We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To see and be seen, not for the food”
Review of La Colombe D'Or

La Colombe D'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
291 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“To see and be seen, not for the food”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The location is fabulous, the surroundings amazing with great art and a lot of celebrities. But every time I have been there, I have been rather disappointed with the food. The crudités are very good, their sole is very generous and good as well (it should be for 44€!), but the chicken, salmon quenelles, lamb chops are very average if even below average. They do a great job with side orders (haricots verts are sublime) and some of the desserts are also delicious and spectacular (the soufflés are delicious). You can have a great or a terrible meal- it is so dependent on what you pick that I recommend you ask before selecting as what they do well is great but the rest...overpriced.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    211
    119
    59
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
358 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch in the shadow of Picasso”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We celebrated my daughter's birthday in St Paul de Vence, a wonderful little artists town where Picasso once painted. Lunch was outside, enjoying sweeping views and great ambience. The firts time we went we loved the salad and veggie platter, so this time we decided to have chicken and fish. Frankly, the veggies are superior. Both the chicken and fish were quite bland and unimaginative. However, the cold melon starters were a life saver on a typical hot and humid day in Provence.the service was attentive and friendly. However, the wine list was limited. All in all, not quite the experience we had in mind, but my daughter felt pretty special!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“What a find !”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Went for lunch on Sunday which needed to be booked well in advance ( about a month ). Was a lovely warm day so sat outdoors in the lovely courtyard setting amongst the vine and fig trees with glimpses of views of the valley below. Had the mixed starters ( which was about 16 small plates with assorted fish, meats, raw vegetables and dips ) and escargots . Far too much but so nice ! The mains we had were roast lamb , chicken fracases , and beef . All were great but the beef was outstanding and came as ordered ( rare which in France is almost blue ). The service was good and the indoor dining rooms are famous for the various artworks of Picasso , Miro , Dali etc. There is a pool too for hotel guests. The car valet system was good as St.Paul de Vence is always busy at the weekends so when one enters the restaurant courtyard it feels like an oasis of calm. There was a mix of suits and casual wear ( my favourite type of place as it is for the food and ambience that one comes to savour ). Quite pricey for 2 course meal for 4 with coffees , 2 glasses of champagne and a bottle of Minuty Rose came to about 320 euros including gratuities. Well worth the drive from Nice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1NONLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable experience”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

As per the other reviews, the restaurant is pretty special, the food was really good. We ordered the hors d'oeuvres to start, it was a ridiculous amount of food, i think they stacked our table with 14 plates, kinda unnecessary when you are also having mains courses, the waiter probably should have warned us!. My steak was excellent. The place is worth going to just to check out the art work. enjoy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PNeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great restaurant for a special occasion”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I've been to this restaurant quite a few times over the years and am always impressed. The food is expensive but beautifully presented and the terrace is a great place to enjoy lunch and admire the views. A 3 course lunch will cost about 80 Euros each including wine but it's worth every penny.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank city79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Colombe D'Or also viewed

St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
La Colle sur Loup, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Colombe D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing