We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Museum in spectacular setting”
Review of Fondation Maeght

Fondation Maeght
Book In Advance
More Info
$742.30*
and up
Private Day Trip to St Paul de Vence and Vence including the Maeght Foundation...
More Info
$742.30*
and up
Private Full Day Tour to St Paul de Vence and Vence including a Visit to...
Attraction details
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum in spectacular setting”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Really liked the museum and setting for Foundation Maeght. The sculpture gardens are fantastic. Miro, Calder, Giacometti, etc.
The parklike gardens are the perfect venue to display this world class collection of art. Nestled above St Paul de Vence in the pine trees the terraces have amazing views which the scuplures are perfectly positioned in. Well worth the trip and cost when visiting the Cote d'Azure.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bruce4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    270
    139
    80
    37
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Thinking of passing on the Maeght? Don't”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I admit, I had not heard of the Fondation Maeght prior to visiting it. I am SO glad I didn't miss the opportunity to wander through this unique museum. While small in comparison to others, it is the setting that makes the Maeght so enjoyable. The calm serenity of the location is not like any art exhibit I'd ever been to. The sculptures were a well layed out mix of contemporary artists. The current artist's exhibition was fascinating to me as a look into the creative mind at work. Of course some thought differently about it, but that is what art should do. I was sorry to leave, but delighted to have discovered this gem. As for the cost, you will forget what you paid, but remember the Fondation Maeght for a long time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kstaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

While attractions in the South of France tend to be quite busy, the Fondation Maeght does not suffer from loads of traffic and people simply trying to get through and out. A lovely experience, with time to reflect and enjoy.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank 182Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best outdoor sculpture gardens that we have ever seen”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Beautiful garden settings, lovely architecture, thoughtful organization. Miro was in residence here for many years, and his legacy is are the huge pieces that are among those featured in the collection.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BFBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Expensive and poor”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The cost of 14 Euros was too much to view half a dozen modern masters and several rooms of work by an obscure artist lost in his own sketchbook. The main body of work was in storage and we were not informed of this at the entrance. But if you like Miro the sculpture garden is excellent. make sure that the main collection is on display before paying to go in.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BobDunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fondation Maeght also viewed

St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Fondation Maeght? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing