We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luc says he only does what he would like to have...”
other travelers have booked this property
The village
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The village
Place de l'église Bed room Biloba
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
The village
Place de l'église
Bed room Biloba
Bed room Biloba
Bed room Ginkgo
Dining Room Biloba
Plan Biloba
La Grande Fontaine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Samiseal
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Luc says he only does what he would like to have when he travels!!!! This is a fabulous place to stay!!!”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Almost too good to be true! You arrive to a modern provencal renovation with an eclectic collection of decorations to keep you guessing the origins. The TV has lots of channels for the lazy couch days. The Ginkgo suite has a big bath.

In the fridge you will be welcomed with an assortment of eggs cheese ham yogurt wine beer soft drinks etc. a fresh fruit bowl, fresh flowers. Everything you can possibly need and things you haven't thought of yet!

Especially the best part is Luc (and Wookie)...if you come to stay you can be lucky enough to join the Maison Aux Bonsais family...with Luc's contacts and experience you can be sure of spending your time well in St Paul and will never waste your time on the second best restaurants coffee or ice cream, just ask Luc to steer you in the right direction.

Home away from home, super relaxing and the best host ever.... There can be only one and that is Maison Aux Bonsais!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra G
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Charming and very complete. Excellent host.”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The Biloba suite is not just nice. It is a delight. The decoration is perfect and the location inside the walls of St. Paul is awesome . Luc is one of those persons born to make others happy. He is delighted in serving his guests. The apartment has everything you may think. It is amazing. I have never been in a place offering that amount and quality of amenities. Including flowers and fruits at your arrival. I recommend you park your car outside the walls of the city as parking inside, particularly during the high season, could be a challenge. But Luc will help you in any problem you may have and meet you in the city gate, guiding you through the very narrow streets. I hope I can get back one day. Thanks Luc.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Decoration and the amenities.
Liked least: That the bathroom has a curtain instead of a door.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJandPP
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, great location and a great host!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed for a week and the apartment (Ginko) was excellent, wish we had stayed longer! Luc was a most friendly and helpful host. Location is excellent, parking a little tight so make sure you have a small car. Lovely town, nice people and has plenty of good restaurants and shopping. Monaco, Nice and beaches easily accessible by car or bus from St Paul de Vence.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: A lot of day tourists
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, beyond expectations which were already high.....”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We never do reviews, however this time, I feel our stay was so wonderful, and we want to share our perspectives. Luc is an amazing and warm host, who deliberately wants his guests to feel at home in his villa's. The reviews are all accurate, and the downstairs villa we stayed in picture perfect!

When we arrived, we had a lovely basket of fruit and a fully stocked fridge! Each day
Luc brought us fresh croissants, helped with our itineraries and even printed out maps, directions etc based upon what we had discussed as possible agendas.

St Paul de Vence is so picturesque and enjoyable. The restaurants in the village are all superb and the shops quaint and charming.

We arrived as visitors and guests and have now left as friends with Luc. We will certainly be back!

Well done Luc and thank you again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality from Luc And the charm of the village
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWarat...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb and Beyond”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Our family of three went to St Paul de Vence in Springtime and staying with Luc is probably the very reason that makes our time in St Paul so unbelievable amazing. The house itself is exquisite but Luc, the man of the house, is beyond amazing. He became a friend of the family rather than a host. (We actually call him Uncle Luc.)

The apartment was clean and tastefully decorated with the fridge packed full of goodies. We felt right at home within 5 seconds after walking in the apartment. Luc himself is very attentive. On the first night we told Luc we were going to visit Picasso museum on the next day and in the morning, there were maps and information regarding Antibes in front of our door along with freshly baked croissants and other pastries. The same routine persists as we grew close to our host.

It's apparent that Luc IS the man of the village. Staying with him is like becoming a part of St Paul. I don't know how he does it. So effortlessly. He makes us feel so comfortable staying in a country thousands of mile away.

If I have to describe our stay with Luc in a short, it would be: Beyond superb, and the only regret is that we didn't stay long enough. So Luc, if you are reading this, be prepare for the next time we visit, it will be at least a two-week holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luc himself
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katevdb75
Paris, France
1 review
“A truly special place on the Côte d'Azur”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We spent a week in the beautiful Gingko apartment. What a great place, and believe everything you read about Luc's generosity! Luc has lived in the village since the 60s, so was also able to give us an overview of the last 40 years in the area, with anecotes about star neighbours including Pink Floyd, Roger Moore, Chagall, or Richard Gere! He also fast-tracked us through the doors of some of the village's cultural landmarks, including a hard-to-snab dinner reservation at the mythic and magnificent Colombe d'Or, or a private tour of the not-to-miss Fondation Maeght.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powys
Reviewed November 3, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing