We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of French Heaven”
Review of Le Hameau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Hameau
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Certificate of Excellence
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Slice of French Heaven”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent 5 nights in Le Nid D'Amour, room #17, a separate small villa in this charming hotel. It's the perfect place to stay to see the neighboring hill towns and the Cote D'Azur. The staff is friendly and helpful. The grounds are abundant with flowers, fruit trees and grape vines along with 2 pools and lots of places to relax and read quietly. A substantial breakfast is served on the patio or you can have coffee in your room. Nearby restaurants were good. I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: #17 is very private and with a patio. However there are no views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank colorations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    84
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
111
247
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent five nights here and it was very pretty, comfortable, helpful staff, and great location.
The nearness to the hill towns and coast with museums and artist's ateliers made for easy drives and the charm of the hotel with gardens abundant with fruit trees and flowers was a welcome retreat at the end of the day. We stayed in Rm 10 with a view of St Paul de Vence and the suggested restaurants were good.
The buffet bkfst, though good is a little steep. We long to return.

Room Tip: Stay away from the parking lot rooms. We were on the 2d floor with 2 entrances which was quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deyurdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very nice from top to bottom. The proximity to the walled city is great. Rooms and grounds are standing tall! Very comfortable. We will stay here again, if given the chance. We could have easily just stayed on the property.

Breakfast is NOT included and is 15 euro pp. It is a nice spread, but $40 for 2 ... maybe not everyday. Marmalade is made on sight ... yum!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis MO USA
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed at Le Hameau with two friends for three nights at the end of September 2012. It couldn't have been more perfect. We had notified the hotel that we were arriving in Nice in the morning and they immediately answered back that if our rooms were not ready we could store our luggage. in the hotel Our rooms were ready--way before check in time! One evening we arrived back at the hotel after a full day of touring. We really were too tired to go out again for dinner. The manager suggested that they make paninis for our dinner and they delivered them to our room. We sat on our balcony and watched the twinkle lights coming on beneath us in Nice. This was my 6th visit to Le Hameau and it gets better every time that I return. The wronderful staff, the beautiful rooms, garden and pool. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast each morning. Truly delicious. The only bad part is leaving. I hope to return again some day soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francel0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have stayed in many hotels, but found Le Hameau unique and charming. The grounds are lovely, grapes, kiwis and oranges growing all around. Lovely, healthy breakfast served (for an additional fee) each morning from 8 to 11. Weather was terrific each of our 3 days there so we were able to eat in the outdoor dining room. I was amazed that we were not asked to produce our credit card until checkout, nor are you asked to sign for anything such as snacks and beverages brought to you poolside. Best surprise was that we could easily walk to the ancient walled village of Saint Paul De Vence and even walked to the Fondation Maeght. Wish we could have stayed longer. Reminded me of the movie 'Enchanted April' -- very enchanting!

Room Tip: We met a couple who had been there many times and they recommended room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saverguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is an amazing boutique hotel near the ancient village of Saint Paul. Every room is different, each has a character. The is a fantastic garden surrounding the hotel and you have fabulous views from the rooms. One can feel the age of the property when you stay in some of the rooms (thin doors, a light smell of an old building, an occasionally squeaky bed) but over all, this place is charming. Very high quality breakfast is offered in the garden - I would only suggest the owners to replace the orange juice cooling machine with something else - this is not orange juice, but a chemical orange drink and a contrast with everything else they offer! Parking is very convenient, 2 swimming pools are great and there is a small souvenir boutique on site offing the usual Provençal stuff at very reasonable prices, especially compared with tourist shops in the nearby Saint Paul village.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orange-Traveller777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

After a week near the beautiful medieval town of Uzès in the Pays du Gard we planned an interlude in St. Paul de Vence before taking a flight from Nice to Rome. Having stayed in and around Nice many times, we chose Le Hameau, a three-star boutique hotel on the terraced hills about seven kilometers from the city. The hotel provides clean, air-conditioned rooms, a large infinity pool overlooking the distant bay, and a sumptuous breakfast layout with freshly baked croissants. (One of the reasons you come to France, right?) Le Hameau is a perfect location for exploring the hilltop village, St. Paul de Vence, the Maeght Foundation Art Center is two kilometers away, and a short fifteen-minute drive leads to the unforgettable Matisse Chapel.

Le Hameau is a family-run hotel with the feel of a lovingly maintained B&B where every detail is central to the guest’s comfort. There is an ample parking lot as you come up the hill from Nice. Check-in is prompt and unintimidating. A lounge and wet bar adjacent to the reception area has an expansive library of travel guides to the hidden pleasures of the Côte d’Azur below and the Alpes Maritimes just to the north. A prominently displayed photo album testifies to the hotel’s glorious past when celebrities like Yves Montand and Simone Signoret frequented these relaxed precincts of French vacationland.

Today Le Hameau accommodates an international clientele of families and couples who socialize quietly around the pool. Over a steamy weekend we alternately sunbathed and dipped into the water until sunset. An adolescent Swedish girl and her brother played with a precocious Danish toddler who delighted in their attention while they discovered the joys of mutual intelligibility. Ironically, the two sets of parents conversed in English. An American man traveling with his Peruvian wife, their son, and father-in-law arrived from a long road trip. While the boy buried himself in an iPad, his dad coaxed the abuelo into the poolside Jacuzzi to soothe his sore neck and shoulders. At breakfast on the morning of our departure, we met two Chicago women who were just beginning their tour. On the way out, the young Peruvian mother offered to give us several bottles of wine they could not carry on their return flight to Washington. Unfortunately, we too were bound for the Nice airport.

Le Hameau is reasonably priced, breakfast an extra €15 per person but delicious and worthwhile. The best rooms face the pool and look south toward Nice. The hotel’s whitewashed walls and topiary paths and its informal yet attentive comforts make it a perfect alternative to the gaudy clamor of expensive tourist hotels along the Nice waterfront. Furthermore this hotel recommends itself according to two rules I’ve adopted after many years’ traveling to the region. You don’t go to Europe for the beaches, and you meet nicer people in three-star hotels, as opposed to four- and up.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool. A garden room might look into the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rdannin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels
1.1 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
616 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Vague de Saint Paul
La Vague de Saint Paul
#4 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
498 reviews
1.0 mi away
Toile Blanche
Toile Blanche
#1 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Paul
Hotel Le Saint Paul
#10 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Grande Bastide
Hotel La Grande Bastide
#7 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
#9 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Hameau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Hameau

Property: Le Hameau
Address: 528 Avenue de la Colle, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#1 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Hameau 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Le Hameau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hameau Hotel St-Paul-De-Vence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing