We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD HOTEL - LOCATION NOT GOOD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amarante Golf Plaza
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Sainte-Maxime
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GOOD HOTEL - LOCATION NOT GOOD”
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Location:
On the top of a very steep and winding hill, so high you can view all of Sainte Maxime.
No shops, restaurants, cafes etc to browse or eat in unless you go back into town.

Hotel Amenities
Indoor and Outdoor pool, didn't use them so cannot comment
golf course - didn't use it

hotel does have elevators
breakfast was very good

Rooms:
large
balcony/table/ 2 chairs
incredible view
comfortable beds
shower and bath - good water pressure
clean
coffee/tea maker in room
flat screen television

If you intend to stay @ the hotel, then I recommend that you stay here, if you are the type of person who prefers shops, cafes etc. in walking distance this is not the place for you

if you drive into to take should take approximately 20 minutes just to get to bottom
-i can't remember if it was 30 or 60 minutes to st tropez
-st tropez, worth exploring
-night clubs
-shopping
-gelato
-cafes

there was a rain storm when i stayed at this hotel
flooding in town
check weather before you go here
no electricity for 2 nights
candles provided
bottled water
restaurants in town closed

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TERESAMARIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    201
    145
    98
    77
See reviews for
101
369
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

My husband and my son and I stayed here with Trafalgar Tours in June 2010 due to a overbooking issue with our original hotel in Nice. The hotel is very pretty and we did not have any time to try out the golf facilities. There was a major storm that lasted 3 days and we had no power for the two days we stayed here. The staff was not helpful in the least - having no food for the second evening when they were suppose to have prepared dinner for 35 people. Because of the power outage they threw all the food away. (Haven't they heard of bbq?) They handed everybody a small candle and a piece of bread. Ten people on the trip (my son included) woke up with bed bug bites all over their bodies. A major part of this hotel was filling up with water in the hallways from the rain. We couldn't wait to run away from this place. I wouldn't recommend this place to an enemy.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dolliegirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sainte-Maxime hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Province of Verona, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

We arrived around 5 pm and found out that the bar and restaurant were both closed - and the porter informed us that most likely all nearby restaurants in St Maxim and St Tropez were closed as well - very promising start. - Fortunately - he was all wrong - St Tropez was active and all restaurant were open. - Does the Hotel staff have any local knowledge - or are they just as negative as the hotel they work at . Next morning we had a tee time - they do call this a golf Hotel - there are 2 elevators taking you the 9 flights of stairs down to the golf course - well - on a good day they do. Both were out of service. Walking 9 flights of stairs down before 18 holes might seem appealing - but climbing them back with my golf bag after having struggled with my golf game for 4 hours did not.
So the whole idea of staying next to the golf course disappeared when we had to take our gear, put it in the car and drive to the golf course. At the end of the day - guess what - the bar and restaurant closed. Maybe they ought to sell this as a "fast" hotel - 48 hours of no food or drink apart from breakfast.
The room - terrible. Paint pealing of the roof on the balcony - old furniture .

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon as we wanted a bit of luxury and a quiet location. 4 Stars it was not although it was quiet! So quiet we only saw 4 other guests over 2 days and 1 member of staff (apparently he was the manager, the receptionist, the porter...). The location is very remote (approx 15-20 mins into town via car) which indeed meant it was quiet and the views were good, however, you had to squint to see much of the sea as it was that far away and behind another hill. This remoteness was indeed a selling factor as the website and hotel documentation said that there is a shuttle bus into town so we knew we could still enjoy the nightlife. Or not. According to the Receptionist Porter Hotel Manager this only runs during the high season. When we pointed out that this was not stated on any of the hotel literature he said we would have to wait until the Porter who was also the minibus driver to get in to take us before he then went into a 15 minute 'explanation' as to what exactly a shuttle bus was. It was at this point that we booked out and moved in the Best Western in town.
The lack of guests meant that it was very quiet but also a little eerie as the place was deserted. The outdoor pool was dirty and the rooms very tired and not at all the standard expected of a 4 Star Hotel. The mini bar was limited and you needed to take a mortgage out to buy anything.
Overall the place is not anywhere near 4 Star standard, is overpriced, far too remote if you want to go out and is 'managed' by someone who does not know how to deal with customers. Just don't bother, go to the Best Western Montfleurei which is cheaper, has better facilities, pleasant helpful staff, proper sea views without the need for a telescope and is only 12 mins (yep we timed it) walk from town!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank officercoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2009

Went to this hotel with my wife and young daughter as a stop on our way to Nice. The hotel boasts it had only rooms with sea view which produced the first disappointment with this hotel. The drive from the coast is probably about 15-20 minutes and the sea can just barely be seen from the hotel. There is not much going on around the hotel so having a car is a must.

When finally arriving at the hotel the service was very unpleasant and slow. The lady at the front desk seemed bothered that guests were bothering her with checking in.

After taking two elevators to the 4th floor our room was very disappointing. Bed was hard, furniture old and windows very dirty.

We paid good money for this hotel because of the proximity to St. Tropez but I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ice1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2009

It is a beautiful hotel, fabulous views from your own terrace and everywhere else, the price is three, not five star, and the staff is very good. The only drawback is it is a long way from a restaurant. It is a fifteen minute drive, or you eat whatever is being served in the hotel's gourmet restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kardell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2008

Just before I get started, this is the first review I've ever felt compelled to write of anything. Ever.

Ok... Where to begin

Myself and my girlfriend had a tour along the cote d'azur. This was our second location, having spent our first night in the Sofitel in Marseilles (v impressive by the way).

Let me put this place into some context; this was a good deal more expensive than any of the other hotels we had booked so obviously our expactations were high. The rooms are v basic, no tea or coffee, badly in need of some new decor. The staff, while helpful should at least double their numbers. I'm sure the same guy that checked you in, delivered your bags to the room and drove the minibus to town. While I'm there, the minibus stops too early to enjoy anything of a good night leaving you with the only option of a 40 euro taxi up the hill. The hotel bar I wouldn't wish on anyone, I now know who bought the furniture from my late Grandmothers house clearence. The website gives the impression of modern luxury just outdside of St Maxime but don't be fooled. You're better of staying in a place in the town centre, saving yourself a chunky taxi fare, and having a nice meal in one of the many inviting looking restaurants by the harbour.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sainte-Maxime hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Montfleuri
Best Western Plus Montfleuri
#4 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
437 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Bon Repos
Hotel Royal Bon Repos
#1 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
429 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Les Jardins de Sainte-Maxime
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Le Petit Prince
Le Petit Prince
#2 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
386 reviews
1.9 mi away
Matisse Hotel
Matisse Hotel
#5 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
277 reviews
2.4 mi away
Domaine du Calidianus
Domaine du Calidianus
#6 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarante Golf Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarante Golf Plaza

Property: Amarante Golf Plaza
Address: 130 avenue Celestin Montcocol | Domaine du Golf, 83120 Sainte-Maxime, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Sainte-Maxime
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Sainte-Maxime
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amarante Golf Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amarante Golf Plaza hotel, located on the top of Sainte Maxime' hill is facing the Saint Tropez bay. The property includes 94 rooms and suites, all overlooking the golf course and sea view, 1 restaurant, "Le Relais Provence" with a mediterranean cuisine, 1 bar, meeting and banqueting accomodating up to 150 persons, 1 spa including 10 cabins for massage, 2 swimming pools + 1 reserved for children, hammam, sauna, gym room and tennis court and the golf course's Club House with one restaurant and bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amarante Golf Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarante Golf Plaza Hotel Ste-Maxime
Amarante Hotel Ste Maxime
Amarante Hotel Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing