We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“More motel than hotel-quaint but a little shabby.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Santolines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Les Santolines
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Sainte-Maxime
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“More motel than hotel-quaint but a little shabby.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a well presented hotel, the grounds are neat and tidy and pretty. The room we had was tucked away in a corner but still had a table and chairs to use on a small patio area. The room was clean and linen changed every 3 days,however the bathroom didn't have a proper shower which was a pain and was quite shabby and tired with mould around the bath and the vanity unit splitting where water has been left. The pool is welcome and the sunloungers were plenty and we didn't have a problem obtaining one at any time of day. However, the pool wasn't cleaned the whole time we were there (9 nights) and it started to get a little dirty. Our neighbours brought this up with the hotelier but nothing happened.
The hotel set up is a little strange. You didn't really see any staff during the day, you needed to track someone down to get a drink. The breakfast room is like a marquee and is not worth the 12 Euros being charged. A croissant, roll and preserve, coffee and juice just didn't seem worth it. Best go to the many fantastic bakers, grab some fresh bread etc and bring it back and eat on your terrace which is what we did every day, and fair play, they didn't seem to mind at all. That's why it was more like a self catering motel, you could come and go as you pleased and didn't really see anyone from the hotel in the precess. They do have a restaurant attached to the hotel, it was rather expensive in comparison to some that were in town.
The traffic going past the hotel is a problem, the first thing I smelt was petrol fumes and the trafffic noise was pretty constant. At 5am you could hear HGV's thundering down the road, this is the main coastal road into Port Grimauld (defo worth a visit) and St Tropez and is pretty much gridlocked the whole day. The best option to get to St Tropez is the shuttle boat which is great fun and only costs 13 Euros return, no hassle sitting in traffic! Pick this up from St Maxime harbour.
Hotel is only short distance from centre of St Maxime, but I wouldn't stay so close to the road next time, as I felt I was living on top of the M25!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quieter but the view is obviously not at pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishpond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    32
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
16
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
251 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We spent one night here, and were very regretful that we did not have more time in this wonderful location.

Our holiday in France, Italy and Spain this year had a few surprises, and St Maxime certainly was the biggest of them all. Wonderful small city with very good restaurants.

Les Santolines was a clean and typically French hotel in the very best sense of the word. We had an apartment over two floors with outdoor fireplace/barbecue and a nice view. Walking distance from beaches and the charming city centre.

The hotel also has a restaurant being recommended in Guide Michelin, being one of the better in the area.

Nice pool and very nice staff.

Would absolutely return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is an ideal location with easy access to the town and nearby beaches. Rooms are nicely decorated and clean and the pool area is very peaceful. We ate in the adjoining restaurant, Sarment de Vigne, which is excellent. Walk into town and catch the Bateau Vert over to St Tropez, especially on Tuesday and Saturday for the great market there. We have been here for a few years and love the informality of the hotel. Breakfast is pricey so we either go to the beach or walk into town.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floor have a good view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglaise en France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We had three nights at this hotel to get a taste of the coast and St Tropez without the price tag and it really paid off.

The hotel is well appointed with comfortable, well equipped rooms and good bathroom. The bed and bedding were very clean and comfortable. Our welcome was excellent and the staff very obliging, we took breakfast each day on our private terrace which just required a phone call to reception and about a 10 minute wait, perfect.

The grounds and pool area are very well kept. Our only reservation on arrival was the road between the hotel and the sea, I had read prevous reviews citing this as an issue so was apprehensive. However, the road can be busy but only at peak times during our stay, it didn't cause a problem at night as the room is well sound proofed when the windows are shut and the air con was easy to use and very effective. It was a small and inevitable price to pay to have a view of the sea and St Tropez in the distance from our first floor terrace.

Sainte Maxime is smallish and friendly and the hotel is ideally situated with a 15 minute walk to the town centre where restaurants are in abundance. We caught one of the regular shuttle boats across to St Tropez where we spent an afternoon. It is worth getting to the boat early as they can get over subscribed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouLouB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The hotel does not have bar or lounge. The adjacent restaurant is not owned by the Hotel, according to the staff, and chooses whether to open or not. The result is we would call this a Bed and Breakfast establishment

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieKings_Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We stayed here for two nights at the end of May. Room was very small but clean. it did have a room safe but we could not open the door to the cupboard in which it was situated and informed reception who said it would be opened, but it was not. Well situated and easy walk into Ste Maxime where we took the ferry to St Tropez and Port Grimaud. took breakfast the first morning but at 11 Euros was vastly overpriced and would not recommend it. Very warm when we were there and lots of mosquitoes so shut windows at night but air conditioning is switched off at night as there are no staff on duty during the night so it was a case of being eaten alive or baking alive. Good parking. If having drinks or food at at the restuarant on site (run independantly to the hotel we were informed on check in) check prices (we foolishly did not)- we paid 60 euros for four espresso and four "run of the mill" calavados which I think is more than we have paid in five star hotels.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janehague2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownabbey, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed for 10 days in the suite and thoroughly enjoyed it. The two rooms were not overly big but they were comfortable. Marie and Carol were very helpful and supplied coffee etc, when needed. There were no tea or coffee making facilites in the suite which most hotels have nowadays! There is car parking at the hotel, but if you are back late in the evening you may have to park in the street. Our balcony overlooked St Tropez and despite the road outside being an extremely busy road, we were never bothered by the noise. The restaurant at the hotel was very good, offering different dishes, such as kangaroo curry. It was often fully booked when we were there. There is a tennis court next door which guests can use if it is free, however it is not owned by the hotel so you need your own tennis equipment. There are slides and playhouses for toddlers and a tabletennis table beside the pool.
The walk into Ste Maxime is an easy 5-10 minute walk with no hills to negotiate. There is a good selection of restaurants to suit eveyones taste. Wewould definitely go back to this hotel and our teenagers loved it too.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROSREB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sainte-Maxime hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Royal Bon Repos
Hotel Royal Bon Repos
#1 of 27 in Sainte-Maxime
5.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Montfleuri
BEST WESTERN Hotel Montfleuri
#3 of 27 in Sainte-Maxime
4.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Petit Prince
Le Petit Prince
#2 of 27 in Sainte-Maxime
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Jardins de Sainte-Maxime
0.0 mi away
Hotel Martinengo
Hotel Martinengo
#25 of 27 in Sainte-Maxime
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Matisse Hotel
Matisse Hotel
#5 of 27 in Sainte-Maxime
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Santolines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Santolines

Property: Hotel Les Santolines
Address: 30 boulevard Jean Moulin, 83120 Sainte-Maxime, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Sainte-Maxime
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sainte-Maxime
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Santolines 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Les Santolines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Santolines Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing