We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room great, hotel very run down in places”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Les Messugues

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Les Messugues
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Room great, hotel very run down in places”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights in July with our three children. We were given two fantastic huge interconnecting rooms with lovely antique furniture and two large, albeit very dated, bathrooms. The house/ hotel itself is lovely and like a grand manor house.We paid 850 euro for three nights which is pricey but were treating ourselves after a couple of weeks on a campsite in the areas. The hotel is run by a very lovely and professional family who were very accommodating and pleasant. On the downside, the breakfast room was really quite run down and as it is in a conservatory it was far too hot. Parts of the gardens were also totally neglected. There were two hammocks in the gardens which are mouldy and filthy and unusable - I'm baffled they have not been taken down. With such a price tag the owners really need to tackle areas that have not been updated in decades. They also need to significantly improve breakfast. The croissants were burnt every morning and the chill cabinet was dilapidated and grubby. All in all I would say this was disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colhooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    32
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
84
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

A real gem. Comfort,calm,peace and tranquility. If we ever came back to the area we would stay there like a shot.
I loved the salon ... Such wonderful taste .
The swimming pool is absolutely gorgeous and very refreshing.
We found the hosts to be charming and friendly.
The area is wonderful ... But expensive so be prepared not put off.
We had a lovely room which was immaculate,comfy beds and a terrace. What more could you ask for.
We only ate breakfast once in the hotel which was lovely but rather expensive if you ate there every day

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Amazing hotel. My wife and I stayed for 1 night and wished we had stayed longer. The pool area was the best I've ever experienced and the breakfast offered (although an additional charge) was the best I had in France.

Lovely staff and delightful room and a perfect base for exploring St. Paul de Vence

Highly recommended but I don't see it staying 3 stars for too long!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommyodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was at this hotel quite some time ago, ( I just joined here, and really wanted to review this hotel) It was back in 1999 ( I had to click a date here, to submit this review, but my visit was in Aug, 1999, I was traveling with my boss and her son as their nanny.
The drive to this hotel is just beautiful, I see there have been a lot of renovations done since then, but it was still lovely back then. The room I had, had french doors that opened up to a lavender field, I was in heaven, the staff was friendly even tho we struggled with our French. Breakfast outside was so fresh and delicious. I was glad this hotel was in a quiet location, the Village is beautiful, and it's a nice long walk to the village.. I plan to be back here and HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend it!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

It is beautiful, peacefull hotel with a lovely garden and swiming pool, with big enough rooms, helpful staff. It is like a boutique hotell!

Get a car and go there! We did it by bus from Nice and the manager picked us up from the bus station in St. Paul, It is managable, but having a car is a better choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyankata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
445 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Luckily, we did not reserve a hotel within the walls of St. Paul de Vence, which is just overwhelmed by the sheer number of tourists marching up and down its steep streets. So, Hotel Les Messugues was just perfect! Cannot quite decide which was the best part about the Messugues.

Was it the lovely garden setting with a vineyard, inviting pool, plenty of secure parking all set an easy five-minute drive/15 minute walk from St. Paul de Vence? Was it the very generous breakfast consisting of cold cereal, fruit juices, artisan cheeses, meats, smoked salmon, hard-boiled eggs, fresh baguettes and other breads, all served in a solarium? Was it our room which was large enough for US standards, let alone for European, with a balcony overlooking the vineyard; with a large, comfortable bed and good sized closet; very pretty modern bathroom with beautiful tile work? Or, the very gracious, friendly, and accommodating hosts, ready to assist and make touring and dining suggestions?

Hoping to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This beautiful, peaceful hideaway in St. Paul de Vence was, in a word, perfect. It's location near the top of this VERY old walled city could not be more peaceful or beautiful. It is very clean and has been remodeled, but still retains its old world charm. We had room #14 and it was just beautiful. Our little balcony looked out on the vineyard and the gardens. The wifi always worked as did the AC, tho we really didn't need it. The location made our daily excursions to Nice, Monaco, Menton, Eze, Monte Carlo, Biot, etc a breeze. It's really convenient to the entire French Riviera area. Thomas, who is the son in this family-run hotel always gave us excellent travel and road advise and was just charming. The pool, gardens, vineyard and surroundings are beautifully maintained and I would recommend staying here without reservation....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philly804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#1 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#2 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
#10 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Toile Blanche
Toile Blanche
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Vague de Saint Paul
La Vague de Saint Paul
#4 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Grande Bastide
Hotel La Grande Bastide
#9 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Messugues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Messugues

Property: Les Messugues
Address: Allee des Lavandes | Impasse des Messugues, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Messugues 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel's splendid heated swimming pool and is arranged with a small island. The 16 rooms with bathroom and terrace have been entirely refurbished and are equipped with satellite tv, air conditioning, phone and wifi internet. Enclose park. Petanque court and bicycle rental organization seminars and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Les Messugues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Messugues Hotel St-Paul-De-Vence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing