We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Saint Paul
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I am writing this post as a local inhabitant and not as a tourist. I must express my disapointment for tonight's dinner. The quality of the service, and the food, has really dropped over the past few years. We arrived with 20 mn delay, and the man who "wecolmed" us at the hotel made a fuss about it. We told him that we have been trying to call the reception to inform them of our delay but we kept getting an automatic answering machine.... Sadly, none of our waiters were French... We ordered a nice bottle of rosé and it was brought to us WARM... Also our wine was listed as a wine of Provence even though it was not.... The service was very unprofessional... the food was average, especially my Bisque de Langoustine (I was unable to finish it), at 10.45pm the waiters started cleaning up the terrace loudly, impatient for the last 2 tables to leave. The 3 of us were shocked about the poor quality of our evening, considering the high prices and the standards of a Relay Chateaux. Sadly, we will not be reccomending this place anymore, nor come in a long time. Arrogant. Victim of tourism????!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TaniaTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul473, Directeur général at Hotel Le Saint Paul, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013
Google Translation

Cher Monsieur,

Nous avons lu votre courrier avec attention et sera lu à notre équipe de salle et de restaurant!

S'il peut y avoir de l'autorité il faut que vous sachiez que nous sommes souvent victimes de réservations non honorées qui nous font perdre énormément de tables
Ce qui nous contrarie beaucoup au point d'en arriver à demander un numéro de carte de crédit à chaque réservation.

Pour ce qui est du dîner, sachez que nous sommes désolés pour vous, que votre cas est malgré tout isolé car nombreux sont les compliments qui nous arrivent...

Vous revoir au Saint Paul et vous faire connaître est peut être la solution pour que vous ayez une toute autre impression....

Cdt

D.Lesage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 313 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I was very lucky to have my partner surprise me with a stay in Saint Paul for my birthday, we got a cab to the location which made things easier as the fort has barriers on entry. The hotel is at the top of the fort and overlooks the surrounding countryside of Nice etc. I loved the style of the hotel the decor was beautiful and they had a gorgeous open fire which was handy as it was still a bit chilly in march. I found the staff very welcoming and accommodating and they couldn't do enough for us. The room was lovely and due to us not being able to get into the spa hotel owned by the same company we had a slight upgrade, the only downside was the lack of view from the room as all I could see were walls from the other buildings next door. Saying that we were not in the room that much as there was plenty to see in Saint Paul and we enjoyed exploring. I did not get to sample the food partly due to the price and also as there were plenty of other places we wanted to try although i did have canopies and flowers that were arranged for me an they were fabulous. I would defiantly recommend this hotel and I would love to go back one day as I felt very relaxed when staying there. It isn't cheap but you get what you pay for and I was thoroughly spoilt. The staff were all friendly and were only too happy to help even carrying our bags down the hotel stairs to the cab on leaving, I even had a birthday hug from the manager which sums up the friendly atmosphere of the place.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul473, Directeur général at Hotel Le Saint Paul, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

What say except thank you!!!!!
 
All "The Saint Paul"!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We couldn't have asked for a warmer welcome and more perfect visit to St. Paul de Vence. From the moment we arrived, we were acknowledged and made to feel special, with swift help with our luggage after a taxi mistakenly dropped us off a distance from the hotel, to a welcome drink and pastries, tour of the premises and delivery to our charming room.
We had dinner in their understatedly elegant dining room and the 4 course meal with wines was wonderful, and loved the "dutch style continental breakfast (includes smoked salmon and sliced meats, plus cheeses...with french pastries-perfect!!) in the dining room or on the terrace.
Everyone was friendly, helpful and made us feel at home. We definitely hope to return.

Room Tip: Even though our room faced the street, we were on the 3rd floor and it was quiet, as the city isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalGal2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul473, Directeur général at Hotel Le Saint Paul, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for your message!
 
Please note once again that welcoming you at Le Saint Paul has been a very great happiness!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was the third visit a friend and I made to Hotel Le Saint Paul and it keeps getting better. Though we missed their bar, the makeover of the lounge area near reception is worth losing the bar. This area is a great place to sit with friends, read a book, sip coffee or tea, or perhaps ask for a glass of champaign to be delivered there.

There is no doubt that this is an expensive, luxury hotel; however, the staff manages to make you feel that they are welcoming a guest to a place that they themselves love. They do this without giving the guests a feeling they are being "hovered" about but are ready to help make things happen. We arrived byb car and were thrilled to have one of their staff members meet us at the most narrow section of the street and help guide us in without scraping either side of our rental car! Our arrival was shortly before the end of serving for lunch so they immediately contacted the chef so that we ewre able to lunch on their patio under the wonderful stone wals of the old city. Not only was lunch in a beautiful setting they served what is perhaps the best steak tartare that I have eaten anywhere. The wine list included some reasonably priced Provencal wines that were delicious. Our room overlooked the main street which is primarily a walking street and we could look down the street over the ramparts and to the Mediterranean in the distance. Because you are staying inside the old walled-city you get a sense of what it feels like when all the tour groups and visitors go home when the shops close in early evening. The quiet makes it possible to imagine what the town was like when it was built in the 16th century.

If you want a special place to begin or end a trip to Provence, this is it.

Room Tip: All are different and wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldwanderingwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have stayed at the Hotel several times and we always enjoy it. It is a total experience. Do not expect a city centre 5 star hotel as this is a small village hotel that has a wonderfull restaurant. The food is magnificent.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ApplemanWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in August.

The hotel sits in this ancient somewhat touristy but also charming village.

The place was very different from what we had hoped for or expected. After a struggling drive through a gate, and an increasingly narrowing street - do not even think of bringing an SUV or sports car - we arrived at a small parking lot. From there you have to carry your luggage up a few old stairs to arrive at a small reception.

We paid USD 500 for an average size room with CARPET!! There was no view anywhere, just old brick walls one meter away - I could not wait to get out.

Service in the restaurant is very good. They try to accommodate to your liking, as I did not like anything on their menu. This was a 5 Star treatment, but only this. The manager is very professional and helpful. The staff and the front desk come with a slight attitude, which really annoyed me. E.g. on check-out I told them it will be 40 minutes late and after 30 minutes they started harassing my wife to leave the room and even asked her to carry my open suitcase out!!

All in, the place has some character, but for me it was too claustrophobic and the price did not match the product. I could have tolerated that, but with the subtle arrogance of the front desk staff, this place is a no-go from here.

Ah yes, AND as I checked I asked to pay as I usually do. The lady then got uncomfortable and said well, "only the balance..." I replied "the balance of what..." well Sir..... As it turns out they did charge my card for the first prior to arrival at 500pm!! I made a relatively loud fuss about it and called the credit card company in a way to make sure guests checking in would understand what would happen to them next. Ultimately after a lot of resistance etc. I got refunded the charge and we walked out. Uff...

Room Tip: try to get room with a view, if it exists...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank player100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul473, General Manager at Hotel Le Saint Paul, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Sir,

We are extremely sorry to learn that you were dissatisfied by your brief stay at the St Paul and that the hotel was not at all what you were expecting.

St Paul de Vence is a hill top fortified village dating from medieval times. The infrastructure of the village, thanks to the vigilance of those in charge of preserving the French national heritage, has remained intact and by its very nature consists of narrow cobbled streets and solidly constructed edifices with thick walls, built to withstand attack.

Our hotel is tucked inside the ramparts in a building as old as the village itself; it boasts a long and fascinating history, (at one point being used as a meeting place for secret societies) and shares the characteristics of the village as a whole: thick walls, and an access via small winding passage ways.

All the rooms are different (as you would expect from a building of such antiquity) and some enjoy panoramic views of the surrounding countryside and even have their own roof top terrace. Each is individually decorated, but the pervading feeling is cosy and intimate, a refined take on a typical Provencal interior.

Having said that, it is certainly true that the St Paul can in no way be described as being “purpose built” and a spacious entrance and ample parking are not features of our establishment.

Happily for most of our guests, this old world charm and authenticity is what makes a stay at the St Paul a truly magical experience, but we can readily understand that some people might find the very weight of history rather claustrophobic; especially in August when the village attracts a lot of visitors.

We are glad to learn that the service at our restaurant was attentive and professional, but are saddened to hear that on this occasion some of the front desk staff appeared to have failed to offer the friendly and personalised service which is our hallmark. It is normal practice to debit the guest’s credit card with a deposit (and indeed this is clearly stated on our confirmation of reservation correspondence) but we cannot and will not tolerate any hint of arrogance, subtle or otherwise. Rest assured that your comments will be very thoroughly investigated and appropriate measures taken.

It would indeed be a great pleasure to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the St Paul, but in the meantime, on behalf of all my staff, I would ask you to accept our sincere and heartfelt apologies for your disappointment.
With Best Regards,

Jérôme Vesoux

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We booked this hotel quite by chance, we had been staying in Provence for 2 weeks and need to find a hotel close to Nice Airport, and found this one.
First we had the very happy surprise of being upgraded to a suite, room 12, which was beautiful, in two floors with great decor, classical french but comfortable. Linens, towels, soaps etc. are all good, and of great quality.
The service was impeccable, by far some of the best service we have ever had at any hotel, everything we asked for and needed was taken care of.
The village also is absolutely beautiful, it is touristy, but during July what else could you expect if you are in a town 15min from Nice. But still it has a great ambiance.
We travel with our dog, a 5kg maltese, and the hotel was very attentive even to him, asking if we need bowls and a bed for him. And when looking at the room service menu, they would even prepare dinner for him, and that is a michelin stared restaurant at the hotel. And that is quite amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orwellthemaltese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul473, General Manager at Hotel Le Saint Paul, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear guest,

We are absolutely delighted that all of you, including your canine friend, enjoyed your stay at the St Paul and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

On behalf of all my staff, I would like to say how much we appreciated your comments, particularly those concerning the attentive service. We pride ourselves on being service oriented and aim to provide our guests with a personalised, friendly and professional service at all times.

We very much hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel and that the next time you book it will not be "by chance", but secure in the knowledge that you will be very well looked after and that every attention will be paid to your comfort.
Thank you once again for your positive comments.

Best regards

Jérôme Vesoux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
657 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#2 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
487 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Grande Bastide
Hotel La Grande Bastide
#7 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Toile Blanche
Toile Blanche
#1 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
330 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Vague de Saint Paul
La Vague de Saint Paul
#4 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
537 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa St Maxime
Villa St Maxime
#5 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Saint Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Saint Paul

Address: 86 rue Grande, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#5 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#5 Family Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range: $278 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Saint Paul 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the shade of the ramparts in the renowned artists villageof St Paul, the Saint-Paul (****L)is an intimate haven.Young at heart, but with the perfect mix of discretion and serenity, the hotel has attained its maturity and is fulfilling its promise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Le Saint Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing