We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect holiday retreat with perfect hosts”
Review of Bastide Louise

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St-Paul-de-Vence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bastide Louise
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We found this place by accident on the web & were really impressed by the look of it, we read some reviews that were mixed but liked the look of it - we were so so so glad we stayed there. All coments about the couple being not so friendly & no towels......must have stayed at a different place. Couple were lovely, breakfast on the garden table was a special way to start the day & our hosts could not have been more helpful the whole experince was amazing, just as good as the website makes it looked. I would love to go back but would stay a few more days next time

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger019750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2010

My boyfriend and I attempted to stay at this seemingly nice looking B&B. We were very excited and contacted the owners for reservations. Everything went smoothly up until reading the previous reviews (which stated the place did not offer air conditioning nor towels), we politely asked the owner what amenities are available in order to prepare for our stay in case we need to bring our own things. She rudely answered us that we should go look for a hotel rather than a B&B since what we were asking for are not usually provided in B&Bs.....Towels???
She rudely cancelled our reservation and suggested we go look for another place?! we did'nt even get the chance to meet this lovely host....

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank Bubu0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Bastide Louise is a genuine, exclusive and different hotel experience. The two friendly hosts have turned their mansion into a very laid-back and unique accommodation. The site is located the hill opposite St. Paul de Vence, which is just a short walk away.

During the Cannes Film Festival I spent 2 days in their "La Cave" suite which is spacious and cool even without aircon. It's pricey but worth it if you want to pamper yourself. There's no restaurant at the premises, but they serve breakfast. I had trouble finding the place, though. No signs anywhere, and the entrance is tricky to find by car so do your map homework before you arrive.

All in all a good experience with a private, homey feel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrCraigLucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

We stayed in the room named Le cave, which is more like a mini suite than just a room. Very comfortable with a modern shower room. The owners were exceedingly friendly and welcoming right from the start. They clearly live there, as its their home, and are around most of the time, but very much in the background. When we arrived, we suggested a honesty bar, just to save them from having to get us a beer or glass of wine when we wanted one. This worked a treat and the prices were not rip off, plus it was good quality as were the breakfasts. No full English here thank god!. You really do feel that the place is your home, as we sat by the pool for most of the days, in fact we were there for hours and did not feel as though we were intruding. I can see where the other negative reviews could possibly have been formed, but I think their expectations were more 5* hotel with 5* service for 3* prices. The owners are just sooo laid back and friendly and clearly enjoyed having people around that we had a great time. This also applied to the other three couples who were staying at the same time. It's their first year in business and were certainly going back. In fact, it's the perfect place to stay and not expensive for the standard of accommodation and lifestyle, all this just a short walk to the Village. Only negative comment is that a few more sun loungers could be placed around the pool, for I would hate to stay with a bunch of Germans at the same time, nes pa! Overall rating : One of the better places we have stayed down there and well worth going. Enchanting gardens and perfect pool with great views down to the sea, and big enough to loose yourself with other guests around.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

We want warn people who like to book a real B&B experience! We booked as a couple in the past already many B&Bs in south of France and had very good experiences.

This year, we booked via internet the Bastide Louise B&B for 3 nights in august 2008.

Our negative experience:

1/
Although the location and garden of the b&b look nice in St Paul De Vence, the Norvegian owners of this B&B were not at all sympathic and didnt give any service. They almost didnt speak any French even.
They had very special ideas about how b&b should be:
Most negative point for us was that there was NO service at all: during the 3 days stay, they didn't clean anything in our room, they didnt change any towels, they didnt even empty the dustbins.
I talked them about it after the first day, and they said very clear that they dont do that!

2/
Also rooms were very hot as there's no airco. It was almost impossible to sleep there, due to heat.

3/
We had to check out at noon. The last day however, they asked us to leave room already much earlier because new guests would come at 2pm , and as therefore room had to be cleaned. They asked to put all luggage in a separate room on which we didnt agree and which created again discussions.

4/
We had to ask explicitely for an invoice; what we got was no real invoice.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank QualityTraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2008

The Swedish owners of the place are not nice at all. They are supposed to host you during your stay, but they didn't do anything for us. It 's their business.

The price is very expensive for what it is, the house and garden is nice but service and hospitality is zero.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank JohnKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank ilag13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels
3.2 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
657 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#2 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
487 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Vague de Saint Paul
La Vague de Saint Paul
#4 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel les Bastides de St Paul
Hotel les Bastides de St Paul
#11 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
137 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Grande Bastide
Hotel La Grande Bastide
#7 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
252 reviews
3.1 mi away
Toile Blanche
Toile Blanche
#1 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastide Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastide Louise

Address: 544 avenue de la Colle, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in St-Paul-de-Vence
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing