We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic venue with great food and view”

Hostellerie Les Remparts
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic venue with great food and view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Les Remparts serves authentic and good French mediterranean food. The assiette des Remparts and the duck were good and not "tourist traps" as some have suggested on this forum. You can tell that the cooks take pride in their cooking and after having spent the majority of my summers in the South of France, I was pleasaantly surprised by their farcies and local specialities (that are too often poorly executed in restaurants).

My boyfriend and I had a delicious dinner, with a fantastic view. It is the perfect romantic setting. The waitresses even kindly moved closer to the balcony so that we could enjoy a better view of the sunset. The wine list offer a wide range of choices and prices.

In terms of value for money, there are no surprises. St Paul de Vence is not cheap and visitors shouldn't be surprised if the prices on the menu reflect that. If you don't want to pay a high mark-up on food, then you shouldn't eat in St Paul. But if you are going to eat in St Paul, I think Les Remparts is a good place to have a meal for a special occasion.

Lastly, I was not surprised to read several comments on this forum about the attitude of the waitresses. I think this is purely down to a culture clash. The waitresses are all mediterranean - they are loud and have attitude. This will not appeal to everybody and I can completely understand how their attitude can be considered to be "rude" by some diners. While this is no excuse, the waitresses are extremely friendly and keen to make diners' experience a positive one.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilou_Bwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    55
    15
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DanaPaul
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrific view/Good Food/Great Waitstaff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

My fiance recommended this place during our tour of St. Paul de Vence and after wandering the narrows streets of St. Paul de Vence, it was a great way to end our visit to this enchanting city. We ate on a small outdoor terrace and our waitress was very accomodating. We all had roasted chicken, with roasted dutch potatoes (baby white potatoes) along with a finely chopped ratatouille. It was all prepared well, the chicken was tender as were the vegtables in the ratatouille. We sipped local wines (Chateau Mistal (white)/Bailli de Provence(red) and watched the sunset over the mountains and I knew I was in France and what it was all about. Great wine (made by locals who know the region), great food (made with local ingrediants and by people who love what they do) and great people (who do everything in their power to make you feel at home). If you are in St. Paul de Vence, stop by Hostellerie Les Remparts and, become a French citizen (at least, for a little while).

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank DanaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperia, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“overpriced..poor quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

I was visiting St Paul with my family.. this restaurant looked nice.. I had a plate of local specialities which was horrible.. partly inedible and cost 25 euros. one plate each..plus water 180 euros ..the steak looked ok..small portions very expensive..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
196 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“SUPERB VIEWS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

The terrace is fantastic with the huge views. Inside is a bit dingy so get there early in summer or all the tables will have gone. Food pretty good - their courgette flowers are tasty. Good kind of Provence mezza with all the Nicoise specialities.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rickandlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, Slo Country
Level Contributor
312 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Lunch with a View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

from a blog on www.JoeyEatsOut.com

Some people are beginning to get cranky and so she suggests that we could stop at the bar at the Hostellerie les Remparts. There is no bar, but the kitchen is at ground level and the friendly chef advises that we can have a drink on the terrace which is two floors down.

And, the terrace has a pleasant view over the hills and we can see our hotel. The less friendly woman in charge advises us that we need to order food if we want a table with a good view. Okay, whatever. They have flowers and lots of greenery, but they don’t have pichets or glasses of wine. So, we have to order a 50cl bottle of Bandol rose (E22); it’s overpriced but we probably won’t be back for a few years. Risotto with wild mushrooms (E16) is very creamy and there are lots of mushrooms. You get a separate cup of cheese that you can add to your own taste. Maggy has a duck and fig salad (E16). They are generous with the nicely cooked duck and the figs. Olive oil and vinegar are delivered to make your own vinaigrette. It turned out to be a very nice lunch.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joeyeatsout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hostellerie Les Remparts also viewed

St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Hostellerie Les Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing