have to park at the outer/lower car park. We love the location, building, the exhibitions, the atmosphere, a little bit of heaven. We rounded the trip off with a lovely lunch at the on-site Café-F.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dyane602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fondation Maeght also viewed

St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Fondation Maeght? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing