We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A favorite remains wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Saint Paul
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A favorite remains wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was the third visit a friend and I made to Hotel Le Saint Paul and it keeps getting better. Though we missed their bar, the makeover of the lounge area near reception is worth losing the bar. This area is a great place to sit with friends, read a book, sip coffee or tea, or perhaps ask for a glass of champaign to be delivered there.

There is no doubt that this is an expensive, luxury hotel; however, the staff manages to make you feel that they are welcoming a guest to a place that they themselves love. They do this without giving the guests a feeling they are being "hovered" about but are ready to help make things happen. We arrived byb car and were thrilled to have one of their staff members meet us at the most narrow section of the street and help guide us in without scraping either side of our rental car! Our arrival was shortly before the end of serving for lunch so they immediately contacted the chef so that we ewre able to lunch on their patio under the wonderful stone wals of the old city. Not only was lunch in a beautiful setting they served what is perhaps the best steak tartare that I have eaten anywhere. The wine list included some reasonably priced Provencal wines that were delicious. Our room overlooked the main street which is primarily a walking street and we could look down the street over the ramparts and to the Mediterranean in the distance. Because you are staying inside the old walled-city you get a sense of what it feels like when all the tour groups and visitors go home when the shops close in early evening. The quiet makes it possible to imagine what the town was like when it was built in the 16th century.

If you want a special place to begin or end a trip to Provence, this is it.

Room Tip: All are different and wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldwanderingwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    68
    14
    20
    8
See reviews for
35
183
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have stayed at the Hotel several times and we always enjoy it. It is a total experience. Do not expect a city centre 5 star hotel as this is a small village hotel that has a wonderfull restaurant. The food is magnificent.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ApplemanWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in August.

The hotel sits in this ancient somewhat touristy but also charming village.

The place was very different from what we had hoped for or expected. After a struggling drive through a gate, and an increasingly narrowing street - do not even think of bringing an SUV or sports car - we arrived at a small parking lot. From there you have to carry your luggage up a few old stairs to arrive at a small reception.

We paid USD 500 for an average size room with CARPET!! There was no view anywhere, just old brick walls one meter away - I could not wait to get out.

Service in the restaurant is very good. They try to accommodate to your liking, as I did not like anything on their menu. This was a 5 Star treatment, but only this. The manager is very professional and helpful. The staff and the front desk come with a slight attitude, which really annoyed me. E.g. on check-out I told them it will be 40 minutes late and after 30 minutes they started harassing my wife to leave the room and even asked her to carry my open suitcase out!!

All in, the place has some character, but for me it was too claustrophobic and the price did not match the product. I could have tolerated that, but with the subtle arrogance of the front desk staff, this place is a no-go from here.

Ah yes, AND as I checked I asked to pay as I usually do. The lady then got uncomfortable and said well, "only the balance..." I replied "the balance of what..." well Sir..... As it turns out they did charge my card for the first prior to arrival at 500pm!! I made a relatively loud fuss about it and called the credit card company in a way to make sure guests checking in would understand what would happen to them next. Ultimately after a lot of resistance etc. I got refunded the charge and we walked out. Uff...

Room Tip: try to get room with a view, if it exists...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank player100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul473, General Manager at Hotel Le Saint Paul, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Sir,

We are extremely sorry to learn that you were dissatisfied by your brief stay at the St Paul and that the hotel was not at all what you were expecting.

St Paul de Vence is a hill top fortified village dating from medieval times. The infrastructure of the village, thanks to the vigilance of those in charge of preserving the French national heritage, has remained intact and by its very nature consists of narrow cobbled streets and solidly constructed edifices with thick walls, built to withstand attack.

Our hotel is tucked inside the ramparts in a building as old as the village itself; it boasts a long and fascinating history, (at one point being used as a meeting place for secret societies) and shares the characteristics of the village as a whole: thick walls, and an access via small winding passage ways.

All the rooms are different (as you would expect from a building of such antiquity) and some enjoy panoramic views of the surrounding countryside and even have their own roof top terrace. Each is individually decorated, but the pervading feeling is cosy and intimate, a refined take on a typical Provencal interior.

Having said that, it is certainly true that the St Paul can in no way be described as being “purpose built” and a spacious entrance and ample parking are not features of our establishment.

Happily for most of our guests, this old world charm and authenticity is what makes a stay at the St Paul a truly magical experience, but we can readily understand that some people might find the very weight of history rather claustrophobic; especially in August when the village attracts a lot of visitors.

We are glad to learn that the service at our restaurant was attentive and professional, but are saddened to hear that on this occasion some of the front desk staff appeared to have failed to offer the friendly and personalised service which is our hallmark. It is normal practice to debit the guest’s credit card with a deposit (and indeed this is clearly stated on our confirmation of reservation correspondence) but we cannot and will not tolerate any hint of arrogance, subtle or otherwise. Rest assured that your comments will be very thoroughly investigated and appropriate measures taken.

It would indeed be a great pleasure to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the St Paul, but in the meantime, on behalf of all my staff, I would ask you to accept our sincere and heartfelt apologies for your disappointment.
With Best Regards,

Jérôme Vesoux

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We booked this hotel quite by chance, we had been staying in Provence for 2 weeks and need to find a hotel close to Nice Airport, and found this one.
First we had the very happy surprise of being upgraded to a suite, room 12, which was beautiful, in two floors with great decor, classical french but comfortable. Linens, towels, soaps etc. are all good, and of great quality.
The service was impeccable, by far some of the best service we have ever had at any hotel, everything we asked for and needed was taken care of.
The village also is absolutely beautiful, it is touristy, but during July what else could you expect if you are in a town 15min from Nice. But still it has a great ambiance.
We travel with our dog, a 5kg maltese, and the hotel was very attentive even to him, asking if we need bowls and a bed for him. And when looking at the room service menu, they would even prepare dinner for him, and that is a michelin stared restaurant at the hotel. And that is quite amazing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orwellthemaltese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul473, General Manager at Hotel Le Saint Paul, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear guest,

We are absolutely delighted that all of you, including your canine friend, enjoyed your stay at the St Paul and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

On behalf of all my staff, I would like to say how much we appreciated your comments, particularly those concerning the attentive service. We pride ourselves on being service oriented and aim to provide our guests with a personalised, friendly and professional service at all times.

We very much hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel and that the next time you book it will not be "by chance", but secure in the knowledge that you will be very well looked after and that every attention will be paid to your comfort.
Thank you once again for your positive comments.

Best regards

Jérôme Vesoux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We wanted to go to Colombe d'Or, which I love and my friend hadn't been to, but couldn't get in, so friends recommended we try the restaurant at Hotel Le Saint Paul. We hadn't booked so were really lucky to get a table as the terrace is pretty small (although lovely) and they were turning away after us. I was really impressed. The food was really excellent, the staff efficient, friendly, plus very knowledgeable. Great champagne by the glass (Taittinger), great value set lunch menu 38 Euros for three fantastic courses (do not under any circumstances miss the pistachio cream dessert) and a not too stupidly pricey wine list. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaspiaPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul473, General Manager at Hotel Le Saint Paul, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Mrs / Mr

Many warm thanks for your very positive comments on Tripadvisor and of course a big thank you to the friend who recommended our restaurant.

We are delighted that you have now discovered the St Paul for yourself and enjoyed the cuisine and atmosphere on our terrace, finding our staff to be friendly and professional.

Hopefully we will have great the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to St Paul.

With kind regards,

Jérôme Vesoux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is so lovely. I stayed here for a weekend ad was nit disappointed. My room was amazing. The staff is excellent, especially the concierge. I asked them if they had a scale to weigh myself in the morning which they did not but later that day, the manager had one sent to my room-so thoughtful! The little lobby area is a nice place to relax and enjoy some madelines. The restaurant serves delicious food and the wait staff for the most part was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RER785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul473, General Manager at Hotel Le Saint Paul, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear RER785

On behalf of all the team at the St Paul, I would like to thank you very much for your positive feedback..

We are delighted to learn that you were pleased with your accommodation and found our staff to be friendly and professional. Our aim is of course to provide our guests with the best possible standards of service and your very encouraging comments will spur us on to greater endeavours.

It would give us great pleasure to welcome you back to the St Paul, and in the meantime we would like to thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

With Kind Regards

Jérôme Vesoux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We arrived on the night of the grande finale of the town fete. So getting into St-Paul-de-Vence was a palaver. We parked next to the very famous restaurant just outside the town and rang for help! The hotel sent down the bellboy, he took control of our car and drove us through the throng and up tiny, tiny roads. He also very helpfully gave us some instructions on how to manoeuvre our car around tight (extremely) corners. Do hire a small car and don't be tempted by the offer of an upgrade, like we were. He was charming.
After a quick scamper up the hill we arrived at the hotel. The receptionist was sweet and funny and explained to us that the village was going to stage a fantastic firework display that very night and it was definitely not to be missed. She took us to our wonderful room (suite) and left us to it. Gorgeous with a sitting room, enormous bathroom and huge bedroom. Very quite, couldn't hear a sound from the hustle and bustle outside and lovely and cool, it was scorchio outside.
Thank goodness we managed to book a last minute table at the hotel's restaurant. It was superb. Afterwards we walked down to the town wall and watched the most spectacular firework display I've ever seen.
We had a magical overnight stay at the Hotel Le Saint Paul. Thank you so much for making us feel welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erasmus45z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul473, General Manager at Hotel Le Saint Paul, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Erasmus45

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the St Paul on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We are also very glad that you were pleased with your room and managed to find time to dine at our restaurant.

Thank you once again for your positive feedback.

We very much hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a longer stay in the not too distant future.

With Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#2 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#1 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Toile Blanche
Toile Blanche
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
La Vague de Saint Paul
La Vague de Saint Paul
#4 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
#10 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Grande Bastide
Hotel La Grande Bastide
#9 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Saint Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Saint Paul

Property: Hotel Le Saint Paul
Address: 86 rue Grande, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#5 Family Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#5 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Saint Paul 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the shade of the ramparts in the renowned artists villageof St Paul, the Saint-Paul (****L)is an intimate haven.Young at heart, but with the perfect mix of discretion and serenity, the hotel has attained its maturity and is fulfilling its promise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Saint Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing