We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“One of my favorite lunch haunts worldwide!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Colombe d'Or

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St-Paul-de-Vence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Colombe d'Or
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Certificate of Excellence
Huntingdon Valley PA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of my favorite lunch haunts worldwide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Whenever I travel to the south of France, I always leave time to experience lunch at La Colombe d'Or. The outdoor scene is very chichi and Gallic. The food is beautifully prepared and served tableside. The experience is memorable and worth the journey

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    56
    24
    20
    15
See reviews for
62
134
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kedington Suffolk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner for two here, the waiters were superb, very professional, friendly & fun.Lovely garden, but too cold to eat outside when we visited, but the bar area is intimate. The huge physical size of the menus is fun too, but sitting in the beautiful dining room with Picasso's & other noted artists on the walls is fantastic, the whole atmosphere is amazing. The Provencal food was really good, & plenty of choice. The wine list lists many fine wines, some over 2000 euro's, but there is plenty of choice around the 30/40/50 euro level too. Not cheap, but excellent value for an unmissable experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The whole experience of eating at this restaurant is one we will remember for a long time. A beautiful October day on a delightful terrase sat in what was probably the best table. The provencale escargot entree was superb, the main courses of civet de lapin and poulet avec morilles and cream were excellent, and the tarte au pommes was divine. The service was exceelt, the waters friendly, and the wine was reasonably priced. The bill was just over 150 Euros for the two of us, but worth every centime!
Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeperry109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

The location of St Paul's and la Colombe d'Or is fantastic. The restaurant is close to the entrance to the medieval hill town. The restaurant itself if full of atmosphere (Sunday lunch) eclectic clientele and very helpful restaurant staff ( see below).

The food was fantastic. If I were being picky, the desserts weren't as good as the rest of the food. Anywhere else and they'd have been great. The food was cheerfully and helpfully served. No need to go mad on the wine list - the house wine was super.

One niggle - we arrived early to look round St Paul's before lunch. The assisted parking was not available at 1200! If you have to park the car yourself don't even think of smelling a hint of wine. The access to the car park is precipitous (to say the least)!

That apart it lived up to our expectations and more. A thoroughly enjoyable afternoon.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This was my third time in La colombe d'Or . Not the best.
Service at reception, bar and restaurant was lousy . Only the voiturier and room service are at the level they should be.
I think they are at a stage where the popularity is such that the eye for detail is lost.
Where are the days of that little extra which they were soo famous for?
Time for something new

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peterderiemaeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We came here to celebrate my wife's birthday, having heard a number of friends' recommendations of this hotel. Yes it is unique; an enchanting building containing marvellous modern art, a memorable outdoor dining terrace, comfortable room and bed, a good pool and above all attentive and smiling staff. It is small and old fashioned and it can't be easy to work in and provide the high level of food and service from really cramped facilities. There is, for instance, no lift.
The food was traditional French cooking of superb local produce, executed with a sure touch. We were told by another guest that the menu, but not the prices, hadn't changed for 30 years. The wine list is comprehensive and there is value to be found in it. The standard of service was admirably professional and every effort was made to meet our table preferences in such a busy and full restaurant. A leisurely breakfast in the sun or under the leaf canopy is sheer bliss. We hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirmooriSomerset_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

First time eating dinner at the restaurant.
The service was absolutely appalling. It took them 20 mins to bring us a menu , and even then we had to ask them to bring it.
I ordered well cooked lamb. 45 mins later it arrived, and was not at all well cooked, so had to send it back.
During our meal they didnt ask if we wanted more drinks, or ask if we were happy with our food.
When the bill came i refused to pay for my lamb. Frankly , i should have refused to pay for any of our meals. The manager has gone home, so we were left to deal with his assistant, whi argued with us and refused to knock a penny off. We would have walked out without paying, but they had my car keys as they have valet parking. So i paid under duress. I'll be claiming a chargeback from my credit card people
And writing a formal letter of complaint.
I will never go again, if it was the last retaurant on earth.
Appalling service.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank lyonsdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#2 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Paul
Hotel Le Saint Paul
#6 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Toile Blanche
Toile Blanche
#1 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#3 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Messugues
Les Messugues
#7 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Mas d'Artigny
Le Mas d'Artigny
#13 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Colombe d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Colombe d'Or

Property: La Colombe d'Or
Address: Place de Gaulle, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#9 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
La Colombe d`Or Hotel St-Paul-De-Vence
La Colombe Dor
Colombe Dor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing