We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveler rating
129
46
13
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
129
46
13
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small vineyard tranquil setting little things great place to stay stayed one night two nights could not have been more beautiful hotel saint paul vineyards jojo village firmly charm france euros
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 191 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

Having eaten at the fabulous poolside restaurant here on several occasions I was very excited about finally staying at the hotel.

It was a huge disappointment with a very small room, cold water only in the bathroom and, when I went to complain about the latter extremely rude and unhelpful staff.

Oh and the Wi-fi is awful.

Won’t be back!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 532AndrewW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018

Touring the French coast, we selected Les Messugues to centrally base ourselves in Saint-Paul-de-Vence for two days. We were graciously welcomed by Jojo when we arrived, who showed us around the spacious gardens and large pool area. We did not use the pool, though it looked very inviting and clean. The ambiance of the hotel is quiet and very comfortable. We were pleased to be given a room overlooking the garden. This location has plenty of private parking and is located only a short distance from the very busy Saint-Paul-de-Vence. We found the breakfast area pleasant, overlooking a small vineyard, with a large selection of fresh food and fruit to choose from. We will be sure to select Les Messugues again when we are in southern France.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018

We stayed one night here and had booked online at 150 euros without breakfast. This price was apparently low as usually it was more euros per night for a double room
We advised we might like two nights. It seemed very expensive for what we actually got.

.We arrived at the hotel in the afternoon and a rather severe French lady with jet black curly hair and glasses on reception straight away without greeting us, looked at us and told us that if we wanted the second night it had now gone up to 220 a night. We were juggling bags at this time after a long journey and we were really rather upset that she was so off with us. It was a bad start. We were shown to our ground floor room and told where the swim towels were. We found the room to be quite basic and the small terrace looked through a make shift flat bamboo fence, onto the car park.

I felt the bed and it seemed really firm and as I suffer with back pain, I asked if she had a topper to make it softer. She said no she didn't but again her manner was unaccommodating.
I was just about to take a shower in the clean but rather dated shower room and saw a human hair on the shower tray. I reported it to her but she shrugged her shoulders, saying it could have blown in the window and made no attempt to rectify this. The windows and doors were firmly shut as we'd been bitten by so many mosquitoes in the past week. As it happened the bed turned out to be quite comfortable and the linen and pillows were decent quality. The towels were rough. It was also quiet to sleep. But the room is not welcoming but more functional. The air con works well.

We found this place to be more like a holiday camp than a hotel.
The poole is fine but an odd shape. Lots of mosquitoes here in summer.
As we had not enjoyed it there , we decided against staying longer. As we waited to leave in the reception area, we were greeted by a different Italian lady. She had heard a little about our issues but had asked to get both sides of the story. We explained what had happened and in fairness to her, she was really helpful and went out of way to make us feel better. She offered a complimentary drink & little cake, and water for the hot journey. Perhaps if she had been on reception that day, it would have been a totally different and better experience. We won't return though .

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bogolano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llorca06, Responsable relations clients at Les Messugues, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Hôtel Les Messugues and sharing your feedback.
We do regret about your deception upon arrival Allow us to explain the difference in price.
The rate proposed for our last room was for a different category called Deluxe with terrace overlooking the vineyards.
We sincerely apologize for the air in the shower and the attitude of the receptionist.
Our top priority is to make the experience of our guest the most positive possible from the very first moment they pass through our door.
For our guest we have a swimming pool with a particular and unique shape of a Pacific island and we do treat our Mediterranean garden against mosquitos.
We thank you for the nice comment regarding your departure and we do regret that the receptionist did not over persuade you.
Nevertheless we would be more than happy to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel two nights.
The village of Saint Paul is amazing and the hotel is in a tranquil setting next to vineyards.
The building is nice decorated and very spacious.
Our room was a double deluxe spacious room with nice view.
However...
1)Room:
- The cupboard was tiny, not suitable for long clothes, with many pipes inside it. Also I found an insect!!!
-There was a blanket inside the cupboard , so old and worn.
2) Bathroom:
-There was a lose door in the he cupboard under the basin...
-The toiletries for two people for our whole stay there were two small bottles of "Hair and BodyWash" (all in one) and one tiny soap 15 grams.
No separate shampoo, no hair conditioner, no Body lotion, no Vanity Set etc....
We stayed there two nights(=three days). They never replaced the initial finished products. So the last day we didn't have neither soap or bodywash to use...
-The same happened with the toilet paper. When we arrived the first day we had two toilet rolls in the bathroom, which during our two-night stay there were no replenishment, so the last night (during the night) we had to go to the kitchen to take paper napkins...
Well, when someone pays 240€ per night , expects for sure much more that these guest amenities.
2)The breakfast was taking place in a very nice area next to the vineyards.
The variety of products did not reflect the cost of the room (again).

In general, I would say that the whole place radiated cost cutting and for sure no personal care and lack of service...

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 10_snoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llorca06, Responsable relations clients at Les Messugues, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Hôtel Les Messugues and sharing your feedback. We greatly appreciate your positive evaluation for our tranquil setting and nice view and we are happy that you found the room spacious. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the toiletries and the products of our breakfast. We would have been pleased to have the opportunity to talk and assist you during your stay. Our top priority is to make the experience of our guest the most positive possible. At the same time we know we are not perfect and thanks to our guest feedback we can improve upon quality. Our buffet breakfast has a variety of fresh products like the fruit salad we prepare every day. Our welcome products the Prija line pampers the spirit with fragrances from afar and we are thinking of adding new products for the deluxe room. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and to show you how much we value you as a guest.

Best regards
Silvia Ciancimino
Manager Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

The restaurant is situated by a beautiful swimming pool and surrounded by a vineyard and pine trees , we were served by one of the best attendants ( Baptiste) he was so nice , welcoming and trying his best to make our lunch very enjoyable, he kept offering us little things while waiting our meal , the food was excellent, prices are really reasonable,for sure we will come again to this place

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Raedah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews