We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little treasure”
Review of Matisse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Matisse Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Sainte-Maxime
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed in a Family room which was big enough and traditionally French. Very nice and clean and very quiet in a brilliant Location. We took the Ferry over to St Tropez which was a good idea and saves driving. This took about 20 minutes and was great fun. The cost was about 50 euros for four of us return. The Hotel is located in the old town of Sainte Maxime which Comes to life in the evening - lots of lovely Little Shops and Restaurants nearby with a great atmosphere. The pool was very refreshing as it was a hot day and there was plently of space around the pool and on the terrace. We were pleasantly surprised and wished we had booked for another night as there was plenty to do in and around Sainte Maxime. The staff was great and the receptionist was friendly and welcoming. All in all a great Little place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajmartinZermatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
didier_petit, Directeur général at Matisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Sir,

With a little delay in response, we would really like to thank you for leaving a comment on TripAdvisor.
Thank you very much for your compliments which have marveled our staff but as well for your pieces of advice and tips regarding entertainement and the must sees around Sainte Maxime.
Best Regards,

Didier PETIT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 298 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

A double room that cost 150€ per night needs to have enough space to walk round the double bed, have a chair that you can sit on and space for two small overnight bags to be unpacked. Our hotel room did not offer this much space. To compensate for its lack of space it was very, very dark. I don't really expect view from a town centre hotel to contain "herds of wildebeest sweeping majestically across the Serengeti" But a town centre car park! Surely, that demands a reduced rental rate.
The staff were very pleasant and doubtless would argue that the use of the swimming pool and the proximity of the town centre add to the value, but in April it was too cold to use the open air pool and all the other town centre hotels are as near. Most of them are considerably less expensive.

Room Tip: Look out of the window. If the view is of the pool and the room is big enough, take it. If not go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
didier_petit, Directeur général at Matisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your opinion on TripAvisor.
Even though you have expressed a quite critical comment regarding our hotel, TripAdvisor's policy is that one is free to express himself in favor or not of a hotel.
Of course we are disappointed that we have failed in providing you the service you expected from our hotel and that we strive to provide to all our guests but as we have received your comment only now, we do not know in which category of room you were in.
It is true that you won't find any wild beasts in Sainte Maxime but rather in Tanzania :-)
We just wanted to let you know that we are sorry to hear that you have not appreciated our hotel.
Best Regards,

Didier Petit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I went to Sainte-Maxime to visit a friend and just wanted somewhere clean and centrally located. This is both of these things! Very pleased. The staff on reception are also lovely. Great value! When I go back to Sainte-Maxime I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HitGirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 or 4 nights in April 2013. Excellent location, right in the middle of Ste-Maxime, but not on a noisy street. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, comfortable and good value for money. Breakfast was excellent and not too expensive for a hotel breakfast. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LotteB1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

For me and my sister there is only one address at Ste Maxime for a relaxing break and that is La Poste. We have stayed there on many occasions simply because the welcome is warm and friendly (Mr Didier Petit and his team are superb) the rooms clean and comfortable and the hotel is well placed within the town. When we arrive we are stressed and tired, when we leave we are relaxed and happy! No request is too much trouble and you have the impression that the staff do care! So don't hesitate book a room now! ps the rosé isn't bad either!!

Room Tip: The poolside rooms and ground floor rooms are nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
didier_petit, Directeur général at Matisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Kate, Dear Emma,

Thank you so much for your comments.
All the staff & me are particularly touched by your kindness.
We think now our hotel is going to become a true resort spa where one can appreciate a wellness retreat, relax and ...taste Rosé de Provence :-)
Kind regards,

Didier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Recently we went to st tropez and we decided to stay in st maxime. This hotel is located in the center of st maxime, neated and spacious rooms.
There is a parking lot for the car just outside the hotel but you have to pay (5 euros per night more or less)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littletest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for three nights in September 2012, we loved it, as previously stated the staff are so helpful and so friendly. The location is perfect. We have never put anything on trip advisor before but we found it so helpful we have decided to write a review. The hotel is very clean and the pool is an added bonus. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sainte-Maxime hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Bon Repos
Hotel Royal Bon Repos
#2 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Petit Prince
Le Petit Prince
#1 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Montfleuri
Best Western Plus Montfleuri
#4 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Les Jardins de Sainte-Maxime
0.8 mi away
Domaine du Calidianus
Domaine du Calidianus
#6 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Chardon Bleu
Hotel Le Chardon Bleu
#7 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matisse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matisse Hotel

Address: 11 boulevard Frederic Mistral, 83120 Sainte-Maxime, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Sainte-Maxime
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sainte-Maxime
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sainte-Maxime
Price Range: $86 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Matisse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matisse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotellerie De La Poste Hotel Ste-Maxime

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing