We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recent visit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Mas d'Artigny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Mas d'Artigny
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Recent visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We visited the Hotel on a special deal - Saint Paul De Vence is an area in France that we visited seveal years ago and always wanted to go back. I read reviews about the Hotel being a little dated and these are accurate. The gardens and location are excellent and as it was a quiet time of year it was very peaceful and relaxing. I was disappointed with the interior. From the booking it said we would be in a junior suite but all we got was a big bedroom and separate dressing area. The pictures of junior suites on the website are not what we got. We got the standard of accomodation relative to what we paid so the special deal was not really that special. Eating breakfast outside on the terrace was very nice although the food selection was minimal and often had to wait for it to be re-stocked. I would rate this as a 3 star hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janerrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    197
    198
    168
    65
See reviews for
110
433
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

It is the mix of faded grandeur and rather gaudy modern art which makes this hotel so interesting and unique. The views from the terrace are breathtaking. The reception staff pleasant and helpful. There is a car shuttle service to St Paul on request, preferable to the 40min walk, and the drivers are cheerful and friendly. Our suite of rooms were tastefully furnished and the bed comfortable.
On the negative side, several mornings there was no hot water and some of the waiters were quite frankly rude and surly. And the price of drinks was extortionate!
I think the resin pig, radishes and other vegetables may well be there for a long time as I don't foresee a quick sale.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vivien N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Please note first off that I have rated this hotel five stars. Anything that I note below that sounds like a negative should be considered in light of the fact that nevertheless I have indeed consciously given Le Mas d'Artigny a 5-star grade which I believe it deserves... just... and only if you get it at a decent price. If it was twice the price, my review would have been a star less.

As others have noted, the hotel sits high on a hillside in a tony suburb of St Paul de Vence. This certainly requires a car or similar transport to get to, but if you have a car, it is a reasonably short drive through the region's byzantine roads to places like Nice, Cap Antibes, and Cannes. Parking is free and ample, which actually was an initial draw for us since we had a car.

The hotel consists of a main building and at least two houses that have been subdivided into further rooms. We were in one of the houses (cottages) which I believe to be (but am not sure) better than the main wing rooms. The room was large with a very nice bed and was generally tasteful, though the carpet and walls had seen better days and the walls were a bit thin. But, the overall impression was that it was an excellent room for the price.

The grounds are beautiful, but, as others must have noted, are dotted with horrible "artistic" sculptures. Now, of course, art is to taste, but some of the pieces, such as the radishes and the pig, are terribly by any standard. I wonder if the owners of the hotel realize that it is exactly this art as it appears in the photos of their hotel online is what prevents more guests from coming? The weird art gives the place a kind of "Island of Dr. Moreau" feel. This is not necessarily a good thing for a hotel to have. Being bold with the art is great, but sometimes this also means throwing away the junk.

Clearly, it didnt stop us from coming. We like the art in general, but some of the more garish pieces have got to go, and it's time to cover over the putting green where it is obvious that nobody has putted in ages since the earth has actually moved under it to where it is no longer puttable.

The breakfast buffet was at the hotel's four star rating standard and the staff were generally excellent. A small problem with our bathtub was promptly and professionally addressed.

The other irony here is that given the location and basic soundness of the building and grounds, this could not be potentially just a four star hotel, but easily, easily a proper five star location. this would require a bit of investment to be sure, but as they are at least 50% of the way to being a real 5* hotel already, one wonders why they don't complete it. Surely that would be more in-line with the original vision.

Overall, we were very very happy with our short stay in Le Mas d'Artigny and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeathBeforeBreakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel in an amazing location - heights of Provence facing the sea

The hotel itself is beautiful with decoration mixing luxury and "Provence" style.

We had a Junior Suite with an amazing sea view.

Great Service

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franck92200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
148 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Beautifully located overlooking the town of Saint-Paul de Vence (and the sea in the distance) with a lovely property.... a romantic setting....very quiet. Friendly and helpful Reception staff. The terrace for breakfast and dinner was lovely, although there was a very limited and unchanging dinner menu ( we were there for 3 days) that was also very expensive.... because of its relatively isolated location, you are sort of stuck..... Breakfast was also very limited and not worth the price. The "Spa" was also very small and limited, although we did get a very good massage.... The rooms might need some renovation....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelcc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

A unique European Hideaway nestles on a hillside overlooking the gleaming, blue waters of the Med - in the shadow of the perfectly restored, medieval fortress village of St-Paul-de-Vence. It is surely one of the world’s most perfect places.

(At the outset, let me say that if your wish is for neon lights and the glitz of a gin palace this is not for you.)

This is a place of almost monastical peace: a green haven perched amidst conifer-clad hills, infused with the scent of lavender and pine, and set to the music of a myriad summer çicadas. It is a compelling emotional blend: a heady mix of luxury at its most restrained best – here you have food for the soul.

Our first visit was many years ago and a frisson of excitement still runs through my veins as we drive through the gates - after over 30 years of enchanting stays!
A few minutes drive up the tangled, green mountainside will bring you to Le Mas d’Artigny - a hotel like no other. It is located on the summit of a 20-acre wooded hill - is part ivy-clad and built of cream-coloured stone. Standing high above the Riviera and the sea, it commands a breathtaking view of Saint-Paul-de-Vence and is uniquely surrounded by twenty-five individual suites, each with its own private swimming pool.

The huge foyer seems completely composed of glass and polished, white marble - with arresting works of modern art on display. A large, Romanesque swimming pool extends directly into the grand entrance where, surrounded by exotic greenery, the water looks like liquid, blue glass. It is captivating! The impact is of light and space - at once tasteful and inspirational.

Our reception was regal and we were escorted to our junior suite, with unsurpassable views of the Med, by the lovely Karen.

We dined that evening in the elegant terrace dining room, overlooking the green expanse of the valley, and watched the coastline sparkle into life as the twinkling lights come on one by one. We delighted in the three shades of blue: the sky, the sea and the pool. Try the d’agneau croustillant along with wines from the Aix and Bandol vineyards.




We loved the modern Provençal décor of the spacious bedrooms and the well-appointed white, mosaic-tile bathrooms. (The bathrooms are the most divinely appointed that I have ever seen with large separate facilities, twin basins, a mirror the size of a ballroom and mosaic finishes.)

We threw open the windows and fell asleep in total stillness, literally under the stars and woke to the scent of the wild, pine forests - fresh and beautiful.

Breakfast the next morning was heavenly: creamy scrambled eggs with delicious smoked salmon formed the piece de resistance of an extensive buffet. Our only regret was that it left us no room to savour the wonderful croissants at the famous Café de la Place in the village. The Mas d’Artigny is truly the stuff of dreams.

Ne perdez pas, le Sud!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Relais-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

THE place to stay, in the South of France.
In the hills of Vence. Adjacent to the mediaeval village of St Paul. 15 minutes from the Cote d Azur and major towns. Panoramic views of the countryside and sea, overlooking manicured park like gardens with an abundance of flowers, trees and bushes. Comfortable room with all facilities. Most attentive staff. Not an extensive menu but not expensive.
Some renovation required. Which does not detract from this excellent Mas. Not disabled friendly although may be worth the inconvenience

Room Tip: Junior suites are far superior and no steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 12Vince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels
1.5 mi away
Toile Blanche
Toile Blanche
#1 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Vague de Saint Paul
La Vague de Saint Paul
#4 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
#10 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#3 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#2 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Grande Bastide
Hotel La Grande Bastide
#9 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas d'Artigny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas d'Artigny

Property: Le Mas d'Artigny
Address: Chemin des Salettes, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Mas d'Artigny 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel complex is in a pine forest across from the walls of St-Paul-de-Vence and offers views of the French Riviera. Le Mas D'artigny & Spa has 85 rooms of which 21 suites that have private swimming pools. The entire hotel is decorated in a French Provencal style. The complex also features a 180-seat dining room/banquet hall and offers catering services. It opens out onto a large terrace that overlooks the surrounding area.Also, Le Mas D'artigny & Spa has an outdoor heated swimming pool, 25 private pools, fitness room, hamman, solarium and sauna, table tennis and billiards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Le Mas d'Artigny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas d`Artigny Hotel St-Paul-De-Vence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing