We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit.”
Review of La Colombe D'Or

La Colombe D'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Excellent lunch. It may have been the great wine but more likely the great friends. The food was nicely prepared and tasty. The ambience added to the experience. It was very busy the day we were there and they could of used more staff but overall worth the drive.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    224
    124
    60
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We were disappointed by the food here - our dinner was definitely not 2-Michelin-Star standard at all, very uninspiring cooking - an array of hors d'oeuvres which anyone could have produced, very over-cooked veal kidneys with little taste. We'd had far better in restaurants in the town. For the amount you pay, this is really not good value.

However, on the up side, the service is impeccable and welcoming from front desk to servers to the lovely man who parked our car. And the ambience is great, the restaurant itself is lovely, the artwork is impressive and the overall experience is nice.

Would we go back? Probably, but in the summer for lunch outside on the terrace.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Simply hard to repeat”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Wonderful meal for three. Ordered the charcouterid appetizer, was served about 15 different dishes of a variety of apps, as well as slices of great salami. What a treat. The rabbit stew was a bit dark (likely due to the bunny rabbit blood in it). Rack of lamb was perfection, and the cheese plate was enough for twice our party. So great food in abundance, with professional wait staff.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltoomuchToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lunch to remember!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

After reading the mixed TA reviews, with some trepidation I emailed La Colombe six weeks in advance for a lunch reservation on the outdoor terrace at noon. A bit of confusion ensued: the confirmation arrived, followed by a change--the reservation would be for 1 pm, and my terrace request was not addressed. I therefore was expecting trouble when my friend and I showed up for lunch.

To my shock and delight, however, our lunch was absolutely perfect. We were greeted cordially, seated in a beautiful corner of the terrace, and served by a very helpful, attentive, English-speaking young waiter named Dominique. As we were on a budget, we ordered only two soups, a half carafe of house wine, and the house appetizer specialty--a "starter" of 15 small, beautifully prepared vegetable and seafood dishes accompanied by a large basket of fresh veggies and bread. Very, very tasty, but no way could we finish it all! Dominique regularly checked on us to explain what was in the appetizer dishes, pour wine, ask if we needed anything, etc.--always with utmost courtesy and no effort to persuade us to order anything more. We lingered over our meal for a couple of hours, then wandered around the dining rooms to look at all the art on the walls. All the staff treated us with great courtesy, but Dominique was truly exceptional.

Including our tip, our lunch for two cost less than 100 EUR. Having visited France numerous times over several decades, I believe this was my most enjoyable meal ever, in that country. The food, service, art, and ambiance of this restaurant, on a sunny day in early October, coalesced into a memory I treasure. My advice--just go. You only live once.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LauraC34233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely dinning room”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

I dinned here with my sister on a Friday evening. The dinning room is lovely with exceptional works of art on the walls , we sat below a Picasso . As we were only two, we sat next to each other looking into the dinning room so we both had a good view of all the activity. The atmosphere was relaxing , the staff very attentive. The food was average and plentiful but you pay for the experience of dinning in lavish surroundings.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Colombe D'Or also viewed

La Colle sur Loup, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Colombe D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing